Chevron Left
Volver a Data-driven Astronomy

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Data-driven Astronomy por parte de Universidad de Sidney

4.8
estrellas
897 calificaciones
267 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

Principales reseñas

SK

Sep 11, 2020

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

MC

Feb 29, 2020

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

Filtrar por:

126 - 150 de 264 revisiones para Data-driven Astronomy

por francisco

May 11, 2019

An exciting course towards data science is involved in other topics as Astronomy, and a glimpse on the techniques that are being use.

por Tony G

Aug 23, 2019

Excellent course. One of the best I've taken. Love that real data sets were used to illustrate the concepts. Highly recommended.

por Gaureesh C

Aug 15, 2020

Great course for Astronomy enthusiasts as well as for people looking to improve coding skills in python, sql and machine learning.

por Pier-Francesco R

Jun 17, 2019

It's a good start point if we want to understand actual astronomy and the analysis of new big surveys like SDSS or the next LSST

por Marco P

Dec 18, 2019

Great course and a great opportunity to learn about data analysis, classification of galaxies and astronomy. Very inspiring.

por Abhijeet B

Apr 23, 2020

Excellent course designed to provide a good introduction to data analysis in astronomy with plenty of hands on excercises.

por Timothy J N

Apr 16, 2020

This course really gave me an understanding of the methods of modern astronomy as well as the basics of working with data.

por Dhruv P

Dec 02, 2019

For the first time, I've learnt the application of programming languages in the field of Astronomy. A course worth taking.

por Jeremy J

Jul 25, 2020

Clearly presented overview of necessary techniques in data wrangling with real world, astronomy sourced, coding examples.

por fouchereau r

Jan 15, 2020

Was a pleasure to take this course, It is well balanced between astronomical information and Machine Leargning concepts.

por Aayush

Jul 01, 2017

A great course that helps one understand the basics of data analysis and how they are used in observational astronomy.

por Carlos N

Apr 19, 2018

It's been a very interesting and enriching point of view of astronomy. I loved the way computing can help astronomy.

por Ted S

May 25, 2017

I've been looking for a class like this for a while. Nice intro to python and accessing and manipulating astro data

por Steve B

Jun 19, 2018

I used it to learn Python which made it more challenging but the content inspired me to get through it... excellent

por Diogo B d L S

Sep 03, 2017

Astonishing course!

From Python basics to Scikit and the universe in a few weeks got smoother than I expected.

por Gonzalo B

Aug 08, 2018

A great introduction to Data-driven Astronomy and a good way for starting to learn Python by solving problems

por Ahammed A

May 09, 2018

A great course for a good understanding of the tools and the theoretical requisites of data driven astronomy

por Eshita S

Mar 26, 2020

if you want to put some hands on the modern of doing observational astronomy, go for it. an amazing course .

por SHUBHAM K

Jul 20, 2019

Great lectures, interactive coursework, and easy to understand yet overwhelmingly powerful concepts! Lovely!

por notsoseamless

Jul 11, 2019

Really interesting course.

I now need to make further study of the techniques introduced on this course.

por Daanish P

May 01, 2020

wow, this course made my quarantine time :) thanks dr. tara and simon murphy for this beautiful course.

por Terence

May 15, 2020

Very good module. I have learned a lot about how to analyze huge data by using computational skills.

por Daniel N H

Sep 19, 2020

Absolutely gorgeous! It has exceeded my expectations in so many levels that I can't even explain...

por Cecilia G

Jul 06, 2019

Great course, does help to have a background in python so more time can be spent on the activities.

por p v k

May 12, 2019

Outstanding presentation in making even a novice like me understand the fundamentals of the course.