Chevron Left
Volver a Essential Design Principles for Tableau

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Essential Design Principles for Tableau por parte de Universidad de California, Davis

4.5
estrellas
1,560 calificaciones
249 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course, you will analyze and apply essential design principles to your Tableau visualizations. This course assumes you understand the tools within Tableau and have some knowledge of the fundamental concepts of data visualization. You will define and examine the similarities and differences of exploratory and explanatory analysis as well as begin to ask the right questions about what’s needed in a visualization. You will assess how data and design work together, including how to choose the appropriate visual representation for your data, and the difference between effective and ineffective visuals. You will apply effective best practice design principles to your data visualizations and be able to illustrate examples of strategic use of contrast to highlight important elements. You will evaluate pre-attentive attributes and why they are important in visualizations. You will exam the importance of using the "right" amount of color and in the right place and be able to apply design principles to de-clutter your data visualization....

Principales reseñas

SL
1 de jun. de 2020

This course really changed my perspective in how to create visualization not just using Tableau but in every visualization application. I'm very happy I could take it and learned from it.

VL
10 de mar. de 2018

The course uncovers the science of the design for data. It is certainly very helpful for my job where have to present a lot of data in different perspectives for senior management.

Filtrar por:

226 - 248 de 248 revisiones para Essential Design Principles for Tableau

por Carlos S

28 de mar. de 2018

its still quite basic, not many Tableau training. But i

por Radosław K

30 de ene. de 2018

Theory, theory and once again theory ...

por Gail N

24 de mar. de 2017

Content is excellent, support is not.

por Nino M

30 de jun. de 2019

More practice would be helpful

por LUIS G

2 de ene. de 2018

very subjective section.

por Ted L

12 de jun. de 2020

I enjoyed visualization until I took this course. This is the worst Coursera course I have taken so far. Though course contents were good, the course was super disorganized. Tableau version used in videos was from several years ago, so it can be confusing if you try to follow along with current version. Many reading materials mentioned in video could not be found in Resources area, but showed up in quizzes; same goes for other sample data (such as Anscombe Quartet data). Week 3 video referred to Cholera map presented in a prior week, but that material was not presented in week 1 or 2. Quiz answers referred to wrong modules to review. Finally, steps for Tableau Desktop installation provided in the course no longer works (and took a lot of googling to find the right method). Overall, the bad product experience took so much away from the course materials, I would not recommend this course.

por Kelly D

29 de sep. de 2017

I was initially disappointed by the focus on design principles with a limited emphasis on implementing these principles in Tableau. However, I realized that the structure of this course and its focus on Gestalt Principles and leveraging pre-attentive attributes were valuable. The problem was that each weekly module concludes with a quiz, but there's only one peer graded assignment for the whole class. That assignment includes instructions like "use one of the 9 design principles in a visualization that…". If the course was restructured so that there were a peer graded assignment to build a tableau visualization at the end of each weekly module it would have been much better.

por David S

7 de ene. de 2017

No Feedback from quizes, it doesn't even show you what you have answered, makes it very tedious to study the material. I like the questions during the video, that is an addition that ought to be used more often, because it forces you to remember and learn faster.

por Thomas L

29 de ago. de 2019

Some concepts were explained poorly (e.g. Gestalt principles, pre-attentive attributes). Peer review was frustrating - easy to fail the week 4 assignment due to the 5-point rating scale for some parts, which invites reviewers to deduct points arbitrarily.

por Jennifer C

16 de feb. de 2018

A lot of the material covered in this session was common sense. I also didn't learn any valuable skills that will help me design Tableau dashboards

por Mike M

2 de ago. de 2017

The peer graded assignment is far to volatile in this context. It should either be graded binary (done / not done) or done by staff....

por Bryant R

2 de nov. de 2017

It feels like the video tutorials were rushed and hard to follow this time.

por Luis M M J

25 de ene. de 2017

All it's about visual design. I was expecting more deep on tableau usage.

por Pritish M

6 de may. de 2020

Week 4 was too theoretical and boring

por Nicoletta P

28 de ago. de 2020

Very basic course about visualization best practices, more focus on the psychology of visualizations than on Tableau. Since it's less detailed than course 1 in the specialization, it should be put as an introductory course and summarized.

In addition the few Tableau examples in the course are:

> inconsistent: Week 3 videos on Superstore Dataset should be shown before Week 2 videos, since in Week 2 videos you need to use a calculated field (Profit Ratio), but the explanation on how to create it is in Week 3

> not well explained: in Week 3 a few new interesting Tableau concepts are introduced (e.g., parameter, calculated fields, control charts...), however the explanation is very fast and you can hardly follow what the teacher is doing. You end up copy pasting formulas, while nobody explains you why that is the right formula

por Svetlana C

6 de sep. de 2020

I'm disappointed with the course. I'm sure there are a lot of theories to be tackled with data viz, however, this course is too long and too repetitive for me. I think a lot of the topics can be condensed in two weeks only. Moreover, demo videos is difficult to follow in terms of audio and video matching together and the explanation itself. I was struggling to figure out why it should be done like that, how to do it, and how can we use it in the future. For someone who is working and doing this specialization, course 2 is too dragging for me and I felt that I wasted a lot of my time.

por yaoyaoholiday

4 de may. de 2019

Too much psychology theory part. I want to learn Tableau rather than how System I or System II works in my brain. I read Kahneman's book when I have leisure time, but I don't want to do such multiple choice problems in a computer class.

por Muhammad S

18 de sep. de 2019

This is completely theoretical. It would be better to include some practical work at the end of every week. It's completely boring. Try to include practical contents.

por Florian B

14 de jun. de 2020

I came here to learn how to use Tableau. This course didn't teach me much in Tableau - instead, it was packed with design theory that isn't very useful in practice.

por Jacob G

26 de jun. de 2019

Quiz references readings that are not listed anywhere in the module. Content of videos is helpful but the arrangement of this course is poor

por Zhang M

30 de dic. de 2018

The over-emphasization of theory and lack of application in this module made me feel sick.

por Shaurya K

16 de jul. de 2020

Taking too long for peer graded assignment to be checked. Vey disappointing.

por khaled P

12 de sep. de 2019

It is more about THeory and they did not explain Tableau