Chevron Left
Volver a Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Teach English Now! Foundational Principles por parte de Universidad del Estado de Arizona

4.9
estrellas
6,566 calificaciones
2,240 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Aspectos destacados
Engaging instructors
(331 revisiones)
Interactive content
(104 revisiones)

Principales revisiones

VM

Apr 10, 2020

Great course! Nice content and great presentation of the material. Useful not only for ESL teachers, but for all language teachers and even for teachers in general. Thank you for creating this course!

JJ

Aug 18, 2018

This is a very useful course as I begin my studies to prepare to teach English abroad. ASU is a recognized university and the price is very reasonable. I look forward to the next course in the series.

Filtrar por:

226 - 250 de 2,198 revisiones para Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

por Wang Y

Feb 08, 2020

This is my first couse finished on Coursera. I learned a lot, thanks very much! And I really love the style and content of Dr. Shane's teaching. Thank you Dr. Shane!!!I want to buy your books and continue studying from you!

por Regina J

Nov 15, 2019

I really like this series. It was extremely information, and great as a review. I an supposed to be able to teach second language learners according to me credential, but I don't know. This makes me feel better prepared.

por Sergey D

Dec 24, 2016

I love this course! Wanted to say Thank you to our teachers of this course! Something i already knew and something was really interesting and new for me :) Nice course and Awesome (with the capital A, of course) teachers :)

por Muhammad W S

Apr 12, 2020

I learn so many things in this first part of Teaching english now course.There was so many things i was missing in my teaching experience now its clear in my mind Thanks Coursera & Arizona for this amazing course series :)

por Kriebel D S

Jul 18, 2018

Awesome and useful course! Amazing teachers, interesting studying and great assignments! I really recommend this course who is going to teach English as The Second Language in the nearest future!

por Joshua O

Dec 04, 2017

Awesome course. I have learnt a lot from this course. I say big thank you to Arizona State University, the professors and coursera for providing the platform for us learn these great principles for teaching a new language.

por Michael B

Jan 14, 2017

Very informative. Although an introductory course, this program was full of teaching techniques and principals that every prospective and current teacher should acquire and implement in to their own lesson plan and style.

por Spica R M N

Feb 15, 2019

I am very glad that I was able to finish this course. It will definitely help me a lot when teaching English to my learners here in Japan. I aim to acquire the TESOL Certificate so I'll do my very best! Thank you so much!

por Malebo J S

Mar 27, 2016

The People Teaching this course are the best and they have so much life and show a good interest, they actually teach and they make the course enjoyable and by so doing i was able to pass all my quizzes and assignments.

por Erica M

Jul 25, 2019

I enjoyed how they showed examples and explained in detail teaching techniques. I am very excited to continue exploring these tactics and reaching out to students to be able to teach them in the best possible way I can.

por Rocio G d l R

Jul 27, 2017

A lot of things said in this course are common sense but they are said in a way that helps a teacher find his own teaching philosophy and the best way to approach teaching. It is very good and I definitely recommend it!

por Thu A P

Jan 29, 2018

This great course gave me a vast host of knowledge on teaching in general that I have ever thought of before. I want to thankfully send my wishes for all members in the team that worked hard to bring this course to us.

por Mrinal V

Nov 26, 2017

I thank everyone so much for developing this specialisation. The courses are well designed and contain information that really improves the techniques and increases the efficiency of teachers. I am learning a lot. :)

por Althea K L

Mar 08, 2020

I'm grateful for this refresher course. It helped me reflect on my teaching journey. Kudos to the teachers who made the lessons fun, interesting, and easy to follow. You inspire me to continue to do my best. Cheers!

por LM

Oct 31, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. The video lessons were very interesting, and at times quite humorous, which made the content quite clear and easy to understand. I am highly satisfied with the knowledge that I gained.

por David A

Apr 08, 2016

The teachers are clear and offer insight into the correct way students should be learning language. The essential questions offer a great way to stimulate critical thought and helps in the digestion of the material.

por DARA K M

Jun 17, 2017

Although I have read many articles, books, and papers, I learned a lot of new, practical information which has widen my understanding and knowledge of teaching and learning a language.

For these, I am very grateful!

por Ruslan B

Dec 21, 2016

Great course! Great instructors! Great teachers and content. I strongly recommend to green horn teachers as well as experienced teachers. Thanks for this course! I will finish this specialization even both parts)))

por Marta K G

Nov 15, 2016

Thank you for creating the course! It must have cost you a lot of effort and I really appreciate it. Thank you for all the wonderful and shrewd metaphors that helped me visualise certain problems. You are great :-)

por Hassan M A

Mar 29, 2016

It is a great course .

Thanks to all the instructors ,but please I have the same problem with my grading of assignment Peer Review -Week 5.

I am still waiting for my grading ,although I completed it all .

Hassan Ali

por Mohammad G

May 25, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I have read almost all the contents elsewhere, but the selection was good and I think those who have not taken or studied any language teaching courses would benefit the most from it.

por Karmen R

May 21, 2020

Video presenters did a great job and I only saw one error in all of the text that accompanied the video which is a HUGE improvement over the other courses I recently did which had edit errors in almost every week.

por Sue J D

Jan 10, 2019

So far, I have finished most of the first of the courses. I have fully enjoyed it. The only issue so far is that there are not always enough peer responses to respond to when I am finished and ready to move on.

por Saralilian R M

Apr 02, 2017

Very informational. I really learnt a lot from this course and definitely recommend it to everyone who is teaching. Not necessarily English, but if you teach music, maths, etc... this can be a very useful course.

por Aigul Z

Feb 08, 2016

Great!

Thank you for creating such educational platform which is accessible in every part of the world!

Another gratitude to the course tutors and creative team! Well done!

I feel I am a part of network of teachers!