Chevron Left
Volver a Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose por parte de Universidad de Princeton

4.7
estrellas
713 calificaciones
223 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Principales reseñas

VS

13 de may. de 2019

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

NK

15 de jun. de 2021

Can't wait to get into the second part of the course. The best programming course ever provided for free of cost. The techniques used are backed by mathematical thinking. It is just awesome.

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 227 revisiones para Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

por Marvie

3 de nov. de 2020

I learned more by completing this course in a week compared to what I learned in 4 months time in one semester at my University 's introduction to computer science course. The programming assignments kept me engaged and were very fun. I would definitely recommend this course 10/10 would love to take up a course like this all over again.

por Keiji I

9 de dic. de 2020

This was an amazing course. The instructor demonstrates programs that can do incredible things yet are simple enough to fully understand from a ten minute lecture. The autograder is excellent and tells you exactly which failure modes your code has. The provided libraries make seemingly difficult tasks much simpler.

por Pankaj S

13 de sep. de 2020

This Course is a perfect blend of Mathematics, Science and Programming. This course will definitely upskill you. Prof. Sedgewick's teaching style is very unique. Programming assignment will challenge you to think you out of the box. Overall absolutely amazing learning experience. Thanks to Princeton University.

por sergio p

13 de jun. de 2020

Excellent course! I was almost new to Java and programming (learnt some Basic more than thirty years ago). The course is very well organized, all modules are interesting. Material is great and the exercises very challenging with references to multiple disciplines. Rewarding experience. Will go for part two.

por Parthasarathy B

15 de nov. de 2020

Lecture slides have been well structured to make a difficult topic easy to understand and learn. The presentation provides a good conceptual outlay and it does not overwhelm you. Needless to say that writing code is the difficult part in the course as it is part of the learning process.

por Izhar A

22 de dic. de 2020

This course teaches the fundamentals of Java, as well as the advance levels, in an extremely easy and practical way. The lectures are great and the real-life examples on offer are just transfixing! This is a wonderful resource for me to learn Java as a student of computer science.

por R S

13 de ene. de 2021

This course was at a good difficulty level where one doesn't feel like they are being spoon fed, nor does one feel overwhelmed. The machine problems(programs) are fun to work on and it's very satisfying seeing the auto-grader feedback after you have completed the programs.

por Alex K

14 de dic. de 2020

The course was perfect for my needs, which were to get acquaintance with Java programing.

The course is built in a step-by-step manner, allowing people with no background at all to be able to learn and understand the course materials.

Great course!

Highly recommended.

por Aleksei V

6 de may. de 2020

The course itself is great - it is easy to comprehend and the amount of useful information is immense. Some typos are present in the materials, namely on slides. Overall, I can recommend the course to anyone interested in serious programming learning.

por Zhang Y

10 de may. de 2020

I am new to Java, and am glad to have chosen this course as my java introduction course. I learned a lot and I really enjoyed doing all the assignments! Now I think I can read and write simple Java code, and have a brief understanding about OOP.

por Stefan M

20 de jun. de 2020

Very good introductory course to JAVA; completing this course will help with the more advanced course Algorithms I and II since it exposes the necessary JAVA language features and makes you familiar with the autograder functionality.

por Petar M

14 de dic. de 2019

This was great course with very enjoyable delivery. The reference to the Book was very helpful if you want to learn more. I liked the heavy inclusion of intersting extercies. I want to see the more in debt next levels taking place.

por itamar G

10 de dic. de 2020

excellent course. Really helpful in understanding the basics of programming. although the assignment in the recursion was a major step up in the difficulty level, causing a mild frustration. other than that - Great job!

por Mark P

1 de may. de 2022

T​he lectures are well organises and presented which give me a large motivation. I learn a lot in this course so that my problem solving skills are much better and programming concepts are much clearer to me as well.

por Michał Ł

5 de sep. de 2021

Excellent course. I gained better understanding of java as well as more general programming skills that I can use in other programming languages. Great option for anyone who is starting his/her programming journey.

por Alex R

10 de ene. de 2021

Very enjoyable class. Would definitely recommend to someone interested in Java programming. Also, for anyone like me who intends on majoring in Computer Science and would like a jump start before college.

por Mostafa H

25 de jun. de 2020

What i most liked about this course. Is how the instructors showed us what those little programs we built. Can be used to build further programs and its application in different fields in Computer Science

por nglokting

18 de oct. de 2019

The course is awesome. It really teaches me the basics of Java programming. Now I know what an object is.

The programming assignments are very interesting and really make you think. I like them very much.

por Alinaswe C

13 de nov. de 2021

The Course was fantastic and really fun! The lecturer was top-notch and He made the course really amazing. Thank you Cousera and Princeton university for this wonderful course, it really helped me a lot!

por HIEN G T

26 de nov. de 2021

This is my first course in Coursera. If you are beginner, you should watch videos, read the booksite and the book that covering this course. It simply needs a lot of hard work !

por Ica H

23 de oct. de 2021

It's easy to follow. And all the programming tasks help me to understand the content better. It's an friendly CS course with amazingly high quality. Thank you Professor!

por Praveen K

10 de oct. de 2020

Very useful for programmers, especially beginners. Examples taken to explain the concepts are real-time application oriented which reinforce importance of the concepts!!

por Eddy P

28 de ene. de 2021

Definitely a great course abound with lots of supporting materials including informative website, book, guidance and auto-graders for each programming assignment.

por Amrit D

30 de ago. de 2020

Fantastic course with a strong focus on assignments.Very helpful regardless of programming experience. The professor is very nice and provides key insights.

por Debasis B

24 de jul. de 2020

Really fun and challenging exercises! Had a great time solving them. The book site a lot more interesting problems and students should check it out.