Chevron Left
Volver a Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Teach English Now! Foundational Principles por parte de Universidad del Estado de Arizona

4.9
estrellas
8,481 calificaciones
3,022 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Aspectos destacados
Engaging instructors
(331 reseñas)
Interactive content
(104 reseñas)

Principales reseñas

JJ
17 de ago. de 2018

This is a very useful course as I begin my studies to prepare to teach English abroad. ASU is a recognized university and the price is very reasonable. I look forward to the next course in the series.

CR
12 de may. de 2020

Simply amazing. Loved every single minute of it. I feel myself a much better teacher, I’ve learnt how to see resources to give a better class as well as offer my students better practices of learning.

Filtrar por:

226 - 250 de 2,969 revisiones para Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

por mint t

26 de nov. de 2020

The course is great! The content are well arranged and succinct and interesting. How the teaching team presents all the ideas has shown that they are professional. The course is really friendly to me as a non-native English speaker. Highly recommend for any ESL teacher.

por Jinan F

1 de nov. de 2020

this course is very interesting though it has to do with the linguistic side and my domain is literature. it helps teachers act and do well in their classroom by strategies and techniques that are really fruitful. thank you for giving us this chance to enroll for free...

por saba

17 de jul. de 2020

all the materials are great and the videos are perfect in the terms of being short and efficient .also the fact that they build a strong community by nudging you toward upload your assignment and review and give comment to your peers makes this course even more special.

por sean

29 de jun. de 2019

Hi, there. I found this "Teach English Now" course on foundation principles to be great in every way. Not only was it enlighting and, full of information but, it also shows how one can become an effective language teacher. Thank you Shane, and, the rest of your team too.

por Mhd G A

14 de sep. de 2018

I REALLY love it! Thank you very much! I've never been a part of an online course; this is my first time, and it will never be the last!

I LOVE YOU all! VERY VERY interesting, beneficial, well-prepared ... I love everything you delivered! WOW!

I'm very happy I got 99! WOW!

por Tatiana

27 de nov. de 2017

This course is really helpful for teachers and persons who would like to start teaching. From my point of view, the best part of the course is summarizing your new knowledge by writing peer-graded assignments. I really enjoyed the course and hope to do the other parts.

por Tory

19 de jun. de 2020

I'm grateful for the financial aid I've received to cover this course. It took me one week to literally wolf all the information down. I love the professors and I love the ideas they share. I can't wait to continue this amazing journey to TESOL certification with ASU!

por Kartini R

9 de may. de 2020

I like to follow the course in which I learn some methods of language learning that I should apply in my classroom and for me myself. In this course I also learn how to have a sense of control and how to have a fun classroom teaching without being burn out. Thank you.

por Carlos C R

17 de ene. de 2017

Great way to introduce us to the joy of Teaching English. It explains many resources to get an idea of how could you do it the right way on Teaching English, tips and advices and the best techniques for learning and acquiring English as a foreign or second language.

por D.M.D.Kumarihamy N

19 de dic. de 2016

Excellent!

I enjoyed leaning this course.It helped me to recollect my teaching experiences into the theories taught by my instructors of the Teach English Now; and share experiences of the teachers from the global society of education who participated in the course.

por Ajith C

31 de ene. de 2020

This is a fantastic course! This course teaches you the practical things that you need to know to become a successful ESL teacher. This is a well thought out course, has a very scientific approach towards learning and the teachers are very dedicated and passionate.

por Erika F

7 de jul. de 2020

I love this course because it is well conceived with lots of didactic strategies. The metaphors are great, but the vivid example of Shane Dixon is enlightening, just as a candle. This course was my anti-depressive pill through a great family problem. Thanks a lot!

por Lucas M

1 de dic. de 2016

I really enjoyed course 1, it was easy to understand and follow! I only wish that I could get my papers scored faster so it shows as complete.... still I can work at my own pace (fast) and earn my certificate so I can get to the good stuff... working as a teacher!

por Suyi L

6 de oct. de 2020

I have watched all the videos and read all the articles in this course carefully and loved the teachings here. Thanks for providing the excellent online program! I believe that this certificate program can help me become a better language teacher and researcher.

por Ester A

23 de may. de 2019

I was VERY happy to be a student of this course, because to study for getting TESOL was my long-term dream. I never thought that it will be possible in my life and, especially, in my provincial town. But with coursera this miracle has happen! Thank you so much!

por Malak H

29 de oct. de 2018

Most amazing and enjoyable course. I'm very thankful, appreciating the efforts done to perform this course and the information given in a very lovely, motivating and fluently way. Thanks again, deciding to be with you for the next coming courses.

sincerely Malak

por Abdul H K

20 de jul. de 2020

Hello, Thank you so much for offering this amazing course. I have learned a lot during this course and I would highly recommend it to all the new language learners and teachers . I am also very much thankful to Dr Shane Dixon and mam Andrea Haraway. Good luck

por Janaina F M S

26 de feb. de 2016

Shane is such a great teacher. I have learned a lot from him during this module and I can already apply all the techniques in the classroom and also while advising the teachers of the school I am a assistant coordinator at. Thank you, Shane, Coursera and ASU!

por Jorleen J F

2 de nov. de 2020

This course is an eye-opener for me. I realized how important it is to have foundational principles in teaching a language. I also enjoyed the videos and metaphors taught in each module. I learned how to be confident & to enjoy my job as a teacher. Thank you!

por Ngwalem B N

28 de may. de 2019

I learned so much. It was more than what i expected. The courses are well organised and informative. I love the videos and the fact that there is a summary at the end of each module. Also, Taking several quizzes help you retain what you learned. I loved it!

por Eman A A

14 de sep. de 2017

an amazing course,I'm an English teacher and I've got a lot of useful teaching ideas

I've already applied some techniques that i took in this course and , teachers in the course have the ability to deliver the information in an easy and a professional way.

por J. J T

3 de mar. de 2016

I love this course! Great videos and guided metaphors to understand the foundation principles of teaching. I had attended a traditional master course in language teaching, yet it's at ASU Tesol via Coursera I learned and understand the subject content more.

por Paul M

19 de nov. de 2020

I really learned a lot of concepts that were not discussed before. I have fun with the peer reviews and reading their opinions on the essential assumptions. I also had a great time sharing my views in the teaching profession with the essential assumptions.

por Nathália d S B

1 de oct. de 2020

It was without a doubt the best course I ever took! The course was very well prepared and thought out by everyone involved. All the classes are amazing! I am sure it will be a knowledge that I will take into my professional life. I thank everyone involved!