Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Public Health Engineering in Humanitarian Contexts

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Public Health Engineering in Humanitarian Contexts por parte de École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
estrellas
233 calificaciones
70 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The world is facing unprecedented humanitarian needs. Today’s humanitarian crisis tend to be greater in number, often in urban settings, longer in duration and broader in regional impact. They generate human sufferings on a greater scale, disrupt essential services, such as water supply or sanitation and put health of large population at risk. Engineers and technical specialists in water, sanitation, energy, environment, and in other related fields play a vital role to respond to these challenges and growing needs. In the humanitarian sector, they are called the public health engineers and today they are increasingly needed! Why public health engineering matters so much in humanitarian crises? And how its related activities are carrying out in such complex environment? This is what this MOOC is all about! The EPFL, EAWAG-SANDEC and ICRC have decided to partner to guide you through this introduction to the fascinating field of public health engineering in humanitarian contexts....

Principales reseñas

KS
1 de jun. de 2020

It is a course which every one must take not just for community service or career development but also for the knowledge of personal hygiene and to understand the suffering of people around the world

WV
24 de jul. de 2020

It was actually a tough course , well I learnt a lot about humanitarai crises as well as about the segregation of different kinds of waste. And the documentary on jail prisoners amazing

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 68 revisiones para Introduction to Public Health Engineering in Humanitarian Contexts

por Bernhard H

3 de dic. de 2017

As always, the EAWAG / EPFL courses are well structured and give a good overview while providing resources to further study certain topics of the moduls. In this case, the cooperation with ICRC and focus on humanitarian context adds another aspect to the topic. Highly recommended for practioners in the humanitarian field, but also general project managers to obtain enough overview to plan expert skills needed for interventions.

por Jorge Z G

28 de feb. de 2018

A highly recommended course for those of us who work in water and sanitation engineering. It helps to review many concepts and presents materials that can be deepened by following the links to the supporting documents. Besides, we can all live or help in crisis situations, so it is very positive in order to update our foundation knowledge.

por Kamarpal S

2 de jun. de 2020

It is a course which every one must take not just for community service or career development but also for the knowledge of personal hygiene and to understand the suffering of people around the world

por Abinash L

20 de jul. de 2020

The course is very well structured and technically robust as an introductory course. Self paced mode is very helpful to make the most of one's time and learn in a meaningful way. Individuals with prior experience in Humanitarian response, especially WASH interventions, will be able to make even better use of it. The course material is entirely accessible. The technical points are explained very well. The reference materials provided with links is really very useful. The mix of video and text is useful for later reference. The assessment quiz format is also effective. Thanks to EPFL, Coursera and ICRC.

por Bijoy

23 de abr. de 2020

As a Humanitarian worker (Project Officer- WaSH), I sometimes do feel some gaping of my knowledge when implementing something in an isolated or very tough area. But with this course information and way of their technique to overcome any worst situation is very much lit which I think will help me a lot. Thank you very much to all of you and together we can achieve sustainable development goals.

por MAGENE S S

25 de sep. de 2018

Un cours très intéressant et mérite mes sincères félicitations. J'ai eu à amélioré ma compréhension sur les thématiques. Je vous encourage. Seulement si vous pouvez proposer les vidéos en français aussi pour nous les francophones et délivrer les certificats avec les écrits en français également, cela serait très très louable.

Merci!!!!!!

por Mohammad A M

19 de dic. de 2018

The course is very effective for the people like me who is working in the large humanitarian context of the world (Bangladesh_Refugee crisis_Myanmar). The content of the course and the way all content are presented here will help me to deliver the service in waste management and other sector like component of WASH as guidance.

por Oussama M K

8 de dic. de 2017

This course is very rich in information and technical data, it give brief, important information about different topics, and emphasize each topic in an easy way which is interconnected to work and career aspects.I would really thank all Tutors for the great effort to deliver this course for us.

Regards

Oussama Kassem

por Lars S

27 de feb. de 2018

This a great course for anyone who would like to get an introduction into the complexities of public health engineering in humanitarian contexts. General content on humanitarian response in emergencies is linked sufficiently with an introduction to the provision of water, sanitation and hygiene services.

por BARAKA N M

4 de mar. de 2019

This course is very skillful. with this one we learn about road of diseases contamination, water treatment requirements and such exciting knowledge to secure and ensure safe people in conflict areas.

But didn't see anything about EBOLA that nowadays are decimating many victims.

por Karl Z

16 de ago. de 2018

I enjoy it very much even if the process of the peering is not working well. The topic is very interesting and well done and the video support are perferct. The lecturer some have a strange accent but they are very professional and the subtitle helps a lot. Thank you so much.

por Haroune O

15 de dic. de 2017

I am very happy to have participated in this course. I really learned a lot of things that I will soon implement them in the field. You have good training methodology, unfortunately until I did not have my training certificate.

Could you send me my certificate?

por Mayrina F

9 de dic. de 2017

Thank you for all the lecturer and the team, I learn a lot than I expect. Thanks for the videos that give me more understanding about the reality situation. Thanks for assignments, quizzes and exams that make me understand the concept deeply.

por Carlo V E

5 de oct. de 2020

Very well-rounded introduction course to public health engineering in humanitarian contexts. As someone coming from a scientific background it was motivating to see where and how my skills are applicable in the humanitarian field.

por Larbi A S S

22 de sep. de 2019

Un cours très bien monté, avec des informations pertinentes et complètes.

Un immense merci à l'équipe du CICR et Coursera pour cette formation qui j'en suis sur, participera a faire de moi un atout sur le terrain.

Larbi AIT SI SELMI

por Arrate G

19 de sep. de 2020

I really enjoyed the course. It was a lot of content but well summarized and went into technical areas too which I think is important. In addition, I think it was good as well to use real examples to explain certain topics.

por SANSKRUTI P

11 de jun. de 2020

This course has helped me in multiple ways.

I am currently into the UG course and have decided to do pG in Environmental engineering because of this course and it's lessons.

Thank you it was an amazing experience.

por anas a

5 de jul. de 2020

Very interesting, practical and structured course.It helps to have an integrated vision of the public health engineering principles, values, roles and practices especially in an humantarian context.

por Wankhade A V

25 de jul. de 2020

It was actually a tough course , well I learnt a lot about humanitarai crises as well as about the segregation of different kinds of waste. And the documentary on jail prisoners amazing

por Eunice N d G M

2 de ene. de 2019

Learning about the Public Health engineering in humanitation contexts really enriched my knowledge and transformed my way of thinking regarding to the waste we produce in our society.

por Alexia K

10 de nov. de 2019

Un grand merci pour ce cours ! J ai appris énormément de choses . Je trouve qu il est très bien fait et j apprécie énormément la diversité de ce qui est enseigné! Merci !!

por Aneirin W

1 de jul. de 2020

Very good introductory module to public health engineering. Covers a good range of material and indicates very good resources for further reading if desired.

por Marwan A

3 de dic. de 2017

This is one of the best courses that provide a clear orientation on objectives and priorities public health engineering in a humanitarian context.

por Fernando E C R

22 de oct. de 2020

It is a very complete course for a introducction. I was learn many topics for the attention of humanitarian crisis. Thank you very much.

por Anngela J B

28 de oct. de 2020

This course is filled with relevant information and excellent instructors. Thank you very much for the opportunity to be in this class.