Chevron Left
Volver a Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Teach English Now! Foundational Principles por parte de Universidad del Estado de Arizona

4.9
estrellas
7,983 calificaciones
2,825 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Aspectos destacados
Engaging instructors
(331 reseñas)
Interactive content
(104 reseñas)

Principales reseñas

JJ

Aug 18, 2018

This is a very useful course as I begin my studies to prepare to teach English abroad. ASU is a recognized university and the price is very reasonable. I look forward to the next course in the series.

VM

Apr 10, 2020

Great course! Nice content and great presentation of the material. Useful not only for ESL teachers, but for all language teachers and even for teachers in general. Thank you for creating this course!

Filtrar por:

251 - 275 de 2,785 revisiones para Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

por Roberto T C

Jan 29, 2017

I am very glad of having the opportunity to take this module, Dr. Shane and his colleagues were wonderful. I was very delighted with the explanations and finally I am processing all that information to apply it in future classes.

Thank you very much.

por Jenny Z

Mar 27, 2016

Great course. Leaned a lot and have a lot of fun. Enjoy it a lot. Dr. Shane Dixon is truly five star teacher. His performance makes this course easy to learn. All the characters he played make the boring language theories live. Thank you very much!

por José J S C

Mar 20, 2017

this course reminded me of the importance in encourage the students in learning english in an interactive and motivated way letting them take control in their learning as well as the teacher in order to create the best astmosphere for the students!

por Zafarul H

Oct 10, 2020

It was a wonderful experience learning with Coursera. It is my first time doing an online course and I enjoyed it very much. The content, instructors, methodology and overall setup is amazing. Looking forward to joining new course soon. Thank you!

por Kateryna M

Mar 18, 2019

I am very grateful for creating this course. It helped me to broaden my understanding of teaching process, to find out new techniques and methods and to get inspiration and motivation. I can't wait getting my students "out of the classroom door":)

por Jose F L G

Apr 23, 2016

I had taken several courses on the basic principles of English language teaching. Foundatioinal Principles made clear a lot of concepts I had only partly understood in the past. I can recommend this course to both novice and experienced teachers.

por maria v

Feb 11, 2016

I highly recommend this amazing course which is part of a four part series for Tesol certificate. It is full of great information and I learnt so much. All the videos and information is so professional and the tutors fantastic. Thank you so much.

por Herb R

Jul 28, 2020

While a bit easy (I mean it's an intro and material is peer-reviewed, not graded by professors), it is very informative and captivating. A lot of fun to interact with others and be introduced in an easy way to quite serious and complex material.

por Оля М

Nov 04, 2019

All is excelent ! All matherial help us understand foundation principles for tought in cllass! Thank for this shans AZU! Thank all people who involwed in this process!! Becouse all matherial create for understand and use in real life!Thank you!

por Jawad K

May 07, 2017

I loved all the lessons and quizzes. Amazing teachers and great perspective. I never thought my online learning experience is going to be so good. Dr. Shane you are GEM! Would love to meet you one day face to face. My experience was fantastic!!!

por HANY A E M H A

Jan 24, 2017

I have learned a lot from this course even I have taken the TEFL from USA .

the teachers and the teaching methods in this course are so good .

i have learned many teaching techniques from the teachers than the material it self specially DR.shwan

por Rajapakse M S N E

Apr 07, 2020

I couldn't rest until I completed this course! It was that good. I highly recommend it to TESL teachers. Thank you to the team of wonderful lecturers who took me on this wonderful journey of learning, relearning, unlearning and learning again!

por Beberly D L C

Jan 09, 2018

Great course content, professors and videos. The tests were also very objective and I liked the fact that there were many of them, as online students we do need lots of feedback and the tests provided that.

Thanks, I really enjoyed the course.

por Demrie M A

Mar 06, 2018

I learned so much in a short period of time, but never felt rushed or overwhelmed. Each week had just the right amount of information. I had to work ahead for the last few weeks because of being away for a week in college, but it was doable!

por Thi H P

Oct 27, 2020

I love the way that the course deliver the contents. Thanks for the useful and great theories and skill presented in the course which I can apply in my classroom, e.g: 80/20, body language, scaffolding, teacher talk, teacher philosophy,....

por vildanova e

Apr 10, 2016

Мне очень понравился данный курс. Очень понравился наш учитель. Доступно объясняет, манера подачи интересная. С удовольствием закончила данный курс и продолжу все остальные курсы специализации. Спасибо команде проекта за такую возможность!

por Hassan R R

Dec 23, 2017

It is a really great and useful course, what I have got from this course haven't got from any courses yet. This is an absolutely encouraging and motivational course ever I took.

I am thankful to all teaching staffs specially Dr. Shane Dixon

por Asil A

Aug 07, 2016

It's very interesting, brief and exciting for beginners and encourage them to develop themselves in teaching. The instructors are amazing. They present things in an exciting way. Actually, I rarely got bored while listening to any of them.

por Ariel S M

Feb 27, 2016

I am so impressed with the quality of style and content that this course was presented. I could see careful forethought, planning and execution of an online course that was a joy for me to be a part of. I totally recommend this course!

por IMAHKÜS N O

Apr 27, 2020

Although I have taught english to non-english speaking people for many years as a way to earn extra money as I traveled to foreign countries, this course has given me added information and value as I go forward to practice in this field

por Francisco C Z

Oct 12, 2015

What I love about this course is that it sets the foundations for reflective teaching while it introduces the topics for language learning and language acquisition. I'm looking forward to continuing with the rest of the specializations.

por Deeksha s

Aug 06, 2020

Through this course I was able to find the mistakes I used to do while teaching. It was even fun learning. The research that was done by the team is appreciable and that has supported us to learn better. Thank You for wonderful course.

por Danielle F Y

Aug 23, 2020

This course greatly assisted me in building on some information that I had already know. It broaden my perspective and developed my skills on going about to be a better language teacher in the future. I highly recommend this course.

por Ekaterina A

Jul 24, 2017

Thank you for such an interesting course I was really enjoying every lesson.

Given comparisons: language as a cake or fire or camera are very useful for me as the teacher.

Hope the next courses will be as exciting as previously were.

por Tabassum B J

Jul 11, 2020

I have really like this course . Quite useful for educators . I have come across with new concept which i have got to know for the very first time and i am going to apply it in my teaching techniques . Thank you so much . - Tabassum