Chevron Left
Volver a Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose por parte de Universidad de Princeton

4.7
estrellas
713 calificaciones
223 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Principales reseñas

VS

13 de may. de 2019

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

NK

15 de jun. de 2021

Can't wait to get into the second part of the course. The best programming course ever provided for free of cost. The techniques used are backed by mathematical thinking. It is just awesome.

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 227 revisiones para Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

por Grazyna K

22 de ago. de 2020

I expected to review all java basics but found myself working hard with high level, challenging projects that set up a growing environment for me.

por J H

20 de may. de 2020

It did not just teach coding, but taught efficient coding and how to think about performance issues, and separation of program parts into objects

por 赵凌乔

5 de feb. de 2020

This course is full of the fundamentals that one should learn in programming, especially how everything works in OOP. Excellent course.

por Steve C

28 de mar. de 2022

Such a great course with interesting assignments. It really helps me a lot in java programming and important programming concepts.

por Тугов С А

12 de ene. de 2021

This is an absolutely incredible course. I couldn't have hoped for better one. My endless admiration and gratitude to authors.

por Kuirong W

21 de ago. de 2020

This is a great course with heavy loaded homeworks which is definitely help if you like to get the best of the course.

por Sreejit C

11 de jul. de 2020

Quite a nice introduction to Programming and Java . Thank You lecturers for this interesting course and assignments .

por Meysam A

2 de nov. de 2019

It's a prefect starting point for those who want to learn programming or those who wants to refresh their knowledge.

por Deleted A

6 de ago. de 2019

Awesome course. Very challenging even for experienced programmer. Prof. Sedgewick and Kevin Wayne do a great job.

por Ang L

20 de feb. de 2022

This course is very helpful to me to understand the basic knowledge of computer science, thank the professors!

por Gopala V R

27 de jul. de 2020

Excellent. Wish I had this professor teaching when I first started learning programming quite a few years ago.

por Jack H

20 de may. de 2020

Great intro level course, I really enjoyed it. I look forward to the Instructors' other courses on algorithms.

por John C

20 de jul. de 2020

Interesting programming exercises.

Well-structured course and automatic evaluation of exercises very good.

por Arshad

13 de may. de 2020

It is always a privilege to learn from someone who is the best in his field. Thanks for the lectures.

por Anika P

16 de jul. de 2022

This course was good and helpful and it deveploped my understanding for computer science as a whole.

por Nguyen D L

22 de ene. de 2021

It's amazing how an introductory course in programming can show student many fundamental skills.

por Manuel M T

12 de ago. de 2021

This is an excellent course. Well taught, organized, covering the foundations of java and OOP.

por Christos N

25 de sep. de 2020

Great experience. Of course a lot to learn, and big effort to complete but provided new ideas!

por Vorravoot N

10 de ene. de 2022

Great course, i get many idea and basic knowledge for Java from this useful course. thanks :)

por Ahmed D

10 de jul. de 2021

Excellent course even though the programming assignments are sometimes a little bit too hard.

por Tassianna T

29 de dic. de 2019

This course is excellent; It provides a robust framework to build on programming practices.

por Ahmed A

1 de nov. de 2020

amazing course, it covers a lot of programming principles and how to think computationally

por Romain F

2 de sep. de 2020

I loved the course's rigor and how the auto grader guided me through the assignments.

por Marcos J

5 de jul. de 2022

I​ already had a degree in CS but I learned more here than with my entire curriculum