Chevron Left
Volver a Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description por parte de Universidad Wesleyana

4.7
estrellas
855 calificaciones
248 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

Principales revisiones

DP

Jul 18, 2018

This course gave a real depth to the importance of describing your character's environment, as a way of deepening and exciting them. excellent work on imagining your characters in the environment

CZ

Mar 27, 2018

Excellent course- highly recommended. I liked how it tied into other courses in the series as well. I took many notes, and plan on revisiting the course during my writings to refresh some ideas.

Filtrar por:

226 - 241 de 241 revisiones para Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

por Abrar A A

Mar 23, 2018

love the professor n her approach to writing... some of the best n practical exercises I did in writing

por Ian B

Jul 04, 2017

Great course for getting into the nitty gritty of how your story should feel. Enjoyed it thoroughly.

por Lubaba M A

Mar 16, 2017

it's amazing course that gave you a new point of view for writing and a very good training

por robin b

Mar 25, 2020

I do wish I could have seen the reviews of my work. I very much needed to see them.

por Brigitte P

Nov 14, 2018

The Course is very good. I would like more assignments and tutor's grades

por rima a

Mar 24, 2018

this course is really great. it helps you to think out of the box

por Naina S

Jan 24, 2019

Helped marginally, visible change in my writing. I'm very happy.

por Paulo S

Jan 08, 2018

It helped me a lot. Has good lesson content

por Perni

Nov 01, 2016

Great knowledge. Time consuming.

por Lisa D

Apr 30, 2018

This class was fun and helpful.

por Ritupriya G

Apr 20, 2016

Very good course, thanks!

por Amanda Y H

Feb 12, 2018

This course was interesting, but I did not find it particularly helpful or insightful. I felt that everything taught about setting and description was very elementary (I say this as a K-3 teacher who has regularly taught the concepts of setting and description) and not that useful for someone looking to take their writing to a more professional level.

por Aiden T N

Jan 18, 2017

Just as the Amy Bloom's course, this course has no descriptive arch and one is left to try and grasp the teaching points in a flood of reference material. Teach theory in a clear structure first please then provide reference. See Brando Skyhorse course, very structured.

por Digant K

Apr 12, 2016

If you've not read a single book on writing, this class might be good. Otherwise, don't expect to get much about the ~30 minutes of lecture.

por Kaitlyn B

Aug 31, 2019

I didn't actually learn anything. This felt like a waste of time, with largely boring assignments.

por jessica

Aug 09, 2016

The peer reviewed assignments are next to useless, as there is no oversight on them. I think there needs to be a basic comprehension assessment done first, before allowing fellow learners the ability to pass/fail students in the course.