Chevron Left
Volver a Electric Industry Operations and Markets

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Electric Industry Operations and Markets por parte de Universidad Duke

4.8
estrellas
895 calificaciones
239 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This is a two week course. In the first week you will learn about the core activities that the Industry executes to bring electricity to customers. We will review what electricity is, how it is generated, how it is transmitted, how it comes into buildings, and how consumption of electricity instantly feeds back on the transmission and generation of electricity. You will learn to: Define what electricity is; Describe how electricity is generated, transmitted and distributed; Describe how electricity is generated, transmitted and distributed; and Summarize how the consumption of electric energy instantly feeds back on the transmission and generation of electricity. In the second week, the course shifts to the markets that drive Electric Industry operations. You will learn about the various costs of the electric industry’s core activities, how electricity is priced, the various ways that electric markets are structured, how these market structures determine which power plants are dispatched to produce electricity when, and how recent changes in generator fuel prices, generation technology, market regulations, and environmental regulations are transforming both Electric Industry Markets and Operations. You will learn to: Describe the main cost components to the electric system; Compare the costs of different types of power plants; Interpret the retail pricing of electricity; Explain the different types of electric markets and understand how they operate to dispatch electric supply to meet demand in real time; and Explain why and how the electric industry is regulated....

Principales reseñas

DJ
10 de ago. de 2020

Content was easy to follow and digest - it was a good refresher course for me as I've been in the industry for some time, but within the IT discipline. Learned some new things along the way too.

SL
5 de may. de 2020

Great course with a superb faculty. Learnt a lot about the industry and market regulations of electricity.\n\nWould really recommend this course to all who are interested in electric industry.

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 236 revisiones para Electric Industry Operations and Markets

por Lowell N

27 de feb. de 2021

Excellent review of the basics of electric distribution and generation all the way to grid operations and the economics related to that. Would have liked a couple real-world examples of actual state/local grid operations to put some of the knowledge to work. But presentations were clear and visual aids were helpful.

por Bayard M

22 de ago. de 2017

The course is a very good introduction to the Electricity sector, presenting both basics from technical and market aspects. As the industry is evolving quickly, it would be great to have modules on Demand Side Response, Battery Storage, and other new types of operation.

por Arnav G

18 de jul. de 2019

Good overview, somewhat light on material but that's expected from a 2 week course. would appreciate a follow up delving into more details of the financial structure of utilities/other corporations in the energy space

por MAHDI H

15 de nov. de 2021

Hi I finished this course, but when I got my degree, only my last name was mentioned incorrectly and my name was not written. Please provide me with a new document named Mahdi Hadizadeh. Thank you

por Joshua A

17 de mar. de 2021

very exciting course about the electric markets and its operations.......recommend this course for all those who are seeking a basic understanding of the workings of the electric industry.

por Nestor J C B

10 de jun. de 2020

It is an excellent introduction to the operation of electricity markets that gives you an insight if you want to continue delving into this topic.

por Rocio S

19 de oct. de 2020

Very informative course. It explains very well how the electric industry works in USA. It took more time than what it originally said.

por Reshma M

21 de jun. de 2020

It helped me understand how the market sees the electric industry. Helped me gain a large perspective. Good course

por Andrew W

28 de sep. de 2019

Good introduction to Elec Ind. & Markets. Will give a good basic level understanding.

por Winston C

12 de abr. de 2020

Pretty good - could have gone even more in-depth regarding technologies!

por Seungkyun H

24 de sep. de 2018

good to know about basic concept and fundametals through this course

por Caesar P

1 de nov. de 2021

V​ery informative and useful. This course met all my expectations.

por Manjunath A S

21 de may. de 2020

It will help to enhance my technical knowledge..Thank u...

por Pedro F F

3 de feb. de 2021

very good knowledge of the instructor but a bit boring

por Demetre T

14 de jun. de 2021

1231231231231231242141421 412 4124124 124124

por Anuj K

28 de ago. de 2019

thanks, coursera for this beautigul course.

por Arjun J

29 de sep. de 2020

informative course and good lecture

por mohammad s

28 de mar. de 2021

practical and comprehensive course

por REVANTH M C

11 de may. de 2020

very great course

por Pushpendra K

21 de sep. de 2020

Good course

por Anshuli V

24 de jun. de 2020

Nice course

por Ameena j

5 de sep. de 2020

good couse

por 34. P K

25 de jul. de 2020

VERY GOOD

por Amit K S

20 de jul. de 2021

g​ood

por SENTHIL K N

30 de jul. de 2021

good