Chevron Left
Volver a Essential Design Principles for Tableau

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Essential Design Principles for Tableau por parte de Universidad de California, Davis

4.5
estrellas
1,533 calificaciones
245 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course, you will analyze and apply essential design principles to your Tableau visualizations. This course assumes you understand the tools within Tableau and have some knowledge of the fundamental concepts of data visualization. You will define and examine the similarities and differences of exploratory and explanatory analysis as well as begin to ask the right questions about what’s needed in a visualization. You will assess how data and design work together, including how to choose the appropriate visual representation for your data, and the difference between effective and ineffective visuals. You will apply effective best practice design principles to your data visualizations and be able to illustrate examples of strategic use of contrast to highlight important elements. You will evaluate pre-attentive attributes and why they are important in visualizations. You will exam the importance of using the "right" amount of color and in the right place and be able to apply design principles to de-clutter your data visualization....

Principales reseñas

SL

Jun 02, 2020

This course really changed my perspective in how to create visualization not just using Tableau but in every visualization application. I'm very happy I could take it and learned from it.

VL

Mar 11, 2018

The course uncovers the science of the design for data. It is certainly very helpful for my job where have to present a lot of data in different perspectives for senior management.

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 245 revisiones para Essential Design Principles for Tableau

por Julia T

Jun 05, 2017

A

por Todd T

Apr 17, 2017

Great course; only limited by the requirement for peers to review the assigned visualization to complete the course. Although I turned my assignment in well-ahead of the due date/time, I had to transfer to the following class because I could not get the required peer reviews (2) prior to the course closing, despite multiple requests in the discussion forum for assistance.

por Nicole B

Sep 30, 2020

Good content on Gestalt and other factors that impact how a visualization is received; however, the instructors didn't take the time to teach HOW they were getting certain results, which seems odd for a Tableau course. I wish they had broken down how they were arriving at different visual effects instead of whipping through and solely concentrating on the theories.

por Mark A

Mar 13, 2018

Would like more practical application of lessons in Tableau (vs almost entirely principles/theory), particularly with the guest instructor, who is very knowledgeable but only lectures. I got bored listening to lecture after lecture without doing anything or course directed application of what is taught.

por Lindsay J

Jan 09, 2019

Good course, but would have preferred clearer step-by-step instruction on Tableau. Honestly, that was the weakest part. The instructor did not explain where he was clicking, moved around quickly, like a Tableau expert. I had to look it up online and in my personal "Practical Tableau" book.

por Joan C

Jun 25, 2020

I'm not from a sales background. It might be just me, but i had to learn what is profit ratio, trends and whether my calculations were actually done correctly and in the right context. Having a couple of scenarios where it can be applicable to real life work would be better.

por Deaglan D

Sep 02, 2017

This course starts out really strong, but around Design Best Practices, the Govind begins to sound drunk. He slurs, exaggerates, repeats himself, and takes longer than necessary to execute tasks. This is distracting and very disappointing from UC Davis and Coursera.

por Dennis M

Jul 03, 2017

Nice overview of design best practices and some more basic usage of Tableau. However, my problem with the courses in this specialization is that the material is quickly becoming repetitive. Instead of the courses building on each other, they repeat prior material.

por Erin R

Jan 03, 2018

A good course if you're looking at design principles as they apply to any visualization, data specific or otherwise. There is, however, minimal practical applications within Tableau itself. This could easily fit into a graphic design or Excel specialization.

por Sudha S

Jul 25, 2020

Although it is a part of the tableau specialisation, the course focus is more on design principles rather than anything to do with Tableau. Definitely interesting, but might be better to rename the course so learners know what they are signing up for!

por Shubham A

Apr 27, 2018

Course is great but peer review is horrible. Clearly a professional is needed to review the work in the end. My marks were reduced because peer reviewers couldn't understand how to make visualization effective and show data without any bias.

por Amy D

Jul 01, 2019

The course is very theoretical and provides great articles and for great discussion. I was hoping for more interaction, and I'd also like more video content with fewer introductions. The music gets very annoying.

por Jose D L C

May 03, 2018

While the theories and concepts were good and made sense there was not enough practical content to be able to cement these ideas, meaning there is extra effort on having to retain these concepts.

por Devin Z

Sep 12, 2019

Instructions for the final assignment should be more specific since I had to resubmit it multiple times before someone left feedback about using the profit ratio to gain full points

por Corey G

Feb 06, 2017

The assignment for week 2 should have been the last assignment in this sequence and was not clearly explained or taught in the videos.

por Lin Y

Aug 18, 2019

This course is alright, straightforward but un-surprising. Need more course material on HOW to use Tableau's functions.

por sebastian s v

Aug 06, 2017

I would like to have more additional material to read..i think the videos are not enougth

por Méliani

May 02, 2017

A littler redundant when you compare it to the previoud courses.

The map part is good.

por Drew O

Feb 06, 2017

This course is only useful if you have no experience visualizing data.

por Andrew A

Mar 13, 2020

Good backgrounder, but should have incorporated Tableau a bit more.

por Laurent B

Feb 20, 2020

I think the course must be more practical and less theoretical.

por Ponciano R

Mar 12, 2019

Good for an introductory course, needs more practice exercises.

por Carlos S

Mar 29, 2018

its still quite basic, not many Tableau training. But i

por Radosław K

Jan 30, 2018

Theory, theory and once again theory ...

por Gail N

Mar 24, 2017

Content is excellent, support is not.