Chevron Left
Volver a International Cyber Conflicts

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a International Cyber Conflicts por parte de Universidad Estatal de Nueva York

4.5
estrellas
973 calificaciones
213 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

By nature, cyber conflicts are an international issue that span across nation-state borders. By the end of the course, you will be able to apply the knowledge gained for analysis and management of international cyber incidents and conflicts including for activities such as development of policy related to cybercrime and cyberwarfare. Management of cyber incidents and conflicts requires an interdisciplinary perspective including an understanding of: 1) characteristics of the cyber threats and conflicts themselves, 2) international efforts to reduce and improve cyber security, and 3) psychological and sociopolitical factors. The course is designed to reach an international audience and will encourage discussion on relevant current events among participants to enrich the experience with various personal and cultural perspectives on cutting-edge issues. In addition, assignments and other assessments will supplement video lectures and selected readings to ensure application of the material. After taking this course you will be able to: • Identify different types of actors involved in cyber threats (individuals, organizations & nation-states) • Distinguish between different types of threats and issues in cyber security including, data theft, political espionage, critical infrastructure protection, and propaganda • Detail the basic characteristics of the Internet infrastructure and international efforts to address Internet governance • List several international efforts to address cyber crime and espionage • Evaluate how principals that govern international conflicts might be applied in context of cyber security • Apply different psychological theories of human motivation and cooperation and communication and political theories in analysis of different international issues related to cyber security including censorship, media operations and role of social technologies. Grading: Your grade is assessed based on discussion posts and quizzes. Individual taking this course for credit (i.e. students at the University at Albany y will be required to engage in additional activities communicated to them directly). Recommended Background: No background knowledge or skills are necessary, but an understanding and familiarity of cyber security, Internet infrastructure and international law would be advantageous for anyone who participates in the course. ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS Ersin Dincelli and Nic DePaula were the instructional designers for the course who assisted in the recording of the videos, reviewing material, creating slides, assessments and some of the content. Without their tremendous effort this would not have been possible. We also acknowledge the financial support for the recordings from the University at Albany as well as the support from Media and Marketing. Finally, thanks to Lisa Stephens who is the SUNY liaison to Coursera for being a strong supporter of the MOOC....

Principales revisiones

OF

Mar 27, 2019

Excellent overview of existing state of play. Also very interesting coverage of psychology underpinning cyber behaviours. Thank you for this enlightening course!

BK

Jul 20, 2017

I wish there should be a more detailed and broadened bulletins of particular and concrete cases about cyber conflicts throughout the whole world.

Filtrar por:

126 - 150 de 206 revisiones para International Cyber Conflicts

por Alisha C

Apr 12, 2020

beatiful

por Matias P

Jun 18, 2019

So good!

por Соломатин А Н

Mar 16, 2019

10/10

por REGINALD Y O

Oct 16, 2016

GREAT

por L. D

May 28, 2020

Good

por David I

Nov 15, 2019

good

por BHUPENDRA H C

Mar 27, 2018

good

por Daniel L

Jun 09, 2020

This is a great course to get a solid understanding of the human, the psychological aspect of international cyber activities. This covers civilians, criminals, and of course associated government activities. There is a strong component on the motivation of cyber attackers. This is crucial for any cyber analyst, since there is the potential to dissuade or even eliminate the motivation for the cyber hacker to carry out attacks.

Another really interesting aspect of the cyber space arena is the comparison of it to the traditional war space. Is it the same? This gets to the heart of the nature of cyber space, it's intangibility, and its no-boundaries, classless nature. The final analogy drawn is between the cyber tools/war race and the nuclear arms race. Readings support the fact that we are in the early stages of cyber space, but are they really the same?

I enjoyed this course, and it's different approach to more technical cyber courses. My only comment would be that the quiz content would be more broad, and not relate directly back to smaller quizzes in each lecture. In other words, to allow for more thinking on the topic relating to the readings, and understanding of the materials, since this is not a cut and dry cyber course, it is quite subjective. Even short answer would be welcome. Other than that I gained a lot of context to cyber security overall from this course.

por Donald D

Mar 06, 2016

This was a very good course (4.5/5.0). One area that could be improved would be the discussion of industrial control systems (ICS). On lecture briefly mentions STUXNET and SCADA, but this was rather incomplete discussion. A very recent incident that could have been used was the attack on the Ukraine Power grid as a demo of a cyber attack against infrastructure. https://ics-cert.us-cert.gov/alerts/IR-ALERT-H-16-056-01?_mc=sm_dr_editor_kellyjacksonhiggins

