Chevron Left
Volver a Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose por parte de Universidad de Princeton

4.7
estrellas
863 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Principales reseñas

VS

13 de may. de 2019

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

NK

15 de jun. de 2021

Can't wait to get into the second part of the course. The best programming course ever provided for free of cost. The techniques used are backed by mathematical thinking. It is just awesome.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 262 revisiones para Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

por Nilav N

22 de may. de 2021

Great way to explain things and giving test

por Marc T

9 de may. de 2021

AAA

Many, many thanks to staff ;)

por Aditya h

17 de may. de 2019

Great refresher for JAva.

por Richard K

14 de ago. de 2020

This was a challenging course, but not for beginners. I am an experienced programmer in several languages and wanted to learn Java, which I accomplished. The course does not teach any design approach (such as flow charting or outlining), which would be best for beginners.

por IrhamHamedAyani

25 de jun. de 2022

Although this course called itself a "course for beginners", it is not easy at all and I don't think beginners can finish those graded programming! This one is perfect, not only because of the lecture but also those "challenging" but interesting coding testsㅤㅤㅤ

por Mutembo K

17 de feb. de 2022

I liked that I was able to pace myself in the course. I did have a lot of challenges with the assignment content. They at times felt too advanced for me coming in with little programming knowledge. I did however enjoy learning this course.

por Tim G

20 de dic. de 2022

This course definitely improved my understanding of computer science topics and would recommend. I did find some of the assignments to be a little confusing as far was what they were expecting.

por ArigatouGozaimaster

21 de dic. de 2022

An excellent introduction to Java, however if i took this course as a completely fresh learner I would have struggled immensely

por Preston N

4 de jun. de 2019

Good over all, but the quizzes can be a little annoying.

por Shuyuan D

13 de jun. de 2019

Good recap course for an experienced programmer

por Mikaela W

26 de abr. de 2020

Lectures and assignments are heavily math-based, even in the very beginning, couldn't continue with course. I'm dyslexic and learning concepts using what feels like high-level math formulas and concepts doesn't work for me, couldn't comprehend a lot of assignment problem statements for the same reason. I'm sure it's great for those that don't struggle with mathematical comprehension, but it doesn't cater for those that do.

por Irina

30 de ene. de 2021

The course is not beginner friendly in my opinion. A lot of students, me included seem to be really confused about week 1's assignments, one can clearly see that in the forums. The class itself isn't bad, just advertised as beginner friendly. I do not find it to be so. Will retake it when will have a bit of basis of Java.

por Dilkhush S R

26 de nov. de 2022

good course but not recommended for beginners.

por Isabell R

15 de sep. de 2021

I really did try , I had trouble downloading the java. I try going to get help . then When finally get it right ,I try to do the HelloWorld assignment The path isnt there , So I deleted start all over again . download java and did assignment again , this time it take I am finally almost at the end on the command line . I close and go eat ,when I come back I got two assignment that are not mine in my folder wth and disable at the moment with my foot . working on computer for shop , and don't really have time to start all over so frustrating . I don't know what happen , I am mad and tired . i

por Neil A

11 de nov. de 2021

Initial "introcs" program doesn't install properly because the Java compiler doesn't work - and yes, I installed as Administrator. Also, "DrJava" cant compile even the initial HelloWorld,java application used to test the introcs installation. It's not recommended to install manually because of all the additional plug-ins that are required or I'd fix it myself. It's a good thing this is among their "free" courses because I am certainly not going to pay Coursera to troubleshoot and fix their stuff. Unenrolled. Would not enroll again.

por Matthew S

24 de dic. de 2022

"Beginner Level" Week 1 jumps from "Hello and Goodbye" to find the distance between two points on the earth. The Math functions required were not even mentioned in any of the videos besides just ONE function that was required, without even going into detail on it. Don't get me wrong, I did all of it and passed week 1 just fine, but a more inexperienced beginner than myself with no experience wouldn't have any idea what to do. Just find some 4-12 hour tutorials on YouTube instead, better worth your time.

por JEAN-BAPTISTE M D

7 de nov. de 2020

Your course is lacking the possibility to make contact with the teacher or helper, no e-mail, no telephone number. I am stuck on the learning process, I pass the 75% required on week 1 to go to the job assignment, the problem with the software IntelliJ, no possibility of help. Please cancel my subscription

por Parth G

21 de nov. de 2020

A great course that is definitely not for beginners. I found this course to be an amazing resource in giving a solid theoretical basis to my programming knowledge. It is not meant to be as practical as Harvard's CS50.

