Chevron Left
Volver a Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS por parte de Universidad Duke

4.6
estrellas
12,139 calificaciones
2,630 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Principales reseñas

IS
5 de oct. de 2015

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

JS
12 de ene. de 2020

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 2,594 revisiones para Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

por Satti K R

17 de jun. de 2020

i want to leave

por Ekaterina V

7 de ene. de 2021

My prior experience in programming consisted of several lessons on Pascal back in school about 13 years ago, so (apart from vague if/else memories) I started with zero experience. I found this course quite exciting, often challenging, but in a good way. For some reason, "peer review grade" is stated in the course info, but there is no such thing. You might post a link to your webpage for your classmates to review, but it's optional and doesn't affect your grades. To complete the course, you'll need to do your coding and answer quiz questions based on that. Basically, nobody ever sees your code, because posting whole programs in the forums is forbidden, and the only grades you get come from quizzes. You can post a piece of code if you're stuck though. I can't fully approve this approach, but in general the course is fine.

In my opinion, this course might be a great opportunity to decide whether you enjoy spending time coding or not. If not - you might still have some fun.

por Nancy W

28 de may. de 2018

I really enjoyed this course. I now feel comfortable programming in JavaScript, HTML5 and CSS3. I like most of the lectures, and the assignments progressed from simple to more interesting and interactive web pages. I liked the 7 Step Approach to solving Programming Problems. Some of my favorite exercises involved Digitally creating a filter to Grayscale Images, using a Green Screen Algorithm to alter an image's background, and creating digital filters to apply to photos - all on interactive web pages that you create in the course! I find that I want to learn more about Front End Web Development! I was glad that you could take a Quiz over again, and they keep your highest grade! I liked the optional assignments, in case you wanted extra credit, or wanted more practice. The lectures actual introduce object oriented programming concepts, without all the terminology, which I believe makes the course easier for beginners.

por Khaled H

14 de ago. de 2017

i have taken the whole specialization . so this review is for the whole specialization in general and for the capastone in particular.

the first and the second courses are very easy . but the three remaining courses are a little bit tough

so you will need to struggle and persist to complete the whole specialization especially the great project .

indeed the project is extremely great . you will use all the concept you have learned through this specialization to implement this great project .... but NOTE this specialization in general and the project in particular is NOT for a BEGINNER Programmer. it is for some one who has a background in programming . but overall you will learn a lot of great stuff and concepts .. so have fun and enjoy programming .

por David C

21 de may. de 2021

Not an easy course for totally new beginners, I would say this course is between beginner and intermediate. Would prefer if instructors made a few more examples and could make a new section on how to approach some of the exercises and solve them. It's true that the best way to learn is to make some research and keep on trying, but for the time purposes of the course my suggestion would be to dive a bit more into the exercises, they are very time-consuming and beginners will/may struggle.

Overall I do consider this to be an excellent course, very informative, and will give a beginner a good insight on what programming is and how to research and formulate algorithms! Definitely encourages me to continue studying!

por darraghmerrick

16 de jun. de 2016

I found the course both interesting and challenging and I definitely picked up new skills. On completion of this course, I am able to write a webpage with active URL links, pictures, make ordered, un-ordered lists and make tables with embedded lists and images etc. In addition I learned how to style the web page with fonts, colors and positions using CSS.

The next section was about image processing using java scripting. We did steganography , hiding images and text within images. The whole thing was finished with creating an e-Portfolio, which tested everything we learned.

I enjoyed the course and am now moving onto the next course in this specialization.

