Chevron Left
Volver a Essential Design Principles for Tableau

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Essential Design Principles for Tableau por parte de Universidad de California, Davis

4.5
estrellas
1,533 calificaciones
245 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course, you will analyze and apply essential design principles to your Tableau visualizations. This course assumes you understand the tools within Tableau and have some knowledge of the fundamental concepts of data visualization. You will define and examine the similarities and differences of exploratory and explanatory analysis as well as begin to ask the right questions about what’s needed in a visualization. You will assess how data and design work together, including how to choose the appropriate visual representation for your data, and the difference between effective and ineffective visuals. You will apply effective best practice design principles to your data visualizations and be able to illustrate examples of strategic use of contrast to highlight important elements. You will evaluate pre-attentive attributes and why they are important in visualizations. You will exam the importance of using the "right" amount of color and in the right place and be able to apply design principles to de-clutter your data visualization....

Principales reseñas

SL

Jun 02, 2020

This course really changed my perspective in how to create visualization not just using Tableau but in every visualization application. I'm very happy I could take it and learned from it.

VL

Mar 11, 2018

The course uncovers the science of the design for data. It is certainly very helpful for my job where have to present a lot of data in different perspectives for senior management.

Filtrar por:

126 - 150 de 245 revisiones para Essential Design Principles for Tableau

por Koh G

Aug 20, 2019

Good course

por Nitin K

Nov 28, 2018

nice course

por Robert D

Jan 06, 2020

Thank you!

por Gregory R G J

Dec 30, 2018

Thumbs Up!

por Ahmed T

May 31, 2017

Amazing :)

por MUTHUKRISHNAN P

Apr 28, 2020

EXCELLENT

por Mr. J

Oct 01, 2019

Top Notch

por Jaspreet k

Oct 16, 2017

excellent

por negar h

Dec 21, 2016

Great one

por Гарамжав

Oct 31, 2018

Nice one

por Ajith K

May 18, 2017

good one

por Irvin Y D M

Apr 29, 2018

Great

por Jerald K K l

May 10, 2020

Good

por HRISHABH R K

May 01, 2020

good

por Hussain M I

Jan 13, 2020

good

por rahul k

Jul 23, 2019

good

por Maninder P S

May 27, 2018

Nice

por Luca N

May 24, 2017

The course does a great job in introducing the (neuro)science behind visual perception. It explains concepts like Gestalt Principles, Cognitive Load and Clutter, and how to leverage them in creating/improving a Viz.

In the second part, it covers Exploratory analysis and how to design a successful Viz relative to the audience, by considering static and interactive visuals.

I have particularly appreciated two parts:

1. Gestalt principles. They are easy to grasp yet powerful.

2. Outliers and how to make Control charts.

The following could have been improved:

1. For some topics there is too much repetition without providing deeper/additional content (e.g. Gestalt principles);

2. For some topics there is too little practice (e.g. in module 4 about design, and training with gestalt principles other than colour or proximity).

por kefei m

Sep 11, 2020

# Good:

+ The structure of the curriculum is very clear and well designed.

+ The content is very relevant to data viz. (design principles should always be the first course to learn)

+ For those assignment rely on peer-review, the waiting time to get review is reasonable (less than 2 days, mostly in 1 day.)

# Things to improve:

+ There is a gap between material taught and the homework assignment. (And I understand that this course focus on design principles instead of actual application on tableau). So, sometimes it brings frustration.

# Tips:

+ Post on the forum to ask cohort for peer-review. It speeds up the peer-review process.

+ Some techniques required to finish the homework might not mention in the lectures. Check the forum to find hint left by former students.

por Dr R D

Oct 16, 2020

Great course - though I think Week 4 assignment could have better worded questions for the grading. E.g. is it important to stick to the brief and only use sales data? or does exploring other metrics mean that credit should be given to a more in depth data exploration? Or because this clutters the viz, should that be penalised as the Sales Manager likes simple visualisations?

por Vikas J

Oct 02, 2019

Well, structured course as knowing the fundamentals is essential for future buildup and implementation. However, a few things we're hard to follow as the presentation was in old tableau, and we are current newer and better versions.

We need more examples to play around and get the hang of the software.

por Maria M S

Sep 18, 2020

Great courses. Sufficient practice, and the quiz itself really challenges our understanding. Final project is fun. Not a great option for those who want to learn the technical skill, but suitable for those who has bad sense at visualization (such as me) to understand how we should design chart.

por Swati M

Jun 29, 2020

The course is very good. The only thing I felt that there could be a case study at the end of each week to do the practice. We can find a lot of case study but practicing that at the initial level don't make us feel if we are doing it or analyzing it correctly.

por Oksana S

Oct 12, 2020

This course is rather theoretical one than to practice with Tableau. Nevetherless, it covers really important principles that should be known and used while working with data visualization regardless the tool which is used.

por Marcello B

Mar 17, 2019

A valued view of the necessary principels to build a professional data visualization. Few Tableau, a lot of theory, but here it's necessary to leverage Tableau in the next courses of the specialization.