Chevron Left
Volver a Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose por parte de Universidad de Princeton

4.7
estrellas
863 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Principales reseñas

VS

13 de may. de 2019

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

NK

15 de jun. de 2021

Can't wait to get into the second part of the course. The best programming course ever provided for free of cost. The techniques used are backed by mathematical thinking. It is just awesome.

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 262 revisiones para Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

por Lok T N

18 de oct. de 2019

The course is awesome. It really teaches me the basics of Java programming. Now I know what an object is.

The programming assignments are very interesting and really make you think. I like them very much.

por Alinaswe C

13 de nov. de 2021

The Course was fantastic and really fun! The lecturer was top-notch and He made the course really amazing. Thank you Cousera and Princeton university for this wonderful course, it really helped me a lot!

por John W

27 de nov. de 2022

Very useful and helpful course for beginner in Java. I learned Python before and this course is much more difficult, but it does help a lot for you to step further into CS world.

por HIEN G T

26 de nov. de 2021

This is my first course in Coursera. If you are beginner, you should watch videos, read the booksite and the book that covering this course. It simply needs a lot of hard work !

por Ica H

23 de oct. de 2021

It's easy to follow. And all the programming tasks help me to understand the content better. It's an friendly CS course with amazingly high quality. Thank you Professor!

por Praveen K

10 de oct. de 2020

Very useful for programmers, especially beginners. Examples taken to explain the concepts are real-time application oriented which reinforce importance of the concepts!!

por Emmanuel O

9 de oct. de 2022

Good introduction to programming and covers all basic aspects of programming with an object oriented language. Good knowledge to take to learn others like Python.

por Eddy P

28 de ene. de 2021

Definitely a great course abound with lots of supporting materials including informative website, book, guidance and auto-graders for each programming assignment.

por HR E

29 de nov. de 2022

Programming tasks are difficult, some of them took me days to solve, I almost dropped out of the course. But it's a pleasure when you get the grade to pass.

por Amrit D

30 de ago. de 2020

Fantastic course with a strong focus on assignments.Very helpful regardless of programming experience. The professor is very nice and provides key insights.

por Debasis B

24 de jul. de 2020

Really fun and challenging exercises! Had a great time solving them. The book site a lot more interesting problems and students should check it out.

por Grazyna K

22 de ago. de 2020

I expected to review all java basics but found myself working hard with high level, challenging projects that set up a growing environment for me.

por J H

20 de may. de 2020

It did not just teach coding, but taught efficient coding and how to think about performance issues, and separation of program parts into objects

por 赵凌乔

5 de feb. de 2020

This course is full of the fundamentals that one should learn in programming, especially how everything works in OOP. Excellent course.

por Steve C

28 de mar. de 2022

Such a great course with interesting assignments. It really helps me a lot in java programming and important programming concepts.

por Тугов С А

12 de ene. de 2021

This is an absolutely incredible course. I couldn't have hoped for better one. My endless admiration and gratitude to authors.

por Kuirong W

21 de ago. de 2020

This is a great course with heavy loaded homeworks which is definitely help if you like to get the best of the course.

por Sreejit C

11 de jul. de 2020

Quite a nice introduction to Programming and Java . Thank You lecturers for this interesting course and assignments .

por Meysam A

2 de nov. de 2019

It's a prefect starting point for those who want to learn programming or those who wants to refresh their knowledge.

por Deleted A

6 de ago. de 2019

Awesome course. Very challenging even for experienced programmer. Prof. Sedgewick and Kevin Wayne do a great job.

por Ang L

20 de feb. de 2022

This course is very helpful to me to understand the basic knowledge of computer science, thank the professors!

por Gopala V R

27 de jul. de 2020

Excellent. Wish I had this professor teaching when I first started learning programming quite a few years ago.

por Jack H

20 de may. de 2020

Great intro level course, I really enjoyed it. I look forward to the Instructors' other courses on algorithms.

por John C

20 de jul. de 2020

Interesting programming exercises.

Well-structured course and automatic evaluation of exercises very good.

por edi v

15 de oct. de 2022

Muy bueno aunque yo soy pricipiante en la tecgnologia. De bajos recurson y vivo fuera de estados unidos