Chevron Left
Volver a Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Teach English Now! Foundational Principles por parte de Universidad del Estado de Arizona

4.9
estrellas
8,426 calificaciones
2,997 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Aspectos destacados
Engaging instructors
(331 reseñas)
Interactive content
(104 reseñas)

Principales reseñas

VM
9 de abr. de 2020

Great course! Nice content and great presentation of the material. Useful not only for ESL teachers, but for all language teachers and even for teachers in general. Thank you for creating this course!

CR
12 de may. de 2020

Simply amazing. Loved every single minute of it. I feel myself a much better teacher, I’ve learnt how to see resources to give a better class as well as offer my students better practices of learning.

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 2,958 revisiones para Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

por Fernando B M

22 de nov. de 2020

I took this course to learn how to teach myself better. I feel stuck in my english learning and I'm currently learning a third language, so this was a pretty nice oportunity. In the end... I actually feel motivated to get into teaching, and even better, what I learned here can translate (Pun intended) to any other topic, not only language teaching, something that will come very handy as a Software developer and musician... I don't know, after TOEFL, I might just go for TESOL.

por Rosa I F M

8 de sep. de 2020

I gave a 5 starts rate because i really like the way you presented the part 1: materials and videos was so precisely ant not too long, that study was not feel like taking a course but reviewing things that we may be achieved a long time ago but we had forgotten somehow. it has a personal approach to me as a person and as a teacher, in order to never forget how ridiculous we have to be while teaching to help our students to feel really comfy with their learning process.

Thanks,

por Engaisi P

25 de ago. de 2018

I loved and enjoyed the teaching style of this course. It modeled the way I should be teaching perfectly and so I was able to connect the content I was learning to the way the teacher was teaching. Lots of teacher talk and body language and scaffolding was modeled.

I also learned very useful information which I look forward in using in my own classes in the future.

All in all, spectacular. Keep it up and I hope those who come after me will enjoy it just as much.

And thank you!

por Steven D J

29 de sep. de 2019

Thank you for this help on teacher/student relations; sharing the importance of practice, helping students feel smart, relating teaching experiences to others, and stressing how hard it is to perform something new. This class has helped me with my teaching practice, to make certain my classroom is more of a co-op with students. Dr. Dixon is so engaging as a teacher and mentor, I'm now going to search for his books to further learn his techniques to help develop mine.

por Rakhmonova M

18 de sep. de 2020

I love teaching. But sometimes I feel that my students do not want to learn English. And I always ask myself: "Why are they lazy? Why aren't they doing anything?" And I found the answer. Because I did not give them enough chance to practise. Almost all of my lessons were organized by lecturing. I used to teach only grammar rules. I can't remember using body language during my lessons. After taking part in this course I learned many things. Thank you all very much!!!

por Maryam A

20 de may. de 2020

I absolutely loved this course. It was fun and with a great structure. I learned a lot easily and it was so fun I didn't wanted it to finish. Time passes so quickly with Teach English Now. I want to thank Dr. Dixon for his wonderful teaching and all the Teach English Now team for making this amazing course. I also want to thank Coursera team for letting me take this course and giving me this wonderful opportunity.

I don't know how to thank you enough.

Thanks a lot

Maryam

por Kirsten K

15 de nov. de 2019

The videos are very well done and the course material was a good start to learning Teaching English as a Second Language theory and foundations. There is some delays in waiting for peer reviews and to be able to review others work which can affect your timeline and goals, and peer reviews can be unfair and there seems to be no recourse to challenge them, but the assignments are simple and you can just re-do them and get different peers to grade you which worked fine.

por Lorain B

17 de abr. de 2017

This course is essential for anyone who wants to be a language teacher. I have taken an online advance TESOL certificate but unlike it, TEACH ENGLISH NOW! Foundation Principles course is what I needed: the video lectures, the readings were all presented clearly and the tasks are reasonable. It's refreshing for those who have been teaching English for a long time who might be thinking of giving up or who might be very tired by now, this course is just invigorating !

por Oluwatoyin O E

24 de abr. de 2018

I knew this course would be great and worth it, what I did not expect was to be wowed. The modules are sooo rich, so easy to comprehend and very applicable to everyday life. I'm not a teacher yet but I'm already applying these principles. I have a nephew who is having troubles learning a second language and I found myself giving him tips from what I learned here. I can't wait to begin the rest of the courses. A big thank you to the instructors. Thanks you!

por Yulia N M

25 de oct. de 2016

It's very useful though theoretical course,there are many advice how to teach; methods,approuches and devices.It's a ineresting view with metaphors and psychological articals,learning strategies and recommendation how to keep professional without burning out but being bright candle with appealing fire .Not only burning to teach but ignite this fire in your students! I appreciate for this course and I hope it will be better and interesting in further parts.

por Richard R

17 de oct. de 2016

ASU has done a great job of putting together materials to present the ideas needed to teach English as a second language. It's far and away the most well organized and presented class I've taken through Coursera. I am auditing the class so I can't speak to the response times and response quality of the instructors but the forums seem active and I did get responses to my questions within a week. I look forward to enrolling for the certificate next year.

