Chevron Left
Volver a Big Data, Genes, and Medicine

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Big Data, Genes, and Medicine por parte de Universidad Estatal de Nueva York

4.2
estrellas
241 calificaciones
79 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course distills for you expert knowledge and skills mastered by professionals in Health Big Data Science and Bioinformatics. You will learn exciting facts about the human body biology and chemistry, genetics, and medicine that will be intertwined with the science of Big Data and skills to harness the avalanche of data openly available at your fingertips and which we are just starting to make sense of. We’ll investigate the different steps required to master Big Data analytics on real datasets, including Next Generation Sequencing data, in a healthcare and biological context, from preparing data for analysis to completing the analysis, interpreting the results, visualizing them, and sharing the results. Needless to say, when you master these high-demand skills, you will be well positioned to apply for or move to positions in biomedical data analytics and bioinformatics. No matter what your skill levels are in biomedical or technical areas, you will gain highly valuable new or sharpened skills that will make you stand-out as a professional and want to dive even deeper in biomedical Big Data. It is my hope that this course will spark your interest in the vast possibilities offered by publicly available Big Data to better understand, prevent, and treat diseases....

Principales reseñas

BB

1 de jul. de 2020

Very practical and easy to follow. The quizzes definitely help you retain the knowledge from the lectures. The hands-on with Jupyter Notebook was my favourite part of this course! Thank you!

MA

9 de may. de 2019

Really enjoying the way she is teaching. Very easy to learn and practice. I strongly believe when I will complete the course I will gain a remarkable skill on Big Data, Genes, and Medicine.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 78 revisiones para Big Data, Genes, and Medicine

por MAYANK B

7 de jun. de 2020

The course is well planned to give an insight (basics) into biology and computer programming "R". For a completely new student in computers, like me, this course has provided me with some good basics of "R" and biological analytical tools. However, I did not understand many applications taught in the lectures due to the new field. I only did as it was said. Overall a good course to pursue to explore a new area.

por Lesley P J W

4 de may. de 2020

Good information and training course for the beginner. However the content of the course should be updated constantly. For example, one of the functions like "network" as mentioned in cbioportal is no longer available since 2019. And the alternative way for that function should be provided and taught as well.

por Katherine C

29 de ago. de 2021

The course overall does a good job of explaining the selected topics, but parts of the course involving the use of cBioportal are extremely outdated. Some of the features have been combined into other tabs or outright removed, which makes completing parts of Week 1 rather difficult

por Meher B

24 de oct. de 2016

The course was fairly good and covered different topics about big data applied to genes. The resources and the course content were useful, to get a good understanding about the field.

The assignments weren't as good as I anticipated, I would have preferred more hands-on work.

por Yang L

17 de mar. de 2019

The lessons are quite good, although I already got some preliminaries on bioinformatics and big data analysis. The usage of website cbioportal is quite helpful for us to obtain useful genetics information and its relation with different types of cancer

por Karthick V A

3 de ago. de 2020

The content are very good and the way practice questions designed was very helpful in completing the final assignments. In specific areas like content regarding cbioportal should be updated cause it differs from what is given in the actual site

por Ahmad S N A

15 de sep. de 2020

Considering that this course originates back in 2016, there has been some advances in some lecturing methods presented in this course. This course should update its components to match the relevant condition as now.

por Amanda W

12 de jun. de 2020

Very good for statistics information in regards to genes, medicine, and big data. I wish they would have spent more time on the R code and how to create it, but otherwise was a really good course.

por Jaime P

21 de abr. de 2020

Muy buen curso introductorio, incluye un uso muy sencillo de programación con R, lo cual está muy bien para centrarse en aprender los algoritmos de análisis pero no para aprender R.

por Mahdi Z

9 de sep. de 2021

the mahcine learning parts were good, though a bit more practical exercises could have improved it.

but the Genetic parts were taught far too vague in my opinion,

Thank all of you :)

por Sulagna B

23 de jun. de 2020

The course is more of an intermediate course than an advanced one, but a great starting point from where you can find your own interests and develop further on that.

por Vasco S O L C

28 de ago. de 2018

Apart form minor issues in the assessments, I really enjoyed this course as it was presented clearly and concise by professor Isabelle Bichindaritz

por Sanjan D

23 de dic. de 2019

Great range of content covered! Some videos on cBioPortal are best updated since the website has changed!

por Diego

12 de sep. de 2020

Me gustó mucho el curso y, la parte practica que es muy importante, es sencilla de entender y realizar

por Razda K

6 de jul. de 2020

Very informative.. get to learn so many new things. Thank you for sharing the knowledge..!!

por Antonenko E

16 de jun. de 2018

I feel like I wanted to have practice with the material that was covered in the lecture

por KAVITHA G M

24 de may. de 2020

The course was good to know about bioinformatics and how this can be used. Thank You

por Harini S

25 de ago. de 2020

This course gives me a idea about my project.very informative course.thank you

por Peter S

4 de ene. de 2017

A great introduction to the topic. It will leave you wanting to learn more.

por Luis P d C H

7 de oct. de 2017

Excellent course for an introduction to Big data and bioscience.

por michael f

2 de abr. de 2022

This is a very good course. Learnt a lot from this course.

por Jewelrose J

7 de sep. de 2020

Informative session

por Justin M

6 de may. de 2020

The course is a nice overview of the field, but very VERY superficial in depth. Also, it's quite annoying to have so many quizzes and questions that are outdated and virtually un-answerable due to changes in the external website services referenced in the exams. Overall, it was a reasonable course and I was able to power through it in a couple days. Probably not work taking unless you're already familiar with Data Science and just looking for a brief overview.

por Nicholas Y

25 de nov. de 2019

In my opinion it is a good intermediate level course that explains basics of genomics and transcriptomics Big Data analysis. The only issues with this course are concerning unupdated question list which does not correlate with cBio-Portal data or it's new framework, quite easy R tasks, would have like to see more intricate objectives and questions.

por Carlos A

17 de mar. de 2020

Is a good introduction for some subjects, but the practices on the data processing and the R use is merely plane.