I am perhaps biased toward this area, since this is my field of work.

por Andy C Y E

May 31, 2020

I'd say it has been interesting for me as a graduate of International Relations. The readings are also superb. I gave 4 stars because the lectures were not the most interactive or interesting ones I have seen. They are practically reading off scripts, hence, my advice would be turning up the playback speed to 1.5 or 1.75 and read the transcript. It is much faster to absorb this way. I finished the whole course in just 2 weeks, had participated fully in all the discussions and read/studied the readings in detail.

por Pavlína P

Aug 21, 2017

International Cyber Conflict course provides a great insight into increasingly relevant topic. The course is very well structured to help even a beginner student to understand broad range of issues such as different cyber terms, cyberspace and government, conflict and cooperation, international law and the problems of attribution. I would certainly recommend this course to anyone interested in this field.

(To give the full 5 stars, I would appreciate a mention of the works of Thomas Rid, John Stone or Libicki.)

por Ernesto P E

May 10, 2020

readings should be checked, some are missing.

at least a question in the final exam does not match with the same question in the quizzes:

"basic lessons for international cooperation? - all of the above:

understanding how other party views the issue is important; both should have same understanding of consequences

strategies for what to do that does not involve mutual destruction (govening policies for when to use cyber weapons)

developing arms control treaties with positive sum scenarios"

por Hitesh T

Aug 17, 2016

Course in not only just about theory of cyber security .But also ,It also accommodates psychological view to cyber world . This makes it more interesting .The brief part of law related to cyber security buttress the content maturity .However, More information on privacy should be added .If done ,course is a 5 star Course .Moreover, every lecture gives information.So, efficiently crafted out of course .Overall,it's worth taking and worth time spending

por Faith E B

Jan 08, 2018

The class was interesting, and the topics were presented in an understandable format. The lectures appropriately covered the information noted within the syllabus. The earlier lectures were more helpful from a technical perspective than the later lectures. The final lessons covered a lot of theory regarding international political considerations associated with cyber risks.

por perez r

Dec 12, 2019

cette formation m'a permis de comprendre qui sont les différents acteurs en matière de cyber guerre, les difficultés juridiques existantes pour punir les coupables, la difficulté a prouver l'origine d'une attaque, et les voies d'accord ou de traités à établir en s'inspirant de l'histoire des guerres passées pour tenter de trouver des accords permettant un consensus universel.

por Ana P d M B

Jul 26, 2016

The topic of the course is very interesting, the readings were important, but some of the reading were based on a book, that I had to purchase. Was a very useful course, but was a little bit tiring, videos with 12 minutes with too much theory but less pratical examples. But was a good experience. I would like to thanks the professors, that made this course.

por Carl J I

May 29, 2016

Course was ok. However, some of questions were not clear based on excerpt from support video. For example, quiz #1 question 7. Course was "general" overview of very important subject matter of Cyber Conflicts. Looking forward to a more specific and detailed course structure. PS: A course concerning Cyberwar in Space would be quite interesting.

por Shaunak G

Apr 29, 2018

The course is really good and you do not need any prior background. Just the will to learn is sufficient. The only thing is that some of the sessions both the tutors are not confidant in what they want to express. But apart from that the course is really good.

por viki k

May 01, 2017

nice course. however would have liked more specific examples of cyber conflicts along with how they were resolved to each country's satisfaction ( if there are any such examples to look at ). Thank you to you all for putting this course together.

por Boris R

Nov 05, 2019

Very interesting course, but the exams might be a bit more difficult. I would have appreciate to have to dig more on the subject by homeworks as text writing. But it is a great introduction on International Cyber Conflicts

por David M

Jan 09, 2018

Solid course, easy to follow along, keep up and pass. 100 percent of the content is available online for free, but what a great opportunity to focus on what you want to learn and not searching for everything.

por Brian

Nov 29, 2016

It takes time for me, as a non English spoken, to understand some professor's accent. Overall, I learned a lot from this course. This course helped me understand what causes of cyberattack are, the wa

por Ole T B

Aug 02, 2017

A good and comprehensive course. The lecturers are engaging and show good knowledge about the subjects they speak. The readings are well chosen and gives and very good picture of Cyber conflicts

por Courtney H

Jul 28, 2016

Parts are thin on detail. This is a good and broad overview but lacks in-depth information of use to cyber security specialists. Still, a good course to start with if you plan to move forward.

por María E L R

Jun 30, 2020

Great introduction course to such a complex topic, however i believe the literature could be updated to more recent cases and a more international perspective, not just the U.S.