Chevron Left
Volver a Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose por parte de Universidad de Princeton

4.7
estrellas
713 calificaciones
223 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Principales reseñas

VS

13 de may. de 2019

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

NK

15 de jun. de 2021

Can't wait to get into the second part of the course. The best programming course ever provided for free of cost. The techniques used are backed by mathematical thinking. It is just awesome.

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 227 revisiones para Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

por Nguyen V V

22 de jun. de 2022

Good

por Amr A K

11 de ene. de 2022

good

por Mahmoud h s s

5 de ene. de 2022

GOOD

por 陳維

23 de ago. de 2021

good

por Travis D

16 de may. de 2022

Very detailed course, went into further depth into some points that Harvard's CS50 didn't. Good warmup to going deeper into algorithms. However some exercises are quite difficult to understand or I feel weren't explained clearly and it can be a bit restricting to only be able to use Intellij to utilise their in house library. The marking system that they have set up can also be a little bit rigid where your answer is right but you have to rewrite the code to accommodate how the course marks the code.

por Milind P

14 de ene. de 2021

Not quite beginner level course when dealing with assignments so some students might find themselves little frustrated. But with the difficulty of assignments, the learning opportunity is great once you finish assignments successfully with help of forum and other research. Book-site could be made little more extensive as currently it is very condensed compared to what chapters in book might have. Overall great course and learning.

por Brad K

26 de ago. de 2021

The course info implies that this is an introduction to programming for non-programmers, essentially a college 100-level course. The provided information in the lectures does good job at building up the student's information about how to build a program. However, several of the programming assignments dial the difficulty up to a 200- or 300-level algorithms class which might lead to frustration on the part of the student.

por Oluwatosin A

23 de jul. de 2020

This course was detailed and helpful. I don't know if this matters a lot, but it bothers me that this course teaches students to use its own libraries. I think the students may not be able to use the actual Java standard libraries well.

Also, I find many assignments hard to understand, most likely because the instruction is not clear enough.

But overall, this course was very nice and interesting.

por Santiago M

11 de oct. de 2020

I got what I needed and way more... This course is really heavy on maths and it does not stay with just "learn java"... I admit that I got frustrated at some point since Im not good at math and struggle a lot!.. but with the help of peers I was able to get the end goal and I would recommend this class to anyone that want to understand how programming works.

por Ashvith S

11 de mar. de 2022

I like that this course covers the important aspects in detail, and divides the chapters into smaller subsections. I would go far as to argue that these questions are Ivy-League tier problems, and requires a lot of research and patience, which aren't appreciated by beginner students. Maybe it would be better to tone down the difficulty.

por 20-047 F F R

15 de jun. de 2022

the material is delivered by great and experienced speakers, the material presented is clear and easy to understand, the quiz given is also not immediately difficult, but gradually from easy to difficult, the reading given is also clear and the core material can be understood, unfortunately there is no translation for Indonesian

por IrhamHamedAyani

25 de jun. de 2022

Although this course called itself a "course for beginners", it is not easy at all and I don't think beginners can finish those graded programming! This one is perfect, not only because of the lecture but also those "challenging" but interesting coding testsㅤㅤㅤ

por Mutembo K

17 de feb. de 2022

I liked that I was able to pace myself in the course. I did have a lot of challenges with the assignment content. They at times felt too advanced for me coming in with little programming knowledge. I did however enjoy learning this course.

por Shreyan M

16 de ago. de 2020

This course was great for learning Java, but I believe it could have been better if it had covered the actual "computer science" aspect (like the anatomy of a computer, history of computing, etc.)

por József K

15 de jun. de 2022

E​xcellent course. Little hard for beginners, especially the software testing enviroment is very strict. But it is very straightforward course.

por HATEM A R A A K

14 de jun. de 2022

Course is good but need to be more interactive and the content sometimes doesn't help in completing exams or assignments.

por Aman V

30 de mar. de 2022

I​ have completed the course it is very help ful but i have not received the certificate.

por psychic h

22 de mar. de 2020

its a good basic course.

its only for those who had'nt learnt a programming language yet

por Atalay K

27 de jun. de 2020

Lectures are very good, exercises could be better

por George S

17 de sep. de 2020

ok

por Ishu K

10 de ago. de 2021

good

por Moataz X

12 de jul. de 2021

I​ wanted to get a certificate

por Farooq A S

17 de dic. de 2020

Not for me.

por UTKARSH D

10 de abr. de 2022

I typed program of hello world but it shows we do not have test for correctness...... If you do not have test then what I can do ? It has weightage of 90 % in assignment I have to quit just because of this

por Claudia

12 de may. de 2021

Where can I ask some questions regarding payments?

I can't find a way to communicate with that department