Chevron Left
Volver a Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Teach English Now! Foundational Principles por parte de Universidad del Estado de Arizona

4.9
estrellas
6,013 calificaciones
2,007 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Aspectos destacados
Engaging instructors
(331 revisiones)
Interactive content
(104 revisiones)

Principales revisiones

JJ

Aug 18, 2018

This is a very useful course as I begin my studies to prepare to teach English abroad. ASU is a recognized university and the price is very reasonable. I look forward to the next course in the series.

SS

Nov 30, 2019

A great course! It is a well planned and goes light taking into consideration that the learners work as teachers. I have become a great fan of Dr. Dixon and hope to learn more in the modules to come.

Filtrar por:

351 - 375 de 1,961 revisiones para Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

por Nguyễn T V A

May 28, 2017

This course is really great! It offers basic concepts of being a language teacher, particularly an English teacher to everyone who wants to work in this profession.

por Ashley K

Jan 25, 2017

Such talented teachers, entertaining videos, a great place to explore to see if ESL teaching is something you'd enjoy for free before committing to a certification.

por Almagul

Apr 14, 2016

I really enjoyed the course. normally online courses are a bit of a struggle to me. but not with this course. It kept me interested throughout all month. Thank you!

por Adriana O G

Mar 09, 2016

I liked it! I learned many interesting facts, ideas and strategies; I took a lot of notes, they are a treasure! The ideas of teaching with videos is marvelous, fun!

por Yvon M

Jan 23, 2018

This is an excellent course! Well designed and comprehensive. I want to recommend it to all who want to learn about teaching language acquisition. Very impressed!

por Niyazi P

Nov 03, 2017

I'd like to thank to all lecturers. I really got benefit from the first part of the course. it was really effective to improve our teaching methods. Thanks a lot.

por Olga S

Jul 15, 2017

Thank you so much for this course! It's very educative even for experienced teachers as it helps to review the basic teaching principles in a very engaging way!!!

por Ben H

Aug 14, 2016

This was my first online experience and I found it to be excellent and hope to complete many other courses -- what an excellent way to promote life long learning!

por Saleem G A A

Mar 31, 2018

It's a very powerful course. thanks for Dr. Shane Dixon, Andrea Haraway, the Arizona State University and everyone worked on this course including coursera.org.

por Casandra R

Jan 27, 2018

highly informative course with clear instructions on proper language teaching skills that will certify one to succeed in English teaching. Very much recommended.

por Neal L S

Feb 02, 2016

This course was