Chevron Left
Volver a The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Data Scientist’s Toolbox por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.6
estrellas
29,924 calificaciones
6,385 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Aspectos destacados
Foundational tools
(243 reseñas)
Introductory course
(1056 reseñas)

Principales reseñas

LR
7 de sep. de 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

SF
14 de abr. de 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 6,243 revisiones para The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

por Thiago F N

1 de feb. de 2020

HORRIBLE, SO DAMN BAD!

I've done over 50+ courses online from places like Coursera, edX,Udemy and I've never been across a course so bad like this one, the whole content could have been summarized and turned into a one week part inside another course.

And the robot voice?! Geez, I understand why, but don't, just don't, it makes us lose the interest in the course, thankfully I have other Data Science certifications and I could do all the tests, but damn, SO SO BAD!

por Dr. A D

20 de ago. de 2019

Very bad the videos. The automated voice is further disgusting. Further very few classmates so I really had to plead to get my assignments checked by peers and complete the course.

When I contacted the coursera support and asked for help in getting peer reviews they made a change and all my progress was lost. I had to get back again and they made my progress back again.

overall bad course and worse corsera support.

por Md. A

8 de jul. de 2020

It is irritating to hear computerized voice and also reading the files. as this is interactive learning place i do not want to read. Also I might read books reading Data Science Rather than listening your computerized voice or your lecture. So i suggest, for improving learning experience, lectures should be classified in two categories. Dynamic lectures should be tought by Human.

por Jeff L

9 de may. de 2020

I appreciate the thought process behind the automation, but there's no way I'm sitting through that monotonous robot voice. I can just get a textbook and read it cover to cover for that sort of education, and I greatly prefer that over listening to that droning voice.

por Самойленко К В

8 de ene. de 2019

A lot of common information, no real examples. may be OK os introdaction, but for scilled student useless. Bunch of very short videos — I'd prefer to see it as a text tutorial

por Steve B

6 de jun. de 2018

There is imply not much substance here. Everything here can honestly be integrated into other courses or offered as a free overview course of what data science is.

por Marcelo S

8 de dic. de 2017

This course is more of an overview of what is to come. A lot of what is presented here could just be in the format of a word or PDF with a series of links.

por Howie Z

30 de mar. de 2020

It does nothing better than just a PDF file... I would appreciate if they actually provide a PDF file, so everything is integrated and no loading time.

por Rebecca S

13 de may. de 2020

Having an instructor narrate is extremely important in a course. The robot that is narrating makes the videos unwatchable.

por Ivan Y

26 de oct. de 2017

The course contains almost no valuable information. It is not required to spend 4 weeks for it.

por maryam A

21 de ago. de 2019

It is unbelievable how one can learn with this boring automatic course. I can not stand it!

por Mohammad A N I

8 de ene. de 2020

I do not like the voice in this course . I will can not continue the course .

por Brian D

7 de nov. de 2020

Automated voice was terrible. - I didn't even last through the first video.

por Ian H

12 de abr. de 2018

Terribly run waste of money! Better off going to Data Camp!

por Kishan S

5 de may. de 2018

It was useless for me; as i have used R studio previously

por eduardo

4 de oct. de 2018

Low quality, I didn't learn anything really.

por Steve Z J

28 de jun. de 2019

Bad course. All videos are machined read.

por Lia L

18 de feb. de 2019

I really don't like the automated videos.

por George K B

5 de ago. de 2018

A lot of information without practice

por jonathan s

16 de mar. de 2018

Seemed pretty useless to me

por Normand D

2 de dic. de 2015

I would like to report some major issues with the new interface.

1) We don't have access to the slides anymore. This is a major issues since some of the slides content important links. These links are not shown in the transcript (I've double checked).

2) When we try to download the videos, subtitles or transcript, the resulting file name is the same for all content of the same type. More specifically, all videos are named "index.mp4", all subtitle files are named "subtitles.vtt" and all transcript files are named "subtitle.txt". This makes it more difficult for the student to save the files. In the previous version I would only right-click and saved in the right directory. Now, I have to right click, type the right name (which could be long sometimes) and then save the file.

3) In the previous interface, it was possible to see all the threads we were subscribed to. It is no more the case. It is not a problem right now, because there is not a lot of posts, but in cases where the number of post increase, it will be a pain to go through the list of threads and find the ones of interest.

Please ignore the review for now, I couldn't submit my comments without reviewing the course.

More comments may follow later...

por Isheunoziva

5 de abr. de 2020

This is a recommended course for anyone serious with data science. It is highly accessible, especially for screen-reader users who may be comfortable taking lectures using text rather than videos. I was able to successfully complete assignments on my own without problems. However, the only setback I see with the course is its over-reliance on RStudio. While Rstudio is a great IDE for R programming, it is not yet fully accessible. So questions like, "Which quadrant is at the bottom right corner" are answered as a guess-work rather than full knowledge. I suggest that command-line options be considered as this is accessible for everyone. Thus, while the GUI option is left intact, there is need to also provide command-line alternative to accomplishing the same thing. Otherwise, this course is perhaps the best when it comes to introducing the concepts on data science.

por Chandra P

1 de mar. de 2018

The Professor's are just amazing in their knowledge. The slow bits of information and the way testing is done is so methodical and so well planned. If anybody says they are bored then I am sure they are bluffing, as I found out how enjoyable online learning can me. I am 40, working and a father of 2 children, time is scarce and this online way of learning with financial aid, I could not ask for anything more. Coursera is helping people like me find a hope of learning at their own pace, place and with their financial aid program helping poor people from developing countries like India see the light at the end of the tunnel. I really am indebted to Coursera for changing my life and helping me dream of a career transition even at this age, as in India if you tell anyone that you are studying at the age of 40, they would laugh and make fun of you.

por Ramalakshmanan S P

23 de feb. de 2016

I have completed the Data Scientist's Toolbox. I enjoyed learning this course. I learned a lot of new concepts, installation of R, R Studio, hands-on with these and GITHUB.

The lessons are well balanced and help me learn the concepts and the tool usage in a cool way. I liked the Quizzes, Assignments as these help me evaluate myself and instill confidence within me. Now, I've the confidence in work on any of these with certain amount of instructions.

However, I feel that certain guidance on progressing further with respect to R, RStudio, GITHUB could be provided as additional study material.

Thanks to Coursera for providing such a wonderful course and to Prof. Roger D. Peng, Jeff Leek and Brian D. Caffo for their meticulous effort in designing this course and helping in my learning.

Wishing my Professors and Coursera all the Success.

por Miguel C

10 de mar. de 2020

The course is really well organised and challenging.

It gives a good introduction to data science, as well as some currently relevant concepts related to it, such as machine learning and big data. I found it easy to understand and I enjoyed the pacing. Moreover, I really appreciated the time this course spends on teaching some of the basic tools that are needed in data analysis, namely R (and RStudio, R Markdown) and Github.

You are constantly challenged by small quizzes to make sure you really understood the material. They're not too complicated that you would get frustrated, but also not too obvious that you'd be bored by them, and more often than not you even learn other things from these quizzes.

I definitely learned a lot and would recommend it!