Chevron Left
Volver a Designing the Organization: From Strategy to Organizational Structure

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Designing the Organization: From Strategy to Organizational Structure por parte de Universidad de Illinois en Urbana-Champaign

4.5
757 calificaciones
126 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

In this course you will understand how firms are organized, what factors must be taken into account in making critical design decisions, and what role managers play in making these choices. In order to answer these questions, we will first develop a conceptual process model that links business models, external and internal contingencies, and organizational design. Second, we will focus on the fundamental principles of organization design and what alternative design choices are available for managers. Finally, we will apply these concepts and ideas to organizational situations to develop the critical insights and decision making skills to build effective organizations. Learners: • Will understand how managers create value through their organizations • Will have a good understanding of the fundamental principles and factors important to organizational design • Will be able to design the coordination, control, and performance measurement systems to manage an organization. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Principales revisiones

WR

Jun 26, 2019

I really learnt many useful things and skills by this course. Really thanks your Coursera team for giving us this chance to complete our education while sitting at home. THANKS!

LA

Jul 16, 2017

Professor Leblebici is incredible teacher, and the Courses' materials are so powerful, and very important to learn how to implement them almost in any type of business!

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 125 revisiones para Designing the Organization: From Strategy to Organizational Structure

por Neil M

Oct 12, 2019

A good course with excellent lectures. I learnt a lot in the course and would highly recommend it.

por Deepjyoti R

Nov 08, 2019

The subject was a bit dry. The delivery of the content can be made a little more fun.

por Matthew M

Nov 11, 2019

A lot of learning from videos and readings, not much learning from live sessions, in my opinion.

por Umang N

Nov 13, 2019

Course is detailed oriented but mostly useful for the people who are very new to middle management.

por Ike S

Oct 02, 2017

I do like the contents, however I personally had a hard time listening to the instructor. The way he speaks is really slow with sudden pauses, so I had to speed it up to 1.5 or 1.75 and that helped a little bit.

por Sergio O

Dec 11, 2017

Expected more details, examples on how to "hands on" design and organization. In my opinion. too much focus on large corporations and almost none on medium size, or small companies that may be facing growth or redesign issues.

por Ileana D

Jun 06, 2017

There is a lot of complicated terminology in this course, the content is very interesting and new to me but I find hard to apply these theories in actual business situations.

por Dimitrije J

Jan 30, 2017

Interesting case studies, but very uninteresting professor.

por Anton F

Oct 17, 2016

very useful content, great readings, but total lack of peer-to-peer engagement. It's like reading a book: nice but not up to industry best practices. Overall, the course is lower quality than the ones before from Gregory Northcraft. Another problem with this specific course is word hunting in quizzes. The ones for case studies are especially tricky.

por Jeff C

Apr 18, 2018

A little too much theory and not enough in applied day-to-day situations that managers will face.

por Jason B

Apr 18, 2018

Many concepts came across as too abstract and would have benefited from more concrete supporting examples. Newer relevant examples would also be useful to update content in sections like the music business module, etc.

por Rishika G

Nov 08, 2017

I found the course very generic and could not meet my expectations.

por Vikash P

Jun 26, 2016

The course lacks coherence which comes as a big disappointment as it follows two excellent modules by Greg Northcraft.

por Sheila

Feb 04, 2018

I didn't find the peer review assignments helpful. Overall, the lectures were adequate.

por Roger

Jul 24, 2016

Just taking part of the course material was rewarding. A good basic introduction to Organization Design. Looking forward to the next step in Designing the Organization

por Roisi P

Oct 28, 2016

The course was interesting, but unfortunately it really felt like it was tailored to a male audience. The metaphors, examples (ie "surely you've taken part in team sports like American Football") and tone really made it feel like the course was aimed not at me, but at men. As a woman in an industry dominated by men, this was disappointing because I don't believe that I am any less deserving of a place at the top table, but this course made me feel like those kind of jobs weren't for me. I would prefer it if the course leaders would take the time to look at the content of this and other iMBA courses and ensure that the content takes on a more neutral tone, to make it feel more welcoming to people traditionally shut out of very senior roles

por Tom W

Aug 29, 2016

OK course. Difficult to follow at times. The assignments and reading make it worth taking.

por Almas A S

Sep 07, 2018

I did not find this course relatable to the Specialization.

por Michael H S

Jul 14, 2019

Interesting look at org. management.

por Jose S

Sep 05, 2019

Course content is good, assigents and presentations are good also. Professor Huseyin Leblebici speaks very slow, playing the videos at 1.5x is a must.

por Subhajyoti C

Nov 04, 2019

Exceptionally long course, the concepts are good and detailed but could have been better if it is was not just read from the slides.

por Ana C F

Nov 10, 2019

The content is fascinating however I had a bit of a hard time following Prof Leblebici. He is very nice and creative in showing examples however most times the thought process is not linear, clear or sequential. She jumps around the topic going back and forth and most times I preferred to both read the transcripts and watch the video to be able to synthesize what he was trying to say so I could translate it to my notes. I wish the delivery of the content was more punctual rather than rhetorical. but, I think I was able to capture about 75%-80% of the material.

por Jeson M

Nov 16, 2017

The course is very informative and has a lot of content. However, the professor's speech has too many distracting pauses. It's hard to keep my eyes open while watching the videos. To reduce the pauses, he should write down his lectures as transcript first, since they are recorded.

por Gabriel A C

Jun 13, 2017

The instructor is not very engaging.

por James S

Jun 27, 2017

Hard to follow the instructor. The lessons taught were applicable.