Darragh Merrick

por Mahesh J

23 de ene. de 2017

This is a fantastic course, a great introduction to html, javascript, css and programming in general. The best part of this course is the seven steps to solve a problem using image processing which is helpful in solving real world problems rather than some toy samples. This technique is used in repetition for solving different problems so that the student gets a deep understanding on how it fits in solving real world problems. I would definitely recommend to someone who wants to learn programming. You get more worth than the money paid for this course. Kudos to Duke and Coursera, guys keep going. I have enrolled in many other edu platform, but I see a lot of quality and value in coursera.

por Boğaçhan A

12 de abr. de 2017

This is an excellent code for both beginners and novice programmers who want to improve their problem-solving skills. This course does not only teach the languages but also teaches the best ways to approach a problem, and how to implement our approach into coding. I have learned various image editing techniques, gained domain knowledge and even built my own full website. The only downside is that the javascript libraries which is used in most of the exercises is written by Duke itself so I'm not sure if I'll be able to use them outside the course. But these libraries really helped understand the process.

por Marci M

12 de oct. de 2015

This class is challenging for a beginner but really does teach a lot in a short time frame.

I feel that some concepts in week 4 were much harder than necessary for a beginner, but am glad I didn't give up. Some students said they were dropping it in the forums after having passed previous weeks. I'm glad I stuck with it though because I believe that I was able to get far enough in my understanding to pass this course and also give me an idea of some things I may like to explore in the future.

It's possible to pass this course even if one of the concepts has you frustrated. Keep with it!

por Hamza J M A

21 de jun. de 2020

It is quite rare for any person who seeks to learn a completely new field of study with no background about it and progress remarkably within the duration of the course that Duke University sets. It was a very great experience and an extremely well taught professors who transformed the learning journey into a fun and enjoyable journey. Therefore, I highly recommend it for anyone who has no background ideas regarding the main principles and foundations of JavasScript programming language, using HTML and CSS to design a functional and interactive websites.

por Yintao L

29 de sep. de 2018

I would say this course is really amazing. It clearly explain how to create a simple webpage by using the HTML, CSS and Javascript. I would guarantee anyone who has fully finished all the tasks should have 'foundation' knowledge about interactive webpages even though almost all the tasks are not included in the Coursera content which need students to be self-disciplined. The honour content is really interesting as well. If anyone wants to undertake this course, don't forget that. I'm looking forward to continue the rest of the courses. Thank you all!!!

por Tammie M H

22 de oct. de 2016

I absolutely LOVE your courses! I have tried a lot of Coursera and other online courses that bored me to tears, but you have mastered the platform. Your courses are so well built and I love your sense of humor!

Some things that set your course apart from other courses:

1. A variety of instructors. Seeing different people introduce different topics in the videos makes it more interesting.

2. Regular quizzes to keep me paying attention.

3. Regular exercises to put into practice what I'm learning.

Thanks for sharing your expertise with the world!

por Kaarunja K

7 de jun. de 2020

I loved this course!

This is a great chance for me to study this course.Thank you Coursera and Duke University.

The lecturers are awesome! Their way of speaking and explaining is very friendly and understandable for all language students.

This course gives a strong foundation for web designing and encouraged me to learn more about it.

The practicals are very interesting and induced my curiosity.But sometimes little bit hard.

And I understood that , It will work out if we practice oftenly.

I hope that,you will also like this course.

Enjoy!

-K.K-

por SATYA S K J

24 de sep. de 2016

I would like to sincerely thank The Coursera Community for providing this wonderful opportunity to get a overlook on the HTML,CSS,Java Script concepts.Now I am in a position where I can design webpages and edit images easily.I think Coursera is providing a wonderful platform where it integrates people from various communities into a common task-coding.I am feeling privilaged for associating with Duke Universities.

I once again take this opportunity to thank the Coursera Community for providing me this opportunity.

por Edward F

10 de jun. de 2017

I took the full Specialization, so I'm going write the same review for each of the 5 modules.

This is a great course, but it's not for beginners. They ask you to do a lot of coding, which is great since that's the only way to really gain proficiency. And the code they ask you to write is, in my opinion, pretty hard for someone new to coding. My hat's off to someone new to programming who makes it through the five modules.

