Chevron Left
Volver a Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Creative Writing: The Craft of Character por parte de Universidad Wesleyana

4.5
estrellas
1,743 calificaciones
508 reseña

Acerca del Curso

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

Principales reseñas

SS

10 de ago. de 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

N

25 de sep. de 2020

The course was very well-structured and challenging. The instructor is very experienced and good, thus used relevant materials for this course, be it the guests, or the assignments, or the examples.

Filtrar por:

451 - 475 de 507 revisiones para Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

por AS

22 de nov. de 2020

The instructors were great. I learned a lot from them. Sadly, the reviews by other students were, in many cases, substandard. Some would give one-word answers while others just entered a period so the system would record a response. Since I am more interested in learning than in the certificate, I see no reason to pay for the course. I can get the same value by auditing the course. It would be most helpful if the responses were monitored.

por Michael H

16 de ago. de 2016

Compared to other courses in the creative writing specialization, I felt that this one needs some improvement. The video lectures just didn't have enough meat to them. For example, in other courses in the specialization, there will be links to optional readings or videos, leading to a deeper understanding of the concepts. Some readings, for example, would be welcome to give example of great (or even not so great) characterization.

por Elizabeth E

12 de mar. de 2017

I did come away with some good books/stories for reading, but would have like them to be included in the course the way it is in the Setting and Description module. I found the videos did not always lead up to the assignment, and I think the assignments could have been more clearly laid out. I still came away learning, but it did not feel very structured. To be fair, character is a sort of amorphous subject to begin with.

por Hardik R

4 de jul. de 2021

The course discusses a lot of useful techniques and ideas involved in building deep characters and communicating them with the reader. However, I did find many parts of the course to be repetitive and too abstract to be of any practical use. The shop talks especially seem to be loosely focused on the week's material and the interviewees rarely have helpful responses to Ms Amy Bloom's questions.

por John W

5 de abr. de 2021

Like a lot of other reviewers have said the utility of this class is limited by the wide range of skills of students in it. That means both the work you review and the reviews of your work will vary in quality quite a bit. The lectures themselves are a bit meandering but I think it's mostly very hard to something both broad and substantive about art.

por subash G

3 de mar. de 2017

If the week 4 was not there, i would have a 2 or even a 1 for this class.

Until week 4, there was very little connection between what we were watching and what we were asked to write assignments. And the assignments were also confusing and overly restrictive. There didnt seem to be any sense in why we were asked to write those.

por Finn C S

25 de dic. de 2020

It was good , but in comparison to the other courses it had problems.

There was way too less of clear strucutre to follow and it was too much of just talking, with different authors. I would have liked to have a more organized and better structured theoretical input.

Also some of the assignments I did not find usefull.

por Janice R B

14 de ago. de 2021

The peer reviewed assignments don't really strike me as peer reviewed if you are just begging in forums for someone to hit a button. The feedback so far has only a few times been valuable. I don't get the point of the system if reviews can be shopped in forum It negates some of the value of it all.

por Jamaluddin K

6 de nov. de 2019

The lectures were informative, but the end-of-week assignments were VERY poorly explained, generally had little to do with the week's lectures, and to add insult to injury had grading criteria that did not correspond with the points that were laid out in the instructions.

por Lauren V B

23 de mar. de 2018

The first assignment was a lot of fun but the other three were a little confusing, as evidenced by the ever-recurring questions on the forum. The videos were usually really interesting though. Amy has a very pleasant voice but seems to rely on her notes a little too much.

por Thomas O

27 de feb. de 2019

Not by far as good as the first module (Craft of Plot). This course seemed less planned and structured. The videos were mostly interviews that sort of touched upon the subjects but hardly ever got into detail. The assignments were often vague and harder to understand.

por gabisamuel@ymail.com

12 de ene. de 2017

I found the assignment instructions to be quite confusing. Some of the questions asked for the peer-to-peer reviews were very unclear. I didn't feel the course, overall, offered the same level of content and knowledge that the Craft of Plot offered.

por Jeanette D

11 de feb. de 2017

I think Judy Bloom is a brilliant writer. She is also an engaging instructor but I found it difficult at time to discern what the salient points or "take-aways" were from the lectures. I also found the assignment to be less than clear.

por Gabriel T

6 de abr. de 2016

I've got the chance to practice writing and I've learned some interesting insights, but I think the instructor didn't put too much effort into this course. All there is to it are 'shop talks' and too little structure.

por Crystal M

19 de mar. de 2017

I felt like the teaching was fairly abstract, and I had a difficult time figuring out how I was supposed to apply certain lessons. Overall, I did pick up several helpful hints, so the course was worth it.

por Nathan B

15 de may. de 2018

I found most of the assignments very confusing and difficult to complete. It is a real challenge and forces you to really think, think hard and hope for the best. If you take the course, good luck.

por Mahaba S A S

13 de jun. de 2017

The course was very interesting and shed light on the specifics on character development. However, the questions in most peer-graded assignments were some times not suitable for the assignment.

por Yash K

21 de feb. de 2021

The course material is great, but the grading usually doesn't result in me getting good feedback. Most students just write "good" without expanding on how I can improve.

por Dominique S

14 de may. de 2019

The information provided is great, but there's so many "shop talks" aka interviews with other Coursera instructors that it misses out on so many possible true lessons.

por Lu O

4 de sep. de 2020

Achei as atividades um pouco cansativas, e pouco intuitivas. Os vídeos mais longos e com momentos mais entediantes em relação ao primeiro modulo.

por Celeste e

19 de sep. de 2021

I enjoyed everything that I learned from the course. My only wish is that the course included teacher reviews in addition to the peer reviews.

por Emilio M L

2 de dic. de 2020

I honestly didn't learn a lot more than in the first course of the specialization. Some of the assignments were a little off-putting to me.

por Martha M

1 de mar. de 2021

Most of the assignments had nothing to do with the lectures. The assignments instructions weren't clear sometimes and very confusing.

por Sara A

18 de mar. de 2018

The assignments are hard to understand and not well explained. They are also completely irrelevant to the lessons of the week.

por Davide P

26 de sep. de 2019

Has been a great course but I would have loved more readings and a little bit more formal rules to sketch our own characters.