Chevron Left
Volver a Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau por parte de Universidad de California, Davis

4.5
estrellas
5,598 calificaciones
1,292 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this first course of this specialization, you will discover what data visualization is, and how we can use it to better see and understand data. Using Tableau, we’ll examine the fundamental concepts of data visualization and explore the Tableau interface, identifying and applying the various tools Tableau has to offer. By the end of the course you will be able to prepare and import data into Tableau and explain the relationship between data analytics and data visualization. This course is designed for the learner who has never used Tableau before, or who may need a refresher or want to explore Tableau in more depth. No prior technical or analytical background is required. The course will guide you through the steps necessary to create your first visualization from the beginning based on data context, setting the stage for you to advance to the next course in the Specialization....

Principales reseñas

DA

24 de ago. de 2020

Am glad I learnt a lot from this module, which I know will sharpen my skills for my chosen career path as a data scientist. Am hoping to learn more new skills to improve on my already existing skills.

HR

1 de may. de 2017

Amazing course, amazing instructors and assignments. I really enjoyed working with Tableau.\n\nYou may experience some confusion for some assignments but don't worry! Just use the discussion boards :)

Filtrar por:

1226 - 1250 de 1,293 revisiones para Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau

por Chen M

24 de ago. de 2019

It unconvenient to fly from one link to another link. not well-organized, need more practive not just answer those questions to pass the test.

por Bruno F

26 de dic. de 2017

The subject is great, but the materials are scattered and the peer evaluation assignments are holding me from completing the course.

por Jim S

19 de ago. de 2017

Very, very basic. Information presented is good but I would recommend skipping if you're adding a BI tool to an existing skillset.

por Prasang G

25 de feb. de 2021

This course is just basic, like just an overview of Tableau. The teachings are simple, peer review assignments ae just of no use.

por Chris M

28 de jul. de 2019

Some good resources provided, but too high level. Looking forward to more detail in the next courses.

por S.Sai R S S

11 de jun. de 2020

There is not much Depth even in the topics covered in this course !!

por Beverly F

28 de ago. de 2019

I thought this would be a class to learn Tableau. it wasn't.

por Elizabeth N

19 de feb. de 2021

I wish it focused more on the technical aspect of tableau

por Seho L

22 de ene. de 2020

Material is too scattered and I didn't learn much.

por Kevin M

8 de jul. de 2019

Assignments were way too easy and tedious.

por Monserrat A R

12 de may. de 2020

mucho mas básico de lo que me imaginaba

por John L C

14 de ene. de 2022

The course was one of the best I've taken online in quite some time.

It was great until the last part of the final project. I'm glad I enjoyed the actual project and spent the time to work on a visualization I found interesting and relevant.

Requiring a social media post with a hashtag was a total boondoggle to get more instances of SM about the course out there. Very happy to know that I get a point or not (of 9) just for using a url shortener in a twitter post. Explain to me how that's relevant to Tableau, data or visualizations?

You're graded ultimately on following instructions for a twitter post. Initially disappointing, it's now just irritating and I've lost interest.

I suggest taking the course and skipping the SM post and final grading. It's unfortunate that they did such a shoddy, self-serving job on that last part. It would have been nice to grade and be graded on what was taught.

por Bob T

12 de jun. de 2021

The first part seemed very amateurish. One part included listening to a podcast interview for half an hour. During the short demonstrations, the demonstrator moved quickly, saying what they were trying to accomplish but without explaining HOW they were doing those things (items like the need to right-click versus double click). The project involves reading through a website filled with other people's reports, picking one at random, and then remaking the report to your best guess with no grading criteria and no explanation of the underlying data.

As a professor, I've been doing course development for a while. I really cannot recommend this course to anyone.

This does not appear to be about Tableau but, instead, is a generic discussion of data visualizations that happens to use Tableau as example software. Even then, it is poorly executed.

por Vikas C

22 de jun. de 2022

I am a student of Rajiv Gandhi Technical University in India and I want to pursue this course but cannot afford it right now as I'm a student and don't have enough money. I really need this certificate for my course in my university for my learning purpose.this cource is needed for the good grades and good placement as well and I really need to do this. I cannot afford for this course that's why I want to request for a financial aid so that I will be able to complete this course and get a certificate for HSK1. This course will also help me to develop my skills in programming language and thus I need to do this as soon as possible for the placement department to look into. This certificate is highly needed for me to qualify a cource in my university. So I request you to grant me this aid.

por Adrienn P

5 de mar. de 2021

One of the worst courses I've taken on Coursera so far.

