Chevron Left
Volver a Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I) por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

4.7
449 calificaciones
95 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Named a top 50 MOOC of all time by Class Central! This course begins a series of classes illustrating the power of computing in modern biology. Please join us on the frontier of bioinformatics to look for hidden messages in DNA without ever needing to put on a lab coat. In the first half of the course, we investigate DNA replication, and ask the question, where in the genome does DNA replication begin? We will see that we can answer this question for many bacteria using only some straightforward algorithms to look for hidden messages in the genome. In the second half of the course, we examine a different biological question, when we ask which DNA patterns play the role of molecular clocks. The cells in your body manage to maintain a circadian rhythm, but how is this achieved on the level of DNA? Once again, we will see that by knowing which hidden messages to look for, we can start to understand the amazingly complex language of DNA. Perhaps surprisingly, we will apply randomized algorithms, which roll dice and flip coins in order to solve problems. Finally, you will get your hands dirty and apply existing software tools to find recurring biological motifs within genes that are responsible for helping Mycobacterium tuberculosis go "dormant" within a host for many years before causing an active infection....

Principales revisiones

JL

Jul 30, 2018

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

LL

Nov 13, 2017

Very tough but rewarding class. The programming part was easy, the algorithms kicked my butt. Love the challenge and can't wait to take the rest!!! Such an interesting field!

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 91 revisiones para Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

por Melinda B

Apr 30, 2019

This course is really frustrating if you are not a computer scientist.

The 'language-neutral pseudocode' given on the computer science tasks is buggy and hard to figure out and there is no support or solutions. This course is just hours spent rerunning your code by brute force to pray you get to their answer to pass.

Work is not explained well. The only reason to take this course is that its supported by UCSD.

por Gener A R

Apr 08, 2019

Good course, very solid community.

por Saif-AlDin

Aug 03, 2018

I have received financial aid because I was interested in the bioinformatics field and was reading alot about it and wanted to start my first course, it was my biggest mistake that I have chosen this course. It is awfully explained, terrible accent, basically a course with 50% information for beginners and 50% for coders and the quiz for week 2 just pumped my blood pressure to the roof, this course is in no way to be called for beginners and the interactive text is a mess and it is no way as a biotechnologist that I am going to recommend this course to anyone !, I need to apologize for coursera company for giving me aid for this COURSE !

note : this course is basically like a money grab, it is not enough that you are on their course they actually from Minute one advertise for their book vol 1 and 2... such a joke.

All in all I am stopping this course because the knowledge I am gaining from this course is 1 on the scale of 10, and the amount of confusion and frustration and disappointment I am getting is 10 on the scale of 10 !!

I really hope coursera can forgive my dropping out of this course and allows me to get a financial aid at an actual course

por Fish

May 13, 2019

I can learn a lot from the simple samples but I think I still have a long way.

por Pavel O

Apr 12, 2019

Very good course to start learning bioinformatics

por Andrew C

Mar 29, 2019

I feel this was a good introduction to bioinformatics. It can be a little confusing sometimes, but there was nothing I could not figure out in the end

por Krishnendu S

Mar 28, 2019

Exceptionally beautiful course. Must be for those want to start career in bioinformatics. But prior basic knowledge in any programming language would be appropriate if someone wants to extract every aspect of this course.

por Meng Z

Mar 04, 2019

The course is great!

por Victor C

Mar 03, 2019

Loving it so far.

por Fabio J F

Feb 17, 2019

Some activities were unnecessary but coding up the algorithms was a treat :)

por Mousa J A

Feb 12, 2019

A really nice course that links biology and programming

por Yousef A S A

Jan 12, 2019

I really liked the course, I had fun finishing assignments and learning the theory behind each concept. However, I take my time very seriously and this course has underrated the time you should devote as I end up having too much pressure due to other work I should be doing.

por Greta G H

Jan 11, 2019

Great!

por Cagdas U

Jan 05, 2019

The answers are stale. MEME tool results don't match what they expect. It takes a while to find students to review.

por Ahmad A

Dec 31, 2018

One of the best courser, I took ever!

por Julian A S

Oct 16, 2018

Clear and well-formatted. No instructional support in the forums was disappointing, though.

por Olaf W

Oct 02, 2018

Great content, very well structured. Loved the interactive text with the graded coding exercises.

por Shiv H

Sep 28, 2018

Good Course but at times difficult to understand.

por Shengbo W

Sep 10, 2018

It is really helpful!

por Oscar J O R

Aug 14, 2018

Really nice and clear course. The hands-on learning is fundamental to create a smooth transition between algorithms and biology.

por Juris L

Jul 30, 2018

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

por Jonathon T

Jul 27, 2018

Instructions are often not clear and require you to read the comments to even grasp what the problems are asking for. Also the format for teaching is to teach you a bad way to solve a problem then go "well that didn't work out, lets try a different way." I felt these were a waste of my time as I sat around trying to understand why I was being asked to solve a problem in such an inefficient manner.

por TeriLynn S

Jul 09, 2018

The two platform format is quite complex. But the material is excellent!

por Dr S C

Jun 29, 2018

A great introduction to this topic. I really felt I came away from this course with some useful skills.

por Micheal A

Jun 26, 2018

I found this course incredibly enlightening and because I feel so highly of it I'm going to buy the accompanying book. My one issue is with peer evaluation of the final assignment, I don't believe in peer evaluation in situations where the peers may not be trained. What if one of the graders don't understand why they have a question wrong, despite having seen the answers. I don't think such a person should be allowed to perform evaluations. That being said,all the algorithms and the explanations behind them, super interesting and because I have taken this course and learned what I have, I am now considering graduate school in this field.