Chevron Left
Volver a Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos por parte de IBM

4.7
estrellas
1,119 calificaciones
174 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course covers some of the first steps in the development of data visualizations using spreadsheets and dashboards. Begin the process of telling a story with your data by creating the many types of charts that are available in spreadsheets like Excel. Explore the different tools of a spreadsheet, such as the important pivot function and the ability to create dashboards and learn how each one has its own unique property to transform your data. Continue to gain valuable experience by becoming familiar with the popular analytics tool - IBM Cognos Analytics - to create interactive dashboards. By completing this course, you will have a basic understanding of using spreadsheets as a data visualization tool. You will gain the ability to effectively create data visualizations, such as charts or graphs, and will begin to see how they play a key role in communicating your data analysis findings. All of this can be accomplished by learning the basics of data analysis with Excel and IBM Cognos Analytics, without having to write any code. By the end of this course you will be able to describe common dashboarding tools used by a data analyst, design and create a dashboard in a cloud platform, and begin to elevate your confidence level in creating intermediate level data visualizations. Throughout this course you will encounter numerous hands-on labs and a final project. With each lab, gain hands-on experience with creating basic and advanced charts, then continue through the course and begin creating dashboards with spreadsheets and IBM Cognos Analytics. You will then end this course by creating a set of data visualizations with IBM Cognos Analytics and creating an interactive dashboard that can be shared with peers, professional communities or prospective employers. This course does not require any prior data analysis, or computer science experience. All you need to get started is basic computer literacy, high school level math, access to a modern web browser such as Chrome or Firefox, the ability to create a Microsoft account to access Excel for the Web, and a basic understanding of Excel spreadsheets....

Principales reseñas

AO
9 de abr. de 2021

As an aspiring data analyst, this course gave me more information about what I am currently doing and after finishing this course I have learned a lot and gave me more interest to learn more.

GF
12 de sep. de 2021

i was impressed by cognos and in general the way you get into things with this course. i really like the approach methodology. final assignment was very interesting also.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 180 revisiones para Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos

por Bijan A

7 de jul. de 2021

Although the course has a lot to offer, but the outdated videos are hard to follow, because the IBM Cognos has changed some of the interfaces since the videos were created and it makes it very hard to follow as a hands on course to learn. The videos can also dramatically improve, by offering more examples, and also they were recorded like TV commercials, very fast moving on screens which they needed to be more gradual for the students to follow. Unfortunately the support for this course wasn't good at all, either the support personnel didn't have the inadept knowledge of the products specially IBM Cognos, or they refused to provide educational support to help us resolve problems. The support was more like the Uber support rather than the one expected from an organization like IBM.

Before taking this course I was so excited to learn all I could about the IBM Cognos. but I had to learn everything on my own at a very slower pace than I usually do. It is a shame that a course offered as part of a certification program which introduces a powerful tool which is also made by the same company, is butchered so badly .

Please review all the course materials and update them appropriately and hire some professional people with knowledge and patience to properly address the course shortcoming's which are a lot.

por Derek N

3 de may. de 2021

Nothing more than a hidden advertisement for IBM Cognos, and from what I saw, probably the only way to attract new users to it. Poorly finished product, inability to control critical elements of visualization. No PDF export, just to name one of many many aspects missing or poorly finished. The course work that relates to Cognos is little more than a run though of the 'features'. In the end you will not know how best to prepare your data for Cognos, but you will know how to generate a 1930' dashboard ... Fallout anyone?

por Andika N P

13 de dic. de 2021

This course is really good because it introduce me with powerful data visualization like IBM Cognos Analytics. But one thing to note that on week 3, the CSV file doesn't have the right data type when it gets uploaded to the Cognos Analytics. So, I have hard time to understand the instruction given in the Hand On Labs 4, 5, and 6. I hope this problem get fixed immediately. Overall, this course make me want to learn more about Cognos Analytics and other data visualization program.

por Yoscar O

5 de dic. de 2021

The course is great for getting started with data visualization with Excel and Cognos. It is pretty basic and mostly requires following prompts to complete assignments. I would recommend it for those unfamiliar. I would recommend the course instructors revise some of the assignment instructions. Placing instructions that will be graded in "Hint" notes doesn't seem right. I saw this trick a few peers when I did my reviews.

por Yusuf Z

29 de nov. de 2021

This course was really intuitive and needed less effort to get comfortable at. I love IBM courses because of their organized structure, brevity and problem centric nature of the labs and final assignment. I was a very great experience overall and that applies to all their courses I have taken so far.

