Chevron Left
Volver a Data Science Math Skills

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Data Science Math Skills por parte de Universidad Duke

4.5
estrellas
10,447 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Principales reseñas

VS

22 de sep. de 2020

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

VC

16 de may. de 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filtrar por:

151 - 175 de 2,334 revisiones para Data Science Math Skills

por Eduardo C

27 de abr. de 2021

buen curso para recordar y aprender los conceptos que se ven en estadística básica, y algunos temas que en su momento se vieron de manera muy extensa y ahora se ven de manera resumida y aplicada , de manera resumida.

por Alice

6 de sep. de 2020

It was delightful. I think this was a great introductory course. I still had to go on for more learning material for the harder topics, but the structure of the course really provided the backbone on what to learn.

por Aldrich W

13 de jul. de 2020

Maybe the first three chapters are a little bit easy; but the fourth chapter is challenging. This is my very first Coursera course, and I have learned a lot. Shout out to Prof. Daniel Egger and Prof. Paul Bendich!

por Alex A

13 de jun. de 2020

I was looking for a math class to refresh my math skills in preparation for getting into the field of Data Science and I am very glad that I found this course. It was well taught and very clear. Thank you so much.

por Sree B

12 de may. de 2021

This course really gives me the very good understanding about the basic concepts which are necessary in the field of Data Science. A must try course for all beginner level who are keen in learning Data science.

por Suparit S

19 de jul. de 2020

The course provides comprehensive basic math skills for the ones who might have forgotten all the maths they have learnt. Highly recommended for ones who wants to restart the math skills with clear intuition!

por Yasir M

13 de jul. de 2020

It was a good basic level course of math design by Duke University.I just say thanks to all of this course team and especially thanks to coursera for providing such a amazing opportunity to learn more skills.

por Hemali V

13 de sep. de 2020

It is an amazing course for everyone who want to learn Maths. after learning this basic math skill, i am capable to perform basic algorithms for Machine Learning.

It is very helpful course for me, Thank you!

por John M

21 de sep. de 2021

Excellent refresher on somewhat basic mathematical concepts, starting with assumption of zero knowledge and preparing the student to tackle higher level courses in probability, statistics, and data science.

por Miguel b

23 de dic. de 2021

G​reat Course! Review of introductory concepts, getting a little more challenging towards the las weeks. It was worth and it should not be scary. The intructors of the course are superb and easy to follow.

por Eloisa J R M

8 de jul. de 2020

If you have previous background is easier, but in Baye's theorem it was a little hard to understand it. Overall, it is an excellent course, but a little more explanations in Baye's theorem could be better.

por Muhammad H

26 de jun. de 2020

The course was really great. You could include some more offline practice questions with solutions for better practice at least 10 for each topic. Otherwise explanations were easy to understand and follow.

por Thomas G

5 de mar. de 2022

Very good instructors, good technical quality the presentation. The refresh of basic math concepts is helpful und the brief introduction to Bayesian statistics is one if the better that I've seen.

por Guido T G

17 de nov. de 2020

If you want to review and engage knowledge this course its a good reason for start the apllication of maths. The course have for you a good material and very good questions for real deep learning

por Weicheng(Will) H

12 de ago. de 2020

For the part of Bayes' theorem, I think the explanation is no clear or through enough. Maybe more break-down is necessary. And the other parts are really good. I really enjoy taking this course.

por Nikisha E

3 de ene. de 2021

I want to thank my educators for this wonderful job that they are doing.i have learn so much from you guys and i want to thank you all for your kind support in this data science maths skills.

por Abu I M S A

18 de oct. de 2020

This is a great course, many things are basic but I have learned those a long day ago. Some explanations are from different perspective than conventional. However, definitely a great course.

por veer

21 de jul. de 2020

A great foundation course for anybody whoose tryna find their feet in the excitng and vast world of data science,i learnt so many new things..it was truly an enriching experience.Thank you!!

por Altynay O

7 de jul. de 2020

My first course on Data Science and was happy to share this experience with Duke University. The course was informational, very resourceful and hopefully beneficial for my future endeavors.

por Kensuke I

30 de abr. de 2020

Good learning overall.

Some part are pretty easy, which I remember learning in junior high,

but some theorems are hard to apply.

Now I want to use these theory in real world and data science!

por Elisa M d M S C

11 de ene. de 2022

Uma grande e boa revisão de conceitos importantes para Data Science. Último módulo pobre em explicação para quem vem sem base em probabilidade, mas sintético para quem precisa só revisar.

por Bayu W

9 de jul. de 2020

I learned basic math of data science from based to Bayes' theorem. Lecturer explained material clearly and easy to understand. It helps me to start my journey in data science. Thank you.

por KESHA R

6 de jul. de 2020

The instructors for this course have a very calm, awesome demeanor. They are very confident and efficient in their methodology overall. This course has reawakened my desire for learning.

por Alieldin R

14 de oct. de 2019

The course was very good and well thought of, a great refresher for very important concepts, the instructors are very good at simplifying the material and making it very understandable.

por salim m

25 de dic. de 2020

This course gives a basic foundational math needed for machine learning at high level. I loved this course as the instructor kept it interesting problem solving quizzes gives hands on.