Chevron Left
Volver a Engineering Health: Introduction to Yoga and Physiology

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Engineering Health: Introduction to Yoga and Physiology por parte de New York University

4.8
estrellas
398 calificaciones
160 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course gives you access to an exploration of physiological systems from the perspective of overall health and wellness. In particular, a focus on yoga, meditation and mindfulness as a therapeutic intervention in chronic illness and long term treatment. This course is intended for yoga practitioners and teachers, as well as college students and medical practitioners looking for a deeper understanding of the physiological benefits of yoga. The value of taking this course is to understand the impact that yoga can have on reducing stress, and aiding in healing or preventing physiological pathologies. Throughout this course, we will learn about different physiological systems and highlight yoga practices that can influence different systems and reduce pathology. Reading material will include analysis of scientific studies that have successfully utilized yoga practice as a tool for treatment of various illnesses such as: hypertension, stress, diabetes, insomnia, chronic pain and PTSD. In order to understanding these conditions, lectures will provide a complete understanding of the correlating physiological system. The weekly course assignment will include physiology lectures, a weekly yoga practice, suggested readings, and optional discussions for a total of 3-5 hours per week. The course will provide a tremendous amount of information and hands on experience for those interested in alternative health perspectives and a more in depth scientific understanding of this ancient healing method....

Principales reseñas

AN

24 de feb. de 2020

In this course I have learned more about anatomy than my entire life and all yoga courses together. I can't enough recommend this course for any yoga level practice wether students or instructors!!

ED

25 de oct. de 2020

Excellent course, it tied together the physiology and yoga very well, the videos that showed how to do the poses and then reminded you what that pose was doing physiologically was very helpful.

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 166 revisiones para Engineering Health: Introduction to Yoga and Physiology

por Candelaria R S

10 de ago. de 2020

Comprehensive, fascinating look at the physiological aspects of yoga practice, topped with yoga poses and meditation suggestions. Thoroughly enjoyed!

por Joe L

4 de abr. de 2020

Really great and thorough course. As someone who is into yoga it was nice to do a deeper dive into a lot of the science behind why it feels so good.

por Rama N

24 de jun. de 2020

Very well designed course, well programmed and executed. Must for anyone who is serious about gaining knowledge of physiology and yoga science.

por Helen R

16 de feb. de 2021

Really interesting and well put together. Great way for anyone interested in exploring the medical and anatomical side of their yoga practice.

por Siminnaz

23 de feb. de 2020

My wholehearted thanks to Coursera, to all knowledgeable professors and Doctors who taught me such precious information to know myself better.

por Lucio G

15 de mar. de 2021

Excelent course! Very professional, comprehensive and useful and put it in an easy way so everyone can understand. Congratulations!!

por andrea s s

2 de nov. de 2021

I really love this course! I learned a lot and it was so interesting: thank you! Wonderful course and wonderful instructors!

por Shruti S

12 de feb. de 2021

It was an amazing course. The content and presentations, the lecture and the yoga to impact various body systems was great.

por fernando g u

2 de ago. de 2020

Este es uno de los cursos más completos a los que he asistido on-line.

Profundidad ,sencillez y buenos profesores.

Gracias

por Yanira C

28 de ene. de 2021

I have learn a lot about physiology, stress and the benefits of yoga, its great to understand how everything correlates!

por Shubashnee S

14 de feb. de 2020

The course was very well presented. I especially enjoyed reading up on the clinical trials and the benefits of yoga.

por Beatriz S S

26 de jun. de 2022

AMAZING! Very interesing and extremely helptul for life.... This should be taught at High Schoold or University!

por Betsy B

26 de abr. de 2022

This course completely changed the way I see yoga and helped me understand how important it can be for health.

por Dr. S W D

24 de jun. de 2020

Great introduction to yoga for Physical Therapists who are considering incorporating yoga into their practice.

por Jose P

25 de may. de 2020

Excelente curso, buena selección de contenidos y buena combinación de practica y teoría. Lo recomiendo al 100%

por Rosa P

21 de jun. de 2020

Great course, I really enjoyed. Thank you very much for creating it, and looking forward to another one! :)

por Richard S

23 de feb. de 2022

A very detailed orienated course that explores health in depth and helps you apply them in real life use.

por Sacha B

10 de feb. de 2021

Great insight into the technical components of yoga and their connection to the human body systems!

por Melissa B

10 de abr. de 2022

This course was well covered with written and video information on how Yoga affects our physioloy.

por Dr. A M S

26 de dic. de 2019

I Met Prof.Alexandra before in real life and she is an amazing human being and very inspirational

por Danny R

28 de feb. de 2022

​ Outstandingly beneficial to my Yogic practice. Excellent presentation of course curriculum.

por DANIELA S M S

4 de ago. de 2021

Realmente creo que el curso está muy bien pensado! Fue una experiencia genial haber participado!

por Milena J

26 de abr. de 2021

I thoroughly appreciated this course for many reasons outlined in reviews throughout, thank you!

por Anton S

9 de ene. de 2021

I have recieved a really useful information and now I have deeper understanding of what yoga is.

por ILIAS M

5 de ago. de 2020

Great course, exremely helpful to people who are involved with Yoga or want to start Yoga