It basically tells you how to download and install Tableau, then some very very basic functionalities. Then the final assignment asks you to make an advanced visualisation. How? I don't know, no one in the course explains it.

Another thing I really didn't appreciate is that the course asks you to sign up for 4(!!!) external accounts, which for the purposes of learning the topic are totally unnecessary (they ask you to create a Google, Twitter and Data.world account next to registering to Tableau).

For those consious of data privacy, please be aware that without setting up an account on all of these platforms, assignments cannot be completed.

por Lara K

5 de dic. de 2021

T​here was a decent amount of introductory info in the lectures. Unfortunately, the main takeaway for me was irritation that (1) the technical Tableau demonstrations were very quick (with the screen in tiny font, so you can't see what the instructor was doing), (2) we were COMPLETELY unprepared for the homework assignment (producing a viz), and (3) the homework assignment required that you share your viz on Twitter, which I was not previously on and did not want to join. This course is the reason I will not be recommending this 5-course specialization to others.

por Zack W

26 de jul. de 2020

Not very informative, it would help a lot if there was some sort of standard dataset that was included with the course rather than picking your own, as the dataset I picked was not nicely formatted for use in Tableau (although I would've been fine making visualizations in Python/R/etc).

Final project requires you to post on Twitter. I do not have a Twitter, I do not want a Twitter, I don't understand what Twitter has to do with learning Tableau, therefore I did not finish the course.

por Larry C

16 de sep. de 2016

Very basic in terms of material covered. Would be nice as a free remedial class in prep for the main specialization. Homework assignments were confusing and did not appear to have been reviewed by the instructors before being sent to students (main problem, the free software students use was not the same version as that being used to develop the homework). Instructor support was not evident in the user forums. Below the quality of the free classes taken in the past.

por Peter C

7 de feb. de 2019

I thought the presentation was clear, the production was professional, and the instructors were solid. Unfortunately I felt the course had too much "fluff" and not enough functional/technical knowledge. Yes, there are interesting topics... but for a course titled, "fundamental of Visualization with TABLEAU," I expected a lot more of Tableau to be covered. All you get from this course is how to connect to data sources, which is intuitive to begin with. Disappointed.

por Ambarnil G

8 de ene. de 2022

Dear Desiree', I actually didn't feel it's necessary to post this viz in Twitter because it's already available for viewing in Tableau platform, it's kind of overuse of online resource! I wish this strange exam pass conditions will get improved over time. As currently I realized it's a strict rule for this exam I will leave this course for now. My final request is to please remove these online post/comments stuff from this exam if possible. All the best -AG

por Theodore B

18 de dic. de 2019

I think this course could use a real bump with instruction and content. I found Week 3 to be very repetitive for each "module". I am flat out disappointed and I wish I could get my money back. I shouldn't be able to breeze through this so quickly without really touching the tool before. Second - the Week 3 Peer Review assignment won't even work - I can't get TP to import it no matter how I try - Excel or sliced CSVs.

por Edward M

8 de jul. de 2019

This is really more of a fundamentals of visualisation than a Tableau course. Misleading title aside, the course left quite a bit to be desired and included peer-reviewed assignments which covered content not discussed in the course. Repeated attempts by participants to have the assignments updated and have gone unacknowledged for 2 years from when I took the course in June 2019.

por Jahanzaib Q

31 de mar. de 2021

Everything taught in this course could have been learnt for free from the Tableau training video. Also, the peer review grading system is absolutely bogus and no one deserves to have their work graded by an incompetent person who is clicking through your review without even looking at the work. On the plus side, you get a badge that you can add to your linkedin

por Karen V

30 de nov. de 2020

I was disappointed with the amount of time that was dedicated to teaching the actual basics of Tableau and basic data visualization best practices. Also, more emphasis was placed on using Twitter and connecting with the data viz community for the last project rather than focusing on the fundamentals of Tableau and visual design.

por luc m

6 de may. de 2020

Do not take this course. The material has little to do with the present version of Tableau. The data files provided by the instructors actually crashed the latest version of Tableau 2020.2

Furthermore most of the supporting material directs the student to the tutorials provided by Tableau.

This was an absolute waste of my time