Chevron Left
Volver a Algorithms for DNA Sequencing

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Algorithms for DNA Sequencing por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.8
estrellas
652 calificaciones
153 reseña

Acerca del Curso

We will learn computational methods -- algorithms and data structures -- for analyzing DNA sequencing data. We will learn a little about DNA, genomics, and how DNA sequencing is used. We will use Python to implement key algorithms and data structures and to analyze real genomes and DNA sequencing datasets....

Principales reseñas

VK

Aug 08, 2017

This course provided me a very quick overview of all the core concepts pertaining to DNA sequencing. It is very well organized, crystal clear demonstration of concepts and I really enjoyed the course.

KP

May 19, 2020

Very good course this is. Just a little advice, please make the quiz questions more clear and more specific because one shouldn't waste time to understand a question which is very easy to implement.

Filtrar por:

126 - 150 de 150 revisiones para Algorithms for DNA Sequencing

por Cao S S

May 11, 2016

Good course!

por 杜明宇

Sep 03, 2017

perfect !!!

por gushengchang

Mar 16, 2016

Very Clear!

por KLEBER P D S

Jun 26, 2017

Very good!

por Bingdi L

Jun 02, 2019

Great!!!

por Ronald F R M

Mar 20, 2020

Thanks

por John C

Apr 21, 2020

Well explained, clear lectures with challenging homework assignments. Coming into it as a biologist was challenging since the course is designed for computer scientists, and if you are a newbie to programming you will most likely need to spend significant time outside of the course materials. The course would be hugely improved by providing examples of ideal code once students have passed the relevant quizzes/homeworks - at least then you can compare your own work to ideal code, and learn a good approach, rather than potentially take away a flawed one.

por Roman C

Feb 21, 2016

This course gives a good introduction to some basic algorithms.

The standards it sets for students, however, is very low. They ask you to download an already written piece of Python code and change a line or two.

To get the most out of this course, I recommend implementing all the algorithms yourself, perhaps even in a different language.

"Algorithms on Strings, Trees and Sequences" by Dan Gusfield will be very useful for that.

por Deleted A

Oct 09, 2019

Very engaging and interesting course! Ben Langmead explains concepts very clearly and has clean, well-structured presentations. Enough biological background is provided even for individuals with no experience with genomics. What I found most helpful about the course is that the Jupyter Notebooks from the lectures are freely available on GitHub.

por Geoffrey K

Nov 17, 2018

I was completely new to Python when I started this course - and the good news is I learned enough to complete! (Yay!)

I suspect I'd have given the course 5 stars had I started with slightly more Python knowledge.

Still, the feeling of having got through is sweet all the same!!

por chunchao z

Jul 09, 2019

The lectures are really excellent. Things that could be improved are coding instructions. These clips are not always as clear as lectures. My suggesting is using some graphs, examples, or pseudo code when writing the python codes.

por David B

Aug 22, 2018

It is well explained. More space to programming practical exercise is suggested.Very intriguing Programming Homework! You have to apply all the python knowledge you have learned so far and also the one you have still to learn :)

por Aydolun

Sep 23, 2017

If you do not have a coding background, you might find the homeworks hard but the practicals in the course are very helpful.

por Valdir B J

Mar 17, 2018

Very good lectures. Some of the homework assignments were kind of hard though (and no help in the discussion forums).

por Ana P

Jun 04, 2017

Great teaching, very interesting content. Only missing some checking of the contents (homework pages especially).

por CAROLINA I H F

Aug 13, 2020

Useful and really good, maybe complicated for those who are new at programming, but well worth it.

por Horațiu P

Apr 15, 2016

Awesome course. I recommend it to all how like programming and biology, specially DNA.

por Nikhil Y

Apr 13, 2020

It was a really good course to start in the field of computational genomics.

por SHAN Z K

Nov 20, 2017

It's better to get familiar with python and start the class

por Ulises O G L

Jun 16, 2020

I think more background about programming is needed

por LucyZhang

Apr 30, 2017

It's a little bit hard for the fresh guys

por Catherine J

May 19, 2020

Excellent presentation

por HARSHIT J

Jul 28, 2020

The course is quite interesting and the instructors are very skilful in teaching and explaining. The sad part about the course is that the course is an ABANDONED one (like all the other courses in the specialization) i.e there is no active course staff or any instructor for help and you're pretty much on your own. Also, it requires quite an amount of mental exertion and I would HIGHLY recommend you to not take this course unless you have a good grasp of Algorithms on String and Networks. For someone with some background of Algorithms like me, the course is quite enjoyable.

por Nelea R

Jun 29, 2020

Little support from peers or mentors in this class.

por Badr E A

Jun 28, 2019

it is so difficult for the beginner biologists, without help from the professionals I would not pass in the homeworks.