por Ronald Y

12 de jun. de 2020

This is a great course. I taught for 20 years in schools of Medicine without any instruction on how to teach. This course has opened my eyes to the possibilities of teaching language in multiple ways. The presentations are clear and concise and easily understood. The combination of videos and written information makes for an excellent teaching strategy. Finally, I really enjoyed taking the course and learning so much more about how to teach languages.

por Deborah A H

2 de nov. de 2020

Thank you so much! Coursera is the best! I really enjoyed and learned a lot from all the well-explained and clearly demonstrated lectures that I am sure I can also apply in the near future. All the concepts were made simple and easy to remember. I also sincerely appreciate the metaphors and the Taxonomy at the end of the course. I will definitely remember all of them. Great work, Professors and Creators of Coursera. Salute and more power to you all!

por LESLYN M

10 de sep. de 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. The content was well presented and the videos were very interesting and appropriate lengths. As a result, I was able to easily follow and retain the information and visualize how I will apply some of the new techniques I have learned. The peer assignments were thought provoking and it was beneficial to see what my peers in the class had to say. Thank you to all of the teachers, peers and wider production team.

por Heather L

22 de jun. de 2020

Really great course to start my TOEFL journey. I have been out of college for over twenty years and this was a great way to get back into further learning. The content was interesting without being overwhelming and was presented in a simple way. Dr.Shane Dixon has great energy and is able to make the concepts relevant but also inspiring. In addition, I really enjoyed getting to interact with other learners as we reviewed each other’s submissions.

por Adalto F d G

22 de feb. de 2016

The course is excellent! In fact, the professor, Dr. Shane Dixon is an expert able to capture and keep our attention.

More yet, the content and the approach used are really good! The way Dr. Shane conduct the course and explain how to become a better teacher make this course a must for future teachers.

I highly recommend, not just for english teachers, but those who wants to improve their abilities as professors at colleges and universities.

por Nadine E M K

24 de nov. de 2020

My name is: Nadine Morrison, I am from Panama Republic of Panama. I am greatful for the opportunity you gave me to participate in this course. It was very helpful. I appreciated the way teacher presented the class. I have learn a lot of techniques and strategies I didn't know. I cann't afford the complite year, I know I learn someting in this course. Thank you so much for your time and effort.

Best Regards,

Nadine Elizabeth Morrison Knight

por Susan S G S

14 de nov. de 2020

I am so thankful for having the opportunity to learn to teach English with this awesome team! Dr. Shane Dixon, Andrea Harawa, Justin Shewell and all their supporting team, and of course, The Arizona State University, I appreciate your professionalism, all the tips and guidance provided in this course. This course is a great option to improve our teaching strategies and build new skills and abilities to do a wonderful job a ESL teachers.

por Roohi R D

14 de oct. de 2019

I found the course particularly exceptional and exciting as the things that were taught and how they were taught, was the first of its kind in my experience of traditional learning. I believe second language is one of the most difficult things to teach. Our teachers in the course, by way of teaching the modules taught us techniques of HOW language should be taught. I'm looking forward to learning more from them in the following courses.

por Alexandra P

10 de jul. de 2018

This course is amazing, I've got a lot of new useful information in really concentrated form and it didn't take a lot of time. In my school and university there was a huge amount of useless information, and it was very hard to isolate important parts from the whole, and in this Coursera course I see absolutely opposite situation. Everything I read and saw in this course will be useful in my further work.Thank you.Kindest regards, Alex

por Nomindari B

20 de ago. de 2020

First of all, thank you so much for empowering me and building me up through so many interesting lessons and reading materials. it is very helpful and it is absolutely one of the best courses. I'm so grateful for the professors and teachers who taught this course and prepared this course for us on behalf of the teachers all over the world. I am willing to use methods I have learnt from this course to my students at GMIT, Mongolia:-)

por Angelica S B

2 de dic. de 2015

Oh my goodness! I can't say enough about how great this course was for me. Dr. Shane Dixon did an excellent job of sharing the concepts in ways that were easily digested (more cake please). The course was set up better than any course I've taken online. The use of the metaphors truly helped me to easily recall what the class was about and I believe it will always be part of my teaching future. Thank you all for such a great course.

por ALAMURI S N

15 de may. de 2020

I am Sri Nidhi and I am from India. I am very happy with the course and the instructors - Dr. Shane and his partner. I am very new to the teaching profession and to be frank, I never gave a thought about the principles that I have been using since my first day in teaching language. I am so glad that I came across this course and definitely this course already started making difference in my performace in all zones. Much obliged !

por Gladys

28 de nov. de 2018

I highly recommend this course! It highlights teaching techniques language educators can use to ensure successful language teaching and learning in their classroom. Moreover, the modules are interesting and easy to understand. Every language teachers, novice and seasoned alike, must take this course. Kudos to Dr. Shane Dixon, Dr. Justin Shewell, Ms. Andrea Haraway from Arizona State University for such a wonderful online course!

por Kendria R J

6 de oct. de 2020

I really liked the casual yet professional set up of this course. Being a teacher coach in my private life, I understand ALL the information was good. I especially liked the part on Teacher Burnout (it's my specialty niche with mentoring teachers.) I understand WHY you put in as a module. I get that YOU GET IT!!! and thank you for your contribution. If you need any help or more testimonials I am available. www.iamkendria.com