Chevron Left
Volver a Data Science Math Skills

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Data Science Math Skills por parte de Universidad Duke

4.5
estrellas
9,765 calificaciones
2,206 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Principales reseñas

VC
16 de may. de 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

RS
5 de may. de 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

Filtrar por:

176 - 200 de 2,203 revisiones para Data Science Math Skills

por Jenny F

11 de sep. de 2020

I wish I could learn more about data science since I really enjoyed this course. I have mathematics background because I'm an engineering graduate but this course taught me a lot!

por Luis A B

4 de ago. de 2021

The course is very good. Maybe more topics could be included. The videos would be better if direct writing is not used, sometimes it leads to confusion with letters and numbers.

por Shah M A R

16 de sep. de 2020

I never take MOOC training before,but after taking this course, i was really impressed .Now i highly recommended this course to every one who wish to increase mathemetical skills

por BERNARDO A M G

4 de jul. de 2020

Estoy muy contento, porque el curso me ha permitido crear una adecuada ruta de aprendizaje de las habilidades matemáticas que se requieren en la ciencia de datos. Muchas gracias

por Mohammad M U

25 de jun. de 2020

The course was important especially the topics of probability. The videos are very useful and I can easily followed the flow and topics of this course. Thank ypu for this course

por Rishwanth T

2 de nov. de 2020

Amazing course with great professors teaching it. The more and more I progressed with the course, I became more eager to learn the contents of the course. Overall, thanks Duke!

por William W d F

10 de oct. de 2017

Excelent course! I am studying at the Data Science Math Skills to fill some math gaps, and also doing the Data Scientist Toolbox . All of them are really great courses. Enjoy!

por Audrey T

2 de may. de 2021

This is helpful, it helps me a lot to improve my math skills and prepare for my future studies. The lecturers are patient and present the key knowledge in an interesting way.

por Chinmaya M

4 de ago. de 2020

The course is well structured and helps in acquiring the essential knowledge of mathematics for Data Science. Thanks Daniel Egger and Paul Bendich for this wonderful course.

por Benjamin M

26 de jul. de 2020

Both instructors we're awesome, it's easy to understand the distinction and level of knowledge in top professors at a top university like Duke. Really appreciate those dudes.

por Vineet K

3 de abr. de 2020

A very holistic course on mathematics required for machine learning. I hope the Probability bit could have been covered more in details. Also, very good on exercises as well.

por Ankur K

1 de mar. de 2018

It was wonderful course to do and content was good, but there are some improvement needed inside last chapter.

please add some more slides inside binomial and bayes ' theorems

por Deleted A

8 de jul. de 2017

A great introduction to the basic Mathematics skill needed to start Data Science Career. A must course for does not have the mathematics background required for Data Science.

por RISHU M

24 de may. de 2020

A must-have course for anyone who wants to start his/her career in data science. The probability module of this course is really helpful in solving many real-world problems.

por Olumuyiwa O

11 de abr. de 2020

It was excellently taught. I have not perfectly understood conditional probabilities but I am aware that it needs a lot of practice and study. Thank you for your knowledge.

por Tiago V

20 de sep. de 2017

Really good to remember some maths stuff and to learn and consolidate new maths stuff that I thought I knew (but actually only learnt about it in this course).

Great course

por Tony J A

20 de jul. de 2017

Really good course to get a understanding of the basic concepts required to start with data sciences. Teachers are excellent and the quizs and assignments are challenging.

por Irvin

18 de may. de 2020

Explanation and notes were very concise, although the learning curve for the probability portion is a little steep. Able to rewatch and google until you grasp the concept

por Sir P

7 de nov. de 2020

This course is really great! It helps me refresh my knowledge on basic math skills and have a further understanding of how to apply these concepts in real life scenario.

por Nakshatra G

15 de ene. de 2021

It is a great course to get knowledge of some important and very basic mathematics used in machine learning. It is a well-taught course. The instructors are very good.

por liqiang

13 de feb. de 2018

This should be my first most completed course on Coursera, although the last quiz overdue. Probability is hard to me, so I've learned a lot during this course, thanks!

por Ana P P D

27 de abr. de 2020

It has really helped me understand a lot of mathematical principles, however i think the explanations of the first professor were more understandable and easy to get.

por Aayesha A

24 de abr. de 2020

its very nice , amazing course

i have cleared my many concepts

requesting you to explain few more examples on joint probability and based on probability topic.

thank you

por SARATHKUMAR E

15 de abr. de 2020

Started from basic stuff but when things were getting interesting, the course got completed. Wish a few more topics should have been included in the probability topic

por SHIVASHISH P

27 de jun. de 2020

It is a course that led me to understand these topics from basics although I had studied all this but here it gives another dimension to my understanding. Thank you!