Chevron Left
Volver a Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Teach English Now! Foundational Principles por parte de Universidad del Estado de Arizona

4.9
estrellas
6,522 calificaciones
2,220 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Aspectos destacados
Engaging instructors
(331 revisiones)
Interactive content
(104 revisiones)

Principales revisiones

VM

Apr 10, 2020

Great course! Nice content and great presentation of the material. Useful not only for ESL teachers, but for all language teachers and even for teachers in general. Thank you for creating this course!

JJ

Aug 18, 2018

This is a very useful course as I begin my studies to prepare to teach English abroad. ASU is a recognized university and the price is very reasonable. I look forward to the next course in the series.

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 2,184 revisiones para Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

por Demrie M A

Mar 06, 2018

I learned so much in a short period of time, but never felt rushed or overwhelmed. Each week had just the right amount of information. I had to work ahead for the last few weeks because of being away for a week in college, but it was doable!

por vildanova e

Apr 10, 2016

Мне очень понравился данный курс. Очень понравился наш учитель. Доступно объясняет, манера подачи интересная. С удовольствием закончила данный курс и продолжу все остальные курсы специализации. Спасибо команде проекта за такую возможность!

por Hassan R R

Dec 23, 2017

It is a really great and useful course, what I have got from this course haven't got from any courses yet. This is an absolutely encouraging and motivational course ever I took.

I am thankful to all teaching staffs specially Dr. Shane Dixon

por Asil A

Aug 07, 2016

It's very interesting, brief and exciting for beginners and encourage them to develop themselves in teaching. The instructors are amazing. They present things in an exciting way. Actually, I rarely got bored while listening to any of them.

por Ariel S M

Feb 27, 2016

I am so impressed with the quality of style and content that this course was presented. I could see careful forethought, planning and execution of an online course that was a joy for me to be a part of. I totally recommend this course!

por IMAHKÜS N O

Apr 27, 2020

Although I have taught english to non-english speaking people for many years as a way to earn extra money as I traveled to foreign countries, this course has given me added information and value as I go forward to practice in this field

por Frank C Z

Oct 12, 2015

What I love about this course is that it sets the foundations for reflective teaching while it introduces the topics for language learning and language acquisition. I'm looking forward to continuing with the rest of the specializations.

por Ekaterina A

Jul 24, 2017

Thank you for such an interesting course I was really enjoying every lesson.

Given comparisons: language as a cake or fire or camera are very useful for me as the teacher.

Hope the next courses will be as exciting as previously were.

por Catherine N

May 12, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The only thing is that mostly answering essential questions people do "paperwork" I felt like i was the only one doing videos, was hoping to see people expressing their opinions... But sill it was great.

por Brian M

Dec 10, 2016

Excellent course! It really surprised me how easy it was to understand all the concepts show, and yet all these concepts are really useful. As someone that loves education, these is a really good introduction into the teaching world.

por Martin R

Feb 09, 2016

This is an excellent course. It has been designed accurately for professionals who want to get the ESL Teaching Certificate. I enjoyed learning about the language foundational principles lectures, theories, teaching techniques, etc.

por Rafael D

Dec 14, 2015

The best Teacher's Course I've ever seen! Prof.Dixon literally radiates energy, contentment, and inspiration - I felt so much inspiration and eagerness I never had before!

Enroll, and you would never regret. Not a second, believe me.

por Muhammed A

Nov 04, 2019

hello my name is Muhammed Azzouz

ı am happy that i have compleated the first level in this course .

This course was exciting.

This is a very useful course as I begin my studies to prepare to teach English abroad.

thanks my teachers.

por Erik M R R

Feb 14, 2017

My name is Erik Ramirez from Guatemala. I really enjoyed this fantastic program. I liked the fact that you not only get the theory but also can apply it in your classrooms obtaining great results. I highly recommend this program.

por Žygimantė N

Sep 11, 2019

Great course for the present or teachers to be. Valuable both practical and theoretical parts of the course. A source for a teacher to re-evaluate himself and possibly change or revise his/her approaches to teaching a language.

por Angelina D

May 04, 2019

This is a great introductory course. It includes a good amount of information that is explained in ways that are easy to understand and remember. I look forward to continuing this course and earning my certificate. Thank you!

por Happymark J P

Jun 19, 2018

The course is so latest,i have enjoyed it so much.Am waiting for the TESOL Certificate 2 course in order to get my certificate which will enable me to add my career.Thank you COURSERA TEAM and all Lectures for good organization.

por Lynn E K

Aug 24, 2019

I learned so much so quickly! I am more of a visual learner, so I'm so grateful for the captions. I listened to the videos then was able to go back and re-read everything and really acquire the knowledge. Beats taking notes!

por Cecilia T

Oct 28, 2016

Hi! Thanks so much for having this course for free, that gives me an idea if I actually want to pay for it or not. The teachers are really great. I hope to join this course again as soon as I can pay for it!

Great job guys!!!

por J J

Mar 12, 2016

Very well organized. Video lectures are clear and build on previous lessons. It's obvious that this course was developed with the learner very much in mind. Great way to show teachers (who are their students) how to teach.

por EI M T

Jan 23, 2020

Foundational principles are very useful for me. By using these teaching methods, I improve my teaching skills. So I like this course very much and I want to attend educational teaching methods training courses more and more.

por Ashley R

Jan 21, 2016

This was a great overview to teaching English. It suggested a few teaching techniques and showed how being flexible in your teaching style can help. Overall, great introduction. I can't wait to see the next class in this Tea

por Eriwell R H

Jan 03, 2016

I learned a lot from this course because it is very well presented. You can tell that the instructors are enjoying what they are doing. I learned a lot from this course. Keep up the good work and more success to this course!

por Wang Y

Feb 08, 2020

This is my first couse finished on Coursera. I learned a lot, thanks very much! And I really love the style and content of Dr. Shane's teaching. Thank you Dr. Shane!!!I want to buy your books and continue studying from you!

por Regina J

Nov 15, 2019

I really like this series. It was extremely information, and great as a review. I an supposed to be able to teach second language learners according to me credential, but I don't know. This makes me feel better prepared.