However, some prior knowledge of basic programming and/or Java would be helpful, as not all features of Java are covered in the course and useful hacks programmers employ on a daily basis such as debugging by using print statements is not covered. In short, this course does not go through how to program practically, it expects you to pick that up by wider reading or by reading StackOverflow or Googling endlessly! I only survived because I used Google continuously, read sample java programs to understand how to code including the authors' own stdlib library), and improved my Java skills on HackerRank

Weeks 6-8 were really challenging, especially the one on recursion about Hanoi's Puzzle.

Great, well-designed course, with solid foundations on real-world applications that are really inspiring and enjoyable!

por Alan C

15 de ago. de 2022

This course is really challenging for beginners, but if you persist with it you will definitely learn a lot. The instructor is a very experienced professor, so the videos are excellent. However, my main tip is to always read all the supplementary materials, including the book. Sometimes you will feel lost, but you will get a sense of accomplishment when you overcome those moments. Don't rush through the course; read each assignment specification carefully and you will learn. Last tip is to always check the forums if you are stuck because there are helpful tips over there. Like I said, this course is challenging, but in a good way.

por Kristy K

18 de nov. de 2020

This is an incredibly challenging course and is probably on par with first year university in terms of difficulty and independent learning and problem solving. I had no real programming and no math at all and this was insanely hard for me and I wanted to give up sometimes, but not impossible if you are a beginner it will just take a lot of work and time. The exercises and sample code provides is rich indeed and a great resource for further study and challenge. If you need something more guided and easier maybe try the Duke Java course(s) but if you can get through this, it is very rewarding.

por Jason M

5 de nov. de 2020

All materials for this course are clear and concise. Aspects of Java programming were explained clearly in the video lectures. But if things needed a bit of extra clarity or I needed to refresh my memory on something the online materials were there for review. Programming assignments were explained well and reflected the material being taught. The automated grader gives good explanation of what is wrong with your code so you can make corrections and resubmit. I am planning on taking the second half of this coarse next.

por Ajayi O

18 de nov. de 2020

For a newbie in programming, this course is highly recommended. It helped me to think in diverse ways. Having noticed java's rigidity compared to popular programming languages, i have been able to start with a disciplined approach by taking this course. I see things around me in a totally different manner during and after this course. It is also a pleasure having professor Sedgwick who smiles in his videos telling you its simple, I'm always like, professor, hope you know you got baby programmers in the class :)

por Gustavo N

17 de oct. de 2020

A very demanding course, at least for me who did not know anything about Java and OOP, the weekly exercises are key in the process of learning and the Discussion Forum is very helpful to be able to pass the exercises. I have taken other courses in Coursera but definitely this is the best one on this subject honoring the fact that is taught by Princeton, where once I dreamed to make a PhD. Thanks to the University, the instructors and Coursera, I plan to take the next one that is recommended in the last lecture.

por Alex G

10 de sep. de 2020

This is my first course on Coursera and this course is EXCELLENT. I started learning java in late 2019 and this course will make you a more sharp java programmer. If you do more then the assignments i.e. the web exercises and also using the book as ac companion with this course you will be facing challenging problems that bring joy if you managed to solve them.

Thank you Princeton University for making this course free and also for the grate Prof. Sedgwick and Wayne for building this course.

por Nick P

22 de sep. de 2019

This course was incredibly helpful. I've taught myself Python over the years for data analysis purposes, but I never had a solid understanding of computer science principles like you learn in this course. Learning Java along the way was a nice bonus, and it was helpful to compare and understand differences across different languages. The projects were of an appropriate difficulty, and I would strongly recommend completing them so that you can practice what you learn.