So, thanks to Duke for putting together a great course. It was very good.

por Charlie F

31 de ago. de 2019

I liked that this course was self-paced and I could work through the sections when I had the time. The lectures were a very good resource and I think they did a good job of focusing on the fundamentals of programming rather than spending too much time on the details of the code. There was a good mix of lectures, practice, and the option for online discussions too. I feel like I have a much better grasp of how to think like a programmer and look forward to continuing with more online courses.

por Aaron Q

31 de mar. de 2017

Some things were a little too easy (like the quizzes, for the most part.) Occasionally, there would be some challenges in exercises for which solutions were not laid out in much detail, making them harder. That's a good teaching strategy, and encourages independent thinking to solve them. The discussion board mentors were helpful and promptly responsive, tho I did not find the discussion forums until the end of week 2. I think there should be links to those on more pages.

por MOHAMMAD A R

24 de sep. de 2016

The course is excellent in many ways. The course material,video is very simple and understandable to a layman also. one need not be an expert.The presentation was superb, leaving no doubt at the end of each week.The course material and video is self sufficient. I am very happy to have joined the course. I would like to complete the rest of the course satisfactorily. I would love to have soft copies of the material which can be downloaded for study at convenient. Thank you

por RUSTEM K

20 de may. de 2020

Thank you very much for your course. This was the first course I took on your platform. I liked the course very much, it is well structured, and there are many practical tasks in addition to the lecture. I have learned a lot of information about creating web pages using CSS and JavaScript, which I am sure will come in handy in the future. The teachers are great. The course in English also helps me learn the language. Coursera is a great project for self-improvement.

por Roman P

7 de ene. de 2016

As the title of this course states, it is about web and programming for beginners. While myself I wasn't absolute beginner in Web and HTML, only Javascript was a new topic for me, I used this course to check my knowledge and experience and "brush up" my skills. Teachers are friendly , videos are good, questionnaires check your understanding. Tasks are interesting enoug for people "to get a taste of things" and do some funny stuff.

Thanks to Duke University team!

por Shishir S K

29 de dic. de 2018

The Contents in the course are very well organised.

Teaching methodology is very unique, as its focuses more on the application of the knowledge learnt.

I am sure, the people who have finished this course will find a difference in them.

Also, this course induces the spirit of programming in the learners and also explains complex image processing techniques in a very simple manner.

Thanks to all the professors and the mentors, for organizing such a fantastic course.

por Bogdan U

6 de abr. de 2019

Very helpful if you have no previous experience whatsoever (and even if you do, very helpful to refresh or fill in some of the basic stuff that is rusty or missing).

The reason why is that it really goes from fundamentals, slowly but surely building up, using not only theory but a lot of practical tasks too, the tasks that are structured and well thought-of, propelling the student to develop a deeper understanding of the concepts.

Thank you and well done.

por Deleted A

27 de mar. de 2018

In just first week of this course, I was able to build my first ever website page containing my interests by simply spending 2 hours per day for 3 days.I was real surprise to see that how a slow learner with a busy schedule like me can learn a new useful skill very easily . This course is designed with high level of academic professionalism. I would love to recommend other fellows to try out this course if they want to learn about web development.

por Скрипченко Е А

24 de nov. de 2019

Хороший курс для начинающих,у которых уже имеются хотя бы минимальные знания) Жаль,что на многих видео нет перевода на русский,но меня это не испугало,хотя для некоторых может стать это решающим фактором. Задания не скучные,в видео все показывается подробно и не понять просто невозможно. Единственное,еще раз повторюсь, курс на английском и перевода текстов,которые есть - нет,поэтому могут возникать трудности,если вы не владеете этим языком.

por Srinivas T

3 de dic. de 2017

I am very much thankful to coursera and Duke University for giving me an opportunity to learn this course. After completing this course, I am confident that I can use javascript to create web pages interactively. This course is really helpful for those who are beginning to script. One can learn a lot of basics following the tryit exercises given. I recommend this course to beginners. Thankyou once again to coursera team and Duke University.