Chevron Left
Volver a Cultural Competence - Aboriginal Sydney

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Cultural Competence - Aboriginal Sydney por parte de Universidad de Sidney

4.8
estrellas
240 calificaciones
68 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course explores some of the key themes and capabilities of cultural competence by exploring Aboriginal experiences and narratives of Sydney. Australia was ‘claimed’ for the British Crown in 1770, by Captain James Cook, but the invasion began in earnest when the First Fleet of British arrived in 1788 and established a penal colony in Sydney. As a consequence Sydney is a city rich in diverse pre-colonial, colonial and contemporary sites of significance to Aboriginal peoples. Too often though our perceptions about Aboriginal peoples consign them to an ancient past or perpetuates stereotypical imaginations that Aboriginal peoples live in remote communities (Hinkson, 2010). At the heart of this MOOC is the theme that Sovereignty was never ceded and Sydney always was and always will be Aboriginal Land. Despite this the Aboriginal presence in the city is often invisible to non-Aboriginal eyes. This course aims to bring to light marginalised narratives of Aboriginal presence in this space. To understand hidden and marginalised narratives and experiences it is necessary to develop cultural competence capabilities. Key elements of practicing cultural competence include being able to understand and interrogate context, which in the case of Sydney includes not only learning about the peoples, places and histories of Aboriginal Sydney but to also understand issues about how knowledge is created and how dominant narratives can exclude diverse knowledges and experiences. Course learning outcomes 1. Develop knowledge about cultural competence capabilities. 2. Develop a deeper and multi-layered knowledge and understanding about Aboriginal peoples, cultures and places in Sydney. 3. Develop a greater understanding of how history, cultures and places are represented, contested and interpreted and how that relates to their own context. Acknowledgement of Country We acknowledge that this course was developed on the land of the Gadigal Peoples of the Eora nation. We pay our respect to the Traditional Owners of this land and acknowledge that the land that the University of Sydney was built on has been a place of learning for many thousands of years....

Principales reseñas

RM

3 de jun. de 2018

A valuable and hugely informative course. I am new to Australia and this course has helped me to understand many of the complex issues to do with the land's identity; past, present and future.

DG

15 de jul. de 2017

A fantastic and vital course. Lectures are succinct and easily digestible, with beautifully filmed and edited interviews providing a range of expert insights on the subject. Thank you!

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 70 revisiones para Cultural Competence - Aboriginal Sydney

por Robert W M

4 de jun. de 2018

A valuable and hugely informative course. I am new to Australia and this course has helped me to understand many of the complex issues to do with the land's identity; past, present and future.

por David G

15 de jul. de 2017

A fantastic and vital course. Lectures are succinct and easily digestible, with beautifully filmed and edited interviews providing a range of expert insights on the subject. Thank you!

por Gai-Louise H

17 de jun. de 2020

I really enjoyed this course and learning about Cultural Aboriginal Sydney. Hearing the stories of the past cemented the knowledge firmly. I would highly recommend the course.

por Nicole P

17 de may. de 2018

Very informative course delivered in a very accessible format with lots of video from people active in the Koorie community in Sydney. Thanks so much.

por Jeremy M

5 de jun. de 2022

Very enjoyable and rewarding. Opened my eyes to many areas I wasn't aware of. Very well set out and progresses in a natural fashion.

por Mette S

18 de oct. de 2021

An excellent course with a variety of presenters and aspects presented across Sydney and many different aspects of Aboriginal Sydney

por Guillaume T

9 de may. de 2020

I am studying full time and took this course as an extra. The course is very well done, very imformative and makes you think.

por DIEGO B

29 de may. de 2020

Thank you. I thought I had a good grasp of the decolonisation process. I had no idea. Thank you for offering this

por Barbara V P L

6 de abr. de 2021

Absolutely loved it. Very educational, very confronting, very informative and great pace. Thank you.

por Lynette M

22 de jul. de 2020

I really enjoyed the course. It was well presented, provided excellent information and made me think.

por Karl l

25 de ene. de 2021

Very thought provoking and enlightening. I learnt so much. This is just the start of my journey.

por Hannah B

12 de ago. de 2020

Incredible course with insightful resources I will continue to refer back to for a long time.

por Laura V R N

12 de feb. de 2021

Me gustó mucho, desconocia todo el tema así que como apertura a esta situación es MUY bueno.

por Lorna G

2 de sep. de 2020

Excellent and insightful course to bring full awareness to the real Australia

por Zoe S

8 de dic. de 2019

Great course with specific information and resources about Aboriginal Sydney!

por Dheerja L

24 de jun. de 2019

Great course! I learned so much! So interactive and easy to work through.

por A. L

20 de abr. de 2020

A fascinating foray into Aboriginal Sydney: past, present, and future.

por Lisa R H

22 de jul. de 2017

Great course. Well thought out in terms of conte. Very interesting.

por Justine Y

4 de ago. de 2019

11/10, much more informative and enjoyable way to earn points.

por Laurence B

18 de sep. de 2021

A real eye opener and extremely well done and informative

por Judit G A

13 de abr. de 2020

Great course!! so useful for teaching young children.

por Ines G

14 de mar. de 2018

Liked it a lot and will be looking forward for more.

por Hayden H

7 de jun. de 2017

Excellent course, good diversity of speakers,

por Gladiston C

12 de ago. de 2020

Ótimo curso. Parabéns aos idealizadores!

por Jeremy H

9 de may. de 2017

Surprisingly innovative online teaching