Chevron Left
Volver a Disaster Preparedness

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Disaster Preparedness por parte de Universidad de Pittsburgh

4.7
estrellas
1,339 calificaciones
404 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Have you ever viewed a news report depicting the aftermath of a devastating natural disaster? The damage to human life and property are both staggering and heartbreaking. All parts of the world face the possibility of floods, hurricanes, tornados, fires, landslides, earthquakes, tsunamis, and other natural phenomena. Are you prepared if disaster would strike you? This course will help you prepare! The course is appropriate for any learner who is proactive about developing the core competencies of disaster readiness and survival planning. It is especially useful if you are seeking techniques that can ensure your personal protection, as well as the safety of your family, property, and belongings, during a natural disaster. In addition, it offers essential preparation for a variety of emergency situations and inconveniences, even if you do not live in major tornado, flood, hurricane, tsunami, or earthquake zone. For instance, could you and your loved ones manage without access to potable water, electricity, fuel, and banking facilities? If you are unsure of your ability to respond in any of these possible scenarios, this course is for you! Throughout the course, you will be introduced to the Disaster Cycle, specifically the Mitigation and Recovery phases, and will create an extensive personal preparedness plan for survival in the absence of common amenities, such as food and water, shelter, and communication. You will also acquire practical, easy-to-apply strategies for maintaining a healthy attitude during disaster which can allow you to remain calm, avoid panic, and draw upon inner and outer resources in dire circumstances. Although death may be an inevitable outcome of extreme circumstances, a balanced outlook can provide comfort for all parties involved. Finally, issues of how institutions and governments can aid in disaster are also discussed. If you are interested in this topic you may be interested in other online programs at the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing. Learn more about those programs by visiting our website: http://www.online.pitt.edu/programs/school-of-nursing/...

Principales reseñas

CH
30 de ene. de 2017

Really great course that's paced well. I believe this is a course everyone should and CAN take! These things are important to know especially if you live in an area where disasters are prone.

JL
7 de oct. de 2020

grateful to have this kind of Course in here while having sponsor. Most important course because it teaches the basic surviving skills and safety during disaster. likewise, Safety First!

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 405 revisiones para Disaster Preparedness

por Nicole W

22 de jun. de 2020

The information is interesting; however, the way in which it is presented is rather dry and boring. There are much better MOOCs out there that illustrate the importance of planning a course to engage the learner. This course fails to do that. In addition in order to complete the class, there is a peer reviewed assignment. It seems some participants will score you low with no explanation even if you follow the rubric. I took this course due to the current issues in the United States. Sadly, I realized that it really is not worth the effort due to the subjective nature of grading.

por John R E L

8 de oct. de 2020

grateful to have this kind of Course in here while having sponsor. Most important course because it teaches the basic surviving skills and safety during disaster. likewise, Safety First!

por Lindsey F

1 de may. de 2020

I do not trust peer evaluations. My assignment was thoroughly researched, well explained and clearly structured. I utilized EIGHT (8) references and even managed to format my HTML references in MLA style. A peer reviewer gave me 3 and 1 across the board without even bothering to read my assignment.

por Chris B

17 de mar. de 2016

Very baisc, and uninteresting

por JOSEPH I

2 de ago. de 2021

I DIDN'T ADD THIS ON MY PREVIOUS SUBMISSION. IN THE AMERICAN RED CROSS FIRST AID THEY TEACH YOU TO USE WHAT EVER TO DO AN EMERGENCY TREACHEOTOMY IF IT INCLUDES USING PART OF A PEN THERE IS NO REASON NOT TO USE IT. SUPPOSE NOBODY IS AROUND AND THE PERSON CAN NOT BREATHE ??? WHAT DO YOU DO PRAY TO GOD AND HOPE FOR THE BEST ? YOU NEED TO DO WHAT EVER IS NEEDED IN AN EMERGENCY SITUATION GIVEN THE FACT THAT ALL OTHER RESOURCES ARE EXHAUSTED. DO YOU DO IT ? IN MY EYES YOU BET YOUR ASS YOU DO IT. IF YOU DO SOMETHING LIKE THIS WHEN OTHER OPTIONS ARE AVAILABLE IS IT WRONG ? YEA IT IS AND I DO AGREE WITH THE INSTRUCTOR. THAT BEING SAID IT IS MOST IMPORTANT TO EVALUATE EACH SITUATION FOR WHAT IT IS AND OPTIONS AVAILABLE AND TAKE IT FROM THERE. I HAD TO CLARIFY THIS IT HAS BEEN BUGGING ME. OVER ALL THE COURSE IS VERY INFORMATIVE EVEN FOR THOSE WHO KNOW MORE THAN MOST. TY !

por Jesselle M S

2 de nov. de 2020

What stuck me the most in this course is that I need to learn to be aware to the degree that I must not lose all my senses when I tend to focus on one sense because it may lead me to be "blinded" by other stuff that I also need to be aware of. Second, I need to be flexible not only in the time of disasters but almost on all unexpected situations. This challenged my critical thinking and immersed me well like how it would feel during those overwhelming times. I'm excited to share my learning with my family, friends, and even my workmates. Thank you University of Pittsburg for this course!!