I think the peer review sections after marking by the first reviewer should be cross-checked by at least one more reviewer.

por Jecris M

2 de may. de 2021

This course is really excellent and generous in allowing the students to use the IBM Cognos Visualization and Dashboard tool. The videos are also presented excellently and has a clear transcription. Honestly, I wish Kevin McFaul has more time to teach in the videos. More power to the team.

por Ivan L

23 de abr. de 2021

It was really interesting to get first insights of Cognos. Personally I believe it is an amazing tool. Will think how to use it in my daily business. From all of the courses in the program so far it was my favorite one.

Best regards

Ivan

por Kevin M G

2 de ene. de 2022

Will mainly be using Excel following this course, but using Cognos (and having a 90-day trial!) was really cool! That web program can do some pretty awesome things! Glad to have had some experience with it, may help down the road!

por Mohammad O F

14 de sep. de 2021

Excellent resources by mentors, Beautifully explained every aspects of Excel and Cognos visualization including clear and concise details with basics... I am grateful to mentors and many many thanks to my mentors here..

por SILVIA V S C

18 de abr. de 2021

Excelente curso, te lleva de la mano, una breve retroalimentación de Tablas dinamias y Dashboard en Excel y el uso de la plataforma de IBM, Cognos, muy recomendable el curso... GRACIAS IBM y COURSERA

por Arbee O

10 de abr. de 2021

As an aspiring data analyst, this course gave me more information about what I am currently doing and after finishing this course I have learned a lot and gave me more interest to learn more.

por George F

13 de sep. de 2021

i was impressed by cognos and in general the way you get into things with this course. i really like the approach methodology. final assignment was very interesting also.

por Claudio F S

26 de jul. de 2021

E​xcellent!

I​ had never worked with a cloud Business Analytics tool. It was a great experience and thanks for the opportunity offered by Coursera and IBM.

por Vijayakumar M

25 de may. de 2021

Great start to have a chance to see the world of visualization with step-by-step process and guidance to create our own dashboard. Thanks for the course.

por Adnan X

17 de sep. de 2021

Very well structured and well define in terms of course design. Learn a lot of new skilled and gain a great deal of knowledge regarding data analysis.

por Mohit

30 de jun. de 2021

Amazing course for visualization and dashboard with Excel and cognos .. Well explained and everything in a systemtic way...I loved this course .

por Sampson A I

2 de ago. de 2021

A very interesting and well planned and taught course on modern and easy to navigate techniques (Cognos) for Data Analysis and Visualization.

por Ajay N

17 de oct. de 2021

One of the best course so far. This was my first experience with IBM Cognos Analytics. Very intuitive and interesting analytics platform.

por Adib B

16 de ago. de 2021

Thanks Coursera for providing this condition for all Enthusiasts

Special thanks to IBM for providing this course in the best possible way

por Manoj M

29 de mar. de 2021

Very useful course to learn the different data visualization charts using Excel and also to create dashboards using IBM Cognos tool.

por Fikri

19 de sep. de 2021

Great course, but more exercises and hands-on are appreciated. Course tutors explain them very thoroughly and easy to understand.

por Anup M

20 de ago. de 2021

It was the nice course with real time assignments which makes this course so interactive. I am fully satisfied with the content.

por Mxolisi N

7 de nov. de 2021

From knowing nothing about Cognos Analytics, this course empowered me greatly in a short space of time. I highly recommend it.

por Todd C

21 de oct. de 2021

Excellent stuff. Couple of differences between the material and latest version of the applications, but not really an issue.

por tendai m

16 de may. de 2021

Excellent course. It helped clarify about Pivot Tables and Charts which is super useful. IBM Cognos seems quite handy too!