Chevron Left
Volver a Disaster Preparedness

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Disaster Preparedness por parte de Universidad de Pittsburgh

4.7
estrellas
1,361 calificaciones
407 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Have you ever viewed a news report depicting the aftermath of a devastating natural disaster? The damage to human life and property are both staggering and heartbreaking. All parts of the world face the possibility of floods, hurricanes, tornados, fires, landslides, earthquakes, tsunamis, and other natural phenomena. Are you prepared if disaster would strike you? This course will help you prepare! The course is appropriate for any learner who is proactive about developing the core competencies of disaster readiness and survival planning. It is especially useful if you are seeking techniques that can ensure your personal protection, as well as the safety of your family, property, and belongings, during a natural disaster. In addition, it offers essential preparation for a variety of emergency situations and inconveniences, even if you do not live in major tornado, flood, hurricane, tsunami, or earthquake zone. For instance, could you and your loved ones manage without access to potable water, electricity, fuel, and banking facilities? If you are unsure of your ability to respond in any of these possible scenarios, this course is for you! Throughout the course, you will be introduced to the Disaster Cycle, specifically the Mitigation and Recovery phases, and will create an extensive personal preparedness plan for survival in the absence of common amenities, such as food and water, shelter, and communication. You will also acquire practical, easy-to-apply strategies for maintaining a healthy attitude during disaster which can allow you to remain calm, avoid panic, and draw upon inner and outer resources in dire circumstances. Although death may be an inevitable outcome of extreme circumstances, a balanced outlook can provide comfort for all parties involved. Finally, issues of how institutions and governments can aid in disaster are also discussed. If you are interested in this topic you may be interested in other online programs at the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing. Learn more about those programs by visiting our website: http://www.online.pitt.edu/programs/school-of-nursing/...

Principales reseñas

CH
30 de ene. de 2017

Really great course that's paced well. I believe this is a course everyone should and CAN take! These things are important to know especially if you live in an area where disasters are prone.

JL
7 de oct. de 2020

grateful to have this kind of Course in here while having sponsor. Most important course because it teaches the basic surviving skills and safety during disaster. likewise, Safety First!

Filtrar por:

326 - 350 de 407 revisiones para Disaster Preparedness

por Muhammad F H

7 de abr. de 2020

good

por JAMNESH P

4 de abr. de 2020

Best

por Praneeth

26 de mar. de 2020

good

por Jose

12 de nov. de 2015

Very

por 321933601001 B S

10 de mar. de 2021

Gud

por MALLA S K

22 de mar. de 2020

ok

por Sugeng R

29 de jun. de 2020

G

por Andrew J

7 de feb. de 2018

V

por Tamara G B

10 de mar. de 2021

As most MOOC courses, if used correctly it actually provides the student with a fair amount of knowledge. It is a shame that some people don't take it seriously and only do the minimum or even copy other's projects (like it happened with mine) but the tutor was very helpful in supporting me with this.

I really enjoyed the course, learned new things and refreshed some other knowledge I already had. I would recommend this course for those interested in learning more about the topic

por Thomas R

10 de may. de 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course! I found it very engaging and helpful to my own personal planning. I would have liked to dig deeper into more first aid and CPR related things but the amount that we covered was good enough for me. Also, more information on Active shooter and Terrorism situations would be helpful as well. All in all, I think this program was well worth the time.

Thanks a million!

por Michael D O

5 de abr. de 2016

The course was informative, but seemed to be geared towards individuals not accustom to survival situations. I would enjoy taking a more advanced, in depth program.

However, the course was clear and I enjoyed the assignments. Some of the quiz questions were based off of information which may have meant more to the instructor than it was significant to the students.

por Anwarul I

11 de mar. de 2021

This course is so much helpful and advanced for disaster management personnel.

As a graduate in disaster management, this course is a much more satisfying demonstration of real-life application of the institutional knowledge which is learned from my 4.5 years of academic education.

I would like to recommend this course as 8 out of 10.

por Andrea B

22 de dic. de 2020

was very informative, some of the links to further reading did not work. And it would seem that people who are grading others work are not taking this seriously with giving no explanation as to why they have marked something so low, especially in comparison to the others markers who grade higher, but also offer feedback.

por Gourpada D

27 de may. de 2020

More Pictures/illustration could be better during large lecture period what sometimes could be appeared as boring. The course largely describes situation based on US, more important examples around the world could make it more enjoyable. Thanks a lot to the professor, I've learnt a lot of important lessons here.

por T V R

23 de jun. de 2017

A well prepared step by step plan which has been prepared. Very easy to understand and made it very interesting to learn and enjoy the course. Tx for intimating few of the important activity though know about it but had completely ignored it during our normal life activity

por Abiven J C

21 de feb. de 2017

Cours qui permet d'aborder différents aspects, ça donne des pistes pour ceux qui veulent aller plus loin dans l'organisation des secours , et bien entendu comment se préparer. Le dernier cours sur la construction d'abris et le "batonnage" avec un couteau est optionnel

por Jonathan G

20 de feb. de 2016

informative course, although I found the assignment to be somewhat redundant and insulting to the student's intelligence. It's common sense that anyone what automatically know to make a list of survival items and an escape strategy in a disaster situation!

por Dr. A V

21 de abr. de 2020

Compare to other coursera courses this course i feel somewhat different. They asked to submit family disaster plan and review family disaster plan of other candidate. Its a new experience for me. THANKS A LOT TO GIVE ME AN OPPORTUNITY TO DO THIS COURSE.

por Gunjan k

17 de ago. de 2020

Thank you University of Pittsburgh and Coursera to providing very nice course on Disaster Preparedness..I have learned a lot of knowledge and technics by given lecture.and notes..I have passed with 90%.

Gunjan kumar

Email - gunjankr.1988@gmail.com

por Vimal D

24 de may. de 2020

A very well constructed course. It is more oriented towards personal disaster management but the lessons can very well be applied at larger levels. It orients your thinking towards making you a Disaster Ready Person. Good One.

por Tamara L

19 de abr. de 2016

An engaging and highly informative course. My only concern is that the required reading was not available, and there were several broken links for optional reading. This needs to be looked at and repaired as soon as possible.

por Thomas M I

28 de abr. de 2020

Well presented introductory course by clearly experienced and knowledgeable Instructor(s). Enjoyed the content, demeanor, and tenor. Slow tempo easily attenuated by speeding up play-back speed.

por Dagmawi M A

12 de oct. de 2016

the course is great. also I would like to thank coursera for the fee-waiver opportunities without which people like me could never afford to take such high quality and up to date trainings!

por Hafiz M W

7 de abr. de 2020

It is fantastic course, I have learned emergency preparedness skills, resources, different survival kits survival techniques and much more. I truly recommend this course.

por Kate

6 de may. de 2020

Course material was very useful, and the attention to awareness as an emergency preparedness skill was appreciated. The peer review section of the course needs revision.