por C A N

3 de may. de 2020

Disaster Preparedness course content in my opinion was complete. Adequate lectures duration.The invited guess speakers were not just any body but experts with down to earth practical examples for students not only to understand but conceptualize. The end of every subtopic quiz was a good summary.The section I enjoyed most was to write on 'Home Disaster Preparedness and Jump kit'. This has open my brain and changed my dressing code since one is living in a world where any situation can arise at any time.Most of us depend on God or our supreme being but must do our part.

por Angelica J

5 de nov. de 2020

This course shed a little more light in how we should perform during emergencies. In disaster situations, government response may take a while therefore, every member of the family, of the community should be able to fend for themselves until help arrives. Making the Family Preparedness Plan reminded me that this activity not only binds the family together, it also reinforces our resolve to not be a burden to the government by doing our civic duty of being self aware and self sufficient on our road to resiliency.

por DIBYA J P

16 de jun. de 2020

The instructor seemed very humble and the making discussions type video was really helpful. Apart from that, I had some expectation about disaster in other countries because in this course, there were more context on USA. Moreover, India also has experienced lots of disaster especially cyclones. Even Nepal also experienced earthquake, belonging to third world country. If this had been added it would have been more informative.

por Julia B

13 de jul. de 2020

I really enjoyed this. I was able to help my family and friends especially since I live on a hurricane active land. I never got bored and it was super informative. I want to become a meteorologist and help people and our instructor is very easy to understand and talks slowly and has slideshows if you want to see what he is talking about. I am getting great grades on my tests! I love this course! I highly recommend!

por JUN M B

16 de abr. de 2021

Very informative. It kind of rekindled my days in the forest surviving with just what is available. Though some of the techniques are more advance than what is available in my country it's almost similar. I hope to again enroll in another class to further equip me, add more knowledge and know-how imperative to any survival situation or in the event of a disaster

por Harikara B S

1 de jul. de 2020

Excellent Course Objectives of survival requirements and details to know about how to face disasters.

We Normally Prepare all these kinds of plans however preparing for self and family is a good one with lot of informations are learned through this course.

Thanks to Professor Mr.Micheal Beach for conducting such very informative session.

por syed f

13 de jul. de 2020

This is a great course. Everyone should no what to do in a disaster. When I starred this course I got that I know very little about things to do in a disaster. This is a course tells you to prepare things in a scenario of survival necessity. I highly enjoyed this course and hope to learn more about disaster preparedness in the future.

por Paulin A A A G

30 de sep. de 2020

I learned a lot from this course and opened my eyes to the importance of preparing ahead and having the right attitude towards disaster mitigation, response and rehabilitation. The course is an eye-opener for the necessity of the whole of society approach when it comes to disaster. Prof. Beach did an excellent job!

por Fatu T

11 de may. de 2021

The course helped me to understand the psychological readiness and preparedness during a disaster. I was thought how to manage my time well, to always be alert especially leaving in a prone disaster area. I was thought survival skills. This will help me in my upcoming job i will be appointed for. Thanks

por joel c

21 de abr. de 2021

The course is very helpful not only for us in the field of public safety but for all individual since calamities, disaster or emergencies may occur in unexpected time, area or location. please keep similar corses like this that would educate the public as a whole

thank you and more power .....

por Frank Y

4 de ene. de 2021

Very impressive course, provides real methodology for survival in challenging times. Defines diaster and the preparedness in dealing with most circumstances.

The Home Plan Preparedness Exercise is an excellent way to actually be ready for most sudden and unexpected disaster scenarios.

por Raul J S

3 de nov. de 2020

It is very much interesting and useful not only during disasters but also in our daily life, I appreciate the last topic which is wilderness survival. I realize how important is the knowledge being taught in this topic.

Thank you very much coursera, More power to you! God bless!

por Benjamin P I

16 de jun. de 2020

The training was really helpful and very informative. All the concept was well summarized and delivered properly. I can appreciate how my instructors take time to deliver their lessons to us learners in a more simpler way. In that sense, it made us understand things easily.

por Marilou E B

3 de jul. de 2020

Developing a disaster preparedness plan requires you to pre-plan how you'll respond, regroup,and communicate in the event of disaster, and keeps everyone in your household aware of the steps they need to take. Your plan should be written down and should need to include.

por PSSg M M

8 de abr. de 2021

This online course is awesome,you have a lot of learnings from this ,and really help a lot in our day to day activity especially in times of disaster.Its worth it,and its really practical.Thank you for sharing and imparting all of your knowledge to us as a student.

por angelina c

11 de feb. de 2021

Very helpful and practical course. It helped me ( and other family members) make our family disaster preparedness plan. I feel that being aware makes one more prepared psychologically for any type of disaster or difficult times. Highly recommended course.

por Reny A

9 de jul. de 2020

A must have course! Everybody should do disaster preparedness to protect his own family / community in other to help each other and knowing what to do to survive and recover. Thank you so much Mr. Michael Beach, the course is really applicable. Love it!

por PLTCOL H L

20 de abr. de 2021

It widened my horizon on Disaster Preparedness. It enabled me to organize the inherent passion for family safety which made me designed safeety features and procedures and physically and mentally trained my family as a preparation for disastrous event

por Muhammad A

24 de mar. de 2020

I have learned many things relating to how we need to be prepared when it comes to an emergency situations whether it could be natural or man made disaster. Disaster Preparedness by the University of Pittsburgh is a great platform to learn.