Chevron Left
Volver a Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity por parte de Universidad de Stanford

4.9
estrellas
2,738 calificaciones
947 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Principales reseñas

BH

22 de jun. de 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

JJ

21 de mar. de 2020

Thanks for helping me understand the Special Theory of Relativity, covered a lot of ground but repeated it so it really could sink in. Like your style and want to thank you for your assistance. Thanks

Filtrar por:

426 - 450 de 944 revisiones para Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

por Robert M

18 de ene. de 2022

Excellent mid-level course with the right amount of math. Instructor was highly knowledgeable and presented the material in a very understandable manner.

por jaider s m h

3 de jul. de 2021

Excellent, thanks to Coursera, for allowing me to do the course, it's nice, it helped me and I learned new skills, I was nurtured from the course, thanks

por Philippe R

17 de sep. de 2020

It is one of the best course on this topic I followed. The presenter is a very good pedagogic and speak a very pleasant English for non native listeners.

por Atharva A

28 de mar. de 2020

An amazing course for the Astrophiles and curious physics enthusiasts . The course is very well organized and its easy to learn . A great experience .

por 徐致远

25 de jul. de 2017

The course is great !

Thank you very much for you effort !

It is genuine the best explanation about special theory of relativity I've ever learn about !

por Vijay T

26 de may. de 2019

Great course. Totally appreciate the time and effort (and patience) by Professor to help me have a solid foundation on special theory of relativity

por Fethi O Ö

12 de jul. de 2017

Good course, for to learn, imaging,considering,observing and measuring.Especially examples are very interesting.Like clocks,spaceships,light beams.

por miguelico

25 de may. de 2020

Superb. Professor Lagerstrom masters the topic and knows how to make easy a subject that apparently isn't. Thank you for sharing your knowledge :)

por Michał R F

24 de ene. de 2020

This course is just amazing! I wish I had that kind of teacher in school as Prof. Lagerstrom. I'll be coming back to this lectures. Pure pleasure!

por PRUTHVIK A

20 de sep. de 2020

A really great course. It was very nicely taken from the start. Really enjoyed the course. Looking forward to start General Theory of Relativity.

por Vishal J

21 de ago. de 2019

Brilliant course. It is taught in such a manner as to really get a feel for relativity and to understand the core principles. Highly recommended.

por Kenneth K

21 de feb. de 2020

This was a great course. It was informative (I had several "a-ha moments") and enjoyable. Professor Lagerstrom is truly and educator. Well done.

por Deepak G

12 de feb. de 2021

The professor for the course Prof. Larry is excellent in presenttion and explaining a difficult subject with relevet examples and calculations.

por Ozan K

19 de dic. de 2020

I really liked this course as I am very interested in The Special Theory of Relativity. It was a pleasure for me to participate in this course.

por Parin S

7 de ago. de 2020

Great course! Really enjoyed my learning with crystal clear explanation of each and every concept associated with special theory of relativity.

por Deepak B

21 de ene. de 2022

A wonderful journey through the space time. Heartiest thanks to Prof. Larry Langerstorm for his valuable insights on the theory of relativity.

por Ana C

21 de sep. de 2020

Exceptional course content, incrediable professor and staff. I am very sad that I finished the course because I enjoyed a lot all the journey.

por Carlos M

28 de sep. de 2017

Excellent experience and the Professor is an excellent teacher by showing all these concepts in a way that is really easy to understand them.

por sueg

21 de dic. de 2016

This course is really brilliant, Professor Lagerstrom ( I hope I have spelt the name correctly ) really knows the subject, a superb lecturer.

por Joseph Q J

17 de abr. de 2019

Dr Lagerstrom is terrific.

WhileI had to watch 2 lectures a second time, I found the course materials and lectures to be clear and precise.

por Mohana A

6 de oct. de 2018

Awesome course, well explained. Helps get a good understanding of the basics along with the mathematics behind special theory of Relativity.

por Joost d G

7 de sep. de 2017

This course could not have been given better. It explained the concepts of the special theory of relativity in a concise though complete way

por Teshima

20 de dic. de 2020

Very good and introduction for relativity, one tip that i can give, is making the week problems to understand more significantly the theory

por Nguyen D T

12 de jul. de 2020

This course explains Special theory of Relativity very well and makes peolpe who have only basic physics background understand this theory.

por Isha S

7 de abr. de 2020

A truly amazing course. Everything was covered in great amounts of detail. I loved the way the course was taught step by step with quizzes.