Chevron Left
Volver a Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau por parte de Universidad de California, Davis

4.5
estrellas
5,597 calificaciones
1,292 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this first course of this specialization, you will discover what data visualization is, and how we can use it to better see and understand data. Using Tableau, we’ll examine the fundamental concepts of data visualization and explore the Tableau interface, identifying and applying the various tools Tableau has to offer. By the end of the course you will be able to prepare and import data into Tableau and explain the relationship between data analytics and data visualization. This course is designed for the learner who has never used Tableau before, or who may need a refresher or want to explore Tableau in more depth. No prior technical or analytical background is required. The course will guide you through the steps necessary to create your first visualization from the beginning based on data context, setting the stage for you to advance to the next course in the Specialization....

Principales reseñas

DA

24 de ago. de 2020

Am glad I learnt a lot from this module, which I know will sharpen my skills for my chosen career path as a data scientist. Am hoping to learn more new skills to improve on my already existing skills.

HR

1 de may. de 2017

Amazing course, amazing instructors and assignments. I really enjoyed working with Tableau.\n\nYou may experience some confusion for some assignments but don't worry! Just use the discussion boards :)

Filtrar por:

1101 - 1125 de 1,293 revisiones para Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau

por George P

14 de nov. de 2017

It was an overall good course but I give it an average rating because it had minimal content. In comparison there are other courses in coursera where there is much more work to do, as a chance to learn, much more content available and more interaction with the rest of the students. My best suggestion is to compress the material of this course to a single week to make more sense. This is very important to keep the quality of the coursera courses to a high level. Other than that it was a good experience

por Patrick H

18 de jun. de 2020

Everything was great about this course except the mandatory Twitter part. having to create a social media profile was a point of contention for me because I'm a private person and I had to take a separate class just to figure out how to use Twitter. if it is absolutely necessary then I recommend either that be mentioned up front so students can make an informed decision to enroll or not or that there be a general account on Twitter that every student can use.

por Drew S

10 de ene. de 2022

Learning material is great but I do have a problem with Courseras marketing tactics. and peer grading.

1. Peer grading, grading cant be changed by a teacher so if your submission is correct and you have idols grading you there is no recourse but to resubmit.

2. They made me post a chart to social media and without that submission I couldn't pass. So I'm paying you to let other people grade me and I'm providing you with free marketing.

por Mark A

13 de mar. de 2018

Tableau is the tool that's used, but this course focuses primarily on the concepts needed to build visualizations. Very little direct application (i.e. opportunity to practice in Tableau). As it's advertised as a Tableau course (it's in the name), I would have preferred more hands on and course directed opportunity to apply lessons (vs. only being lectured on how to do it).

And the guest instructor is not an adept teacher.

por Dennis M

30 de jun. de 2017

I felt the course was too basic and introductory. I think it would be better packed as an intro week to a more in depth data viz or Tableau courses instead of a stand alone course. For someone with absolutely zero knowledge of data viz or Tableau, I'm sure this course will be great, but from anyone with even a little knowledge, it's too simple. However, the instructors are engaging and the material is good for what it is.

por Juliane E

24 de feb. de 2022

The course itself was good so far, but I don't understand why you need a social media account to pass the course and you need to be able to use hashtags and short links. This definitely has nothing to do with the skills in Tableau. In addition, there are no responses from moderators to posts in the forum. I know that differently from other courses.​...

por Adam K

6 de nov. de 2016

Good for what it is: a rock-bottom basic introduction. I would have appreciated more technical instruction in how to create complex, involved visualizations and less philosophizing and design ethos. A better name might have been "What is Data Visualization? A Course In Tableau For Non-Professionals" or something like that.

por Foaad I

11 de feb. de 2021

Peer grading assignments are a headache because some learners do not follow instructions and there is insufficient supervision from the teaching team. I asked questions in the forum about the recordings and how the instructor added additional features between two consecutive videos but no body responded.

por Spencer H

13 de may. de 2022

Had to wait 4 days before I could move on because of peer graded assignments. Submitted the same assignment 4 times without making any changes and received 4 different scores. Apparently some of my "peers" believed I was not making a tweet correctly and it was very frustrating.

por Oleksii D

20 de mar. de 2019

Data visualization context was useful, as well as interview with Shneiderman and link to his book on user interfaces design, otherwise this would be a 2 star, as the rest of the videos could be used directly from Tableau site.

Do not recommend to anybody familiar with excel.

por Lydia D

20 de mar. de 2018

Good introduction to data viz principles if you are new to that. There are more compelling introductions (i.e., Cole Nussbaumer, Stephanie Evergreen). I was anticipating more step by step walkthroughs of visualization in Tableau.

por Marcello B

24 de feb. de 2019

I expected it to be more complete. Some ideas and the framing of the visual data analysis theme are interesting, but I expected to learn more in a 4-week course. The first peer-valuation task was simple but explained unclearly.

por Jaehoon L

25 de nov. de 2020

Goes into very basics of Tableau. I wish it had cover more technical features of Tableau. The course could include step-by-step sample report instructions which would show the students how certain Tableau features work.

por Svetlana L

14 de feb. de 2017

No engagement from faculty, if you have questions regarding anything in the course, no one will answer them. Unclear and incomplete instructions for assignments. Overall, probably my worst experience with Coursera.

por Mike

2 de jun. de 2020

None of the references reading materials are listed. No responses from course moderators in the Q&A section. Assignment in the third week was extremely unclear, as evidenced by the comments left by students.

por LeRoux T

12 de feb. de 2018

A good introduction although a lot of "soft skill" development that I was familiar with and wanted to spend more time using the actual software. But good for building the foundation of visualizations.

por Gaurav k J

1 de mar. de 2019

Mostly theory and seems somewhat repetitive. However the course is important with regards to presentation of visualisations.

Hoping to learn much more from the other courses in the specialisation.

por Jennifer C

24 de ene. de 2018

Good introductury class into what Tableau is and how it works. However, the pace of the classes was a little bit slow, and the readings were somewhat dry and longer than the videos.

por Jayson J

26 de abr. de 2019

Very repetitive, but gives some good basic concepts. Needs the course videos reviewed, as discuss that he will cover the Who, What and How, but then does not do it. Not terrible

por Peter H

15 de ago. de 2021

The speaker was very hard to understand. In direct comparison to the next course it was strenous to follow her. The explanation what to should be more concise.

por Tiopan S

22 de mar. de 2022

i​t is better if students are provided with the handout, how to operate the tableu step by step from the very basic and produce certain output, in this level.

por Gokul P

7 de jun. de 2022

This was an okay course. It was mostly theory and would suggest to take a course on Youtube. For certificate purpose this is good otherwise it is all basic

por Vivek G

10 de may. de 2019

I wish this course had more interactive exercises and had more tutorials about the different types of visualizations and when and where they are used.

por Alexandra R

13 de jun. de 2019

While nice, it was super basic and there was little hands on experience. I audited this course. I would have been disappointed if I had payed for it.

por Maimoon S

22 de feb. de 2018

I took only this course. I wanted the course to go into more detail about using Tableau. Maybe this is what the complete specialization is for.