Chevron Left
Volver a Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity por parte de Universidad de Stanford

4.9
estrellas
2,387 calificaciones
829 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Principales reseñas

SS
8 de dic. de 2019

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

BH
22 de jun. de 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

Filtrar por:

151 - 175 de 815 revisiones para Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

por Gethro O

28 de abr. de 2020

This course is perfect for anyone interested in science. All you need is high school math and everything else is explained spectacularly well. The pace is a bit slow, but it pays so you can deeply understand each topic as you go on. You won't get bored. The professor is engaging, the Special Theory of Relativity is weird and fun.

TAKE THIS COURSE NOW

por Srijan A M

9 de abr. de 2020

This course is a very beneficial course.It helped me to increase my knowledge about physics and different phenomenon which occurs in our day to day life. this course helped me to take a better insight of the laws of physics made by the great scientist Albert Einstein. I would prefer all of you to take up this course and be benefited by this course.

por Anton U

29 de abr. de 2017

This course was amazing, and I'm sad to see it go. It was interesting and full of new things that I have yet to learn and hopefully go more in-depth into during my university studies. I hope more people are informed about this course and I also hope that I still have access to the video lectures for future reference. Thank you for the experience!

por Pranshul J

16 de may. de 2020

The way of teaching of the professor is just fabulous, I hope Professor Larry makes more courses. He teaches in a clear and easy way. I strongly recommend this course to anyone who is ardent to learn and curious about how the universe works, what is ' the marvelous structure of reality.' No complex mathematics is needed(least of all calculus.)

por Shamim D

17 de ene. de 2017

Professor Lagerstrom is a great teacher and the course is well organized. While still a little complex for someone with rudimentary or fairly stale science knowledge, Professor Lagerstrom's approach is easy to follow and understand. I especially like his summaries at the end of the course which put together the complex mathematics into simple

por Sanjukta G

31 de jul. de 2017

Being a high school student, this course looked very daunting to me. However, after the dilemma, whether to choose this course or not, when I finally did choose this course, I felt fortunate that I did. Not only am I getting to learn about the special theory of relativity but also skill-set required to excel in any kind of course. Thank you!

por MOHIT M

23 de feb. de 2017

The struggle to understand the marvellous structure of reality is an ennobling experience. The course is more engaging than a movie, I literally mean that. Professor Larry takes you on a roller coaster ride. I bet you would love the ride.

P.s. Don't be afraid of maths. Professor Larry has taken care of that part. It's only simple algebra.

por L H

11 de ene. de 2019

This is hands down the best introduction to the Special Theory of Relativity I have ever found. The instructor really explains everything so lucidly that even lay audiences without a strong math or physics background can grasp the theory. I would really love to see a course by this instructor on the General Theory of Relativity as well!

por Gregorio T

17 de may. de 2020

This course met 120% my expectations. Prof. Lagestrom has extraordinary teaching skills and assembled a course that allows students to slowly build fundamental blocks of knowledge. I look forward to keep learning with him if any other course is available. It has been a truly memorable experience. Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

por Alvaro W

21 de oct. de 2017

Thank you to Dr. Randles for teaching us this excellent course, for preparing all the lessons in a simple manner, he makes us see the theory easy. And thank you for teaching us not only the scientist, but also the human person through Einstein quotes.

Try to become not a person of success, but try rather to become a person of value

por Edwin R

29 de mar. de 2020

Great course. Easy to follow and to understand. Also a great compliment to the professor for explaining the material in a clear and easy to follow manner. I have now a clear understanding of the underlying concepts of the special theory of relativity. I would really like to see a similar course on the general theory of relativity.

por Kishore R

23 de may. de 2017

This course is well laid out and planned. The professor goes through step by step and makes it very easy to understand a very difficult and non-intuitive subject. The qualitative explanations are excellent in giving a sense of what the equations mean.

All in all, an excellent course. Thank you very much for making this available.

por King C

6 de ene. de 2021

A very good and extensive course giving you a solid introduction to the special theory of relativity. As a high school student I found that it started out quite slow with a bit too much on history in the first week in my opinion. It gets really interesting after the second or third week, especially for someone who loves maths.

por Diksha A

15 de sep. de 2020

A very intuitive course which starts from the ground basics and builds an understanding on how to jog one's brains to imagine in-depth thought experiments which help us in understanding the amazingness of our universe. Very well taught by Professor Lagerstrom who explains in a very simple manner for everyone's understanding.

por Mauritius X

14 de sep. de 2017

Incredible. Now I can say to have learned the basics of relativity. A step by step approach with some math guided me through the field. Before the course I was simply aware of the major points of the theory accepting its conclusion bona fide. Now I got it. Thanks a lot professor. There is a reason why you teach at Stanford

por halfway ' t w

21 de jun. de 2020

Such a great course with a superb instructor! The pacing of the course, in my opinion, was perfect. We certainly made haste, but we made haste slowly. Things were explained in a way, that the greater understanding of the math and "philosophy" behind it came together in a beautiful manner. So happy with taking this course!

por Cristian N

16 de ene. de 2017

Excelente habilidad para la docencia mezclando el contexto histórico de uno de los más grandes avances de la ciencia moderna con las bases matemáticas y físicas necesarias para comprender la Teoría de la Relatividad Especial, de una manera didáctica y para todo público, no sólo para personas entendidas en física avanzada.

por Sam

13 de may. de 2017

Thank you Professor, your lecture is very interesting, and it is quite helpful to learn physics with a little history. I found that there are some mistakes in the subtitle, but it is not significant and I think I can understand it according to the context. Really impressive course, I hope I can see you in other courses.

por Heike S

26 de abr. de 2018

“One should not pursue goals that are easily achieved. One must develop an instinct for what one can just barely achieve through one’s greatest efforts.”

― Albert Einstein

The course was varied and motivating in its structure. Professor Larry Lagerstrom is an outstanding personality. It was a very enriching experience.

por Steven G

21 de jun. de 2018

Excellent course. I feel I gained some insight into the core concepts of special relativity. I took to heart the "festina lente" ethos exposed early in the course by the instructor. Larry Lagerstrom is a fantastic teacher, he has the ability to explain often complex material in a way to that makes it understandable.

por Felix S G

11 de may. de 2020

This course offers an excellent and intuitive entry to the special theory of relativity. In my eyes, it is suited for everyone being fascinated by space-time and the "weirdness" of our universe and at the same time wants to dig a little deeper into the physical and mathematical framework of special relativity.

por Gaurav B

4 de jul. de 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and it was informative and we'll presented. I think I will miss listening about time. For me its been much therapeutic. It challenges my brain to even visualize these concepts and hence I can spend as much time studying it. The presenter knows his stuff and like his simplicity.

por Daniel H d A C

5 de sep. de 2017

An outstanding course, it was what I was looking for to get a good understanding of the topic.

Really good course progression, well explained concepts. I am definitely happy and "1000%" satisfied with this amazing course, Professor Lagerstrom is simply amazing and he definitely deserves a strong acclamation!!

por Solai S

24 de jun. de 2017

It was incredibly interesting and enjoyable experience,the course instructor was fabulous and i could understand many mind baffling information with a surprising ease.I am looking forward for stanford university's course on the general theory of relativity and i hope that it is taught by the same professor.

por Sujoy M

2 de ago. de 2020

Great Course. I wish there would me more courses like this in other topics like general theory of relativity. Discussion forum is very active. Mentors are available to clarify any topics. Videos are a bit slow though, but you can always fast forward. I am grateful to the course instructor of this course.