Chevron Left
Volver a What Is Contemporary Art?

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a What Is Contemporary Art? por parte de Museo de Arte Moderno

4.7
estrellas
1,641 calificaciones
371 reseña

Acerca del Curso

What is contemporary art? In this course, you’ll consider this question through more than 70 works of art made between 1980 and the present, with a focus on art from the past decade. You’ll hear directly from artists, architects, and designers from around the globe about their creative processes, materials, and inspiration. Five themes serve as your guide: Media from Television to the Internet, Territories & Transit, Materials & Making, Agency, and Power. You’ll look at 3-D–printed glass and fiber sculptures, performances in a factory and a museum, painted portraits—as well as those made with artificial intelligence—and interventions into television and video games. And much more, all drawn from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art. Come along as artists invite us into their studios, out into their neighborhoods, and to experiment with the materials they use. Not only will you develop a deeper understanding of how artists work today, you’ll also explore some of their many approaches to the pressing issues and questions of our time. By taking this course, you’ll gain confidence to look at contemporary art wherever you encounter it and make connections to your own life or creative practice....

Principales reseñas

CS

26 de jun. de 2020

Excellent, informative course, with much diversity. I laughed and smiled, felt awe and inspiration, cried and felt the pain and the beautiful defiance of pieces I might have never appreciated before.

GH

3 de may. de 2020

Very interesting and easily consumable resources, lots of video, audio, and short text so it was very fun and accessible. They have a good diversity of artists across ethnicity, sex, and country.

Filtrar por:

326 - 350 de 373 revisiones para What Is Contemporary Art?

por Ashley H

20 de sep. de 2021

After taking the Modern Art and Ideas course, I was slightly disappointed with the outcomes after finishing the course. With 5 instructors, you would expect a lot, but it just was not there. I do like how there was plenty of room to learn about a diverse range of art and mediums from artists around the world. However, there was very little room to apply critical thinking skills, and discuss my learnings. I am a lazy person, however, there are optional reflections, and almost nobody participated. This made it impossible to learn and engage with other learners because no one cared to participate and put effort into writing.

por Karin S B

6 de abr. de 2020

I loved the course, it reinforced my thinking that art cannot be defined because it changes all the time: it is alive, it is organic, it represents, reflects and criticizes around the human being, the human tasks in relation to himself but also in relation to its environment, its past, its present and its future. Contemporary art reflects this constant change and this openness of the term art. I liked learning about new artists and new works from artists I already knew. The topics touched by art are much more diverse than I thought, art really is very broad and it opened up many new ways of approaching contemporary art.

por Daisy C

21 de abr. de 2020

The units were well planned. The art chosen were varied and well-presented. I really liked the video commentaries by the artists discussing their own work. I do feel I have a better understanding re "what is Contemporary Art?". The course could be improved with more instructor commentary and guidance. Also an improvement would be if there were a way for the participants to be communicating to each other and discussing common challenges or perspectives. But perhaps - that is the limitation of this platform. Thank you very much. I will be taking more classes here.

por Natalie F

31 de may. de 2020

Interesting content delivered through a guided journey of examples of contemporary artworks in the MoMA collection, however, I feel the course ultimately fails to answer the elusive question "What is Contemporary Art?" In the end art is subjective, and each individual must come to their own conclusion. Nonetheless, a journey worth taking, it certainly opened my mind to the idea "that the role of the artist is really, quite frankly, as much as a scientist, to define what life is and what life can be" (Anicka Yi).

por Dean E

11 de ene. de 2020

An excellent course and a great way for someone to truly get a great taste of what Contemporary Art really is. I thought that it was just a time-period. I was wrong. Each 'block of instruction' shows different styles and ideas on this subject. If you enjoy art or even if you do not enjoy art,..you will enjoy this course.

por DAVID F A

16 de ene. de 2020

El Nuevo arte no siempre nos agrada, a pesar de que registra nuevas experiencias y formas de pensar, paradigmas nuevos y actuar innovador ante las penurias de la vida. Pero estoy muy agradecido de tener la oportunidad de tomar este curso, que es muy útil como acervo cultural

por Vladimir J

18 de jun. de 2020

Overall it is a great journey for beginners to get acquainted with contemporary art and learn its ways of expression. I would just add that a tool for uploadıng our creations and discuss them as a peer review assignment would be a great tool. Thanks a lot for your efforts.

por Laura B C

14 de ago. de 2020

Lo único que me parece que podrían mejorar es la comunicación con los participantes porque tuve problemas para ver varios videos, que al final no pude mirar y nunca supe como comunicárselos, no sé si haya algún tipo de soporte que ya exista pero no lo encontré.

por Paulina A S z

26 de may. de 2020

Muy bueno el curso, muy buena la selección de autores, sin embargo, agregaría a esta algunos nombres contemporáneos que están alcanzando gran reconocimiento: Viene a mi mente Olafur Eliasson, quien no es mencionado en ninguna sección.

por Elvira V

3 de mar. de 2021

Very much enjoyed this course, particularly the last 3 weeks. Some weeks were a little long but I imagined the interactive elements of the course, e.g. quizzes and forums, as well as all the resources available for further learning.

por Lorraine O

18 de mar. de 2020

It could have more theorethical approach, some concepts that we could use to understand a work or just so we could have some specialist information when looking to some art work. But it's a very inspiring course.

por Joanna D

29 de mar. de 2020

Mind-opening

The course gave me completely new perspectives on the use artists make of a variety of materials including audio, advertising boards, film, personal movement and photographs.

por Héctor M P

3 de mar. de 2020

it is concrete, it explains from an artist perspective, from a curator perspective and leaves you to analyze art in a diverse way that is profound but at the sea time practical

por Ilona A

2 de may. de 2020

I have a master's in art history and I found there was a lot to learn and enjoy in this course. I particularly enjoyed how it was structured.

por Katie S H N

23 de mar. de 2020

Though I learned something new in this course, I felt that it did not present as broad of viewpoint of contemporary art as I expected.

por Ruta J

16 de abr. de 2020

Great examples of contemporary art, quite inspiring if you create yourself. Would have been nice to have a bit of history as well.

por Joy S

29 de ene. de 2020

An update on what art is now. Nothing here is ordinary, expected art. All are in unexpected forms. Has no quizzes for a score.

por Diego

26 de abr. de 2020

Excelente manera de revisar una diversidad enorme de artistas y propuestas. Ayuda a entrar en el mundo del arte contemporáneo.

por 章晋

25 de mar. de 2022

浅入深处,确实适合对当代艺术不太了解的朋友。

The shallow entry is really suitable for those who do not know much about contemporary art

por Gary E

27 de feb. de 2020

Interesting but explores dark, negative themes. Needs a little more positive to give a balanced view.

por Emma C

22 de may. de 2020

Really enjoyed taking this course. Would recommend to those who know little about contemporary art.

por Espe G

24 de oct. de 2020

I found this course eye-opening and entertaining and I believe that it will help me in the future.

por anita a

31 de ene. de 2021

It was a wonderful course. How do I get the certificate for this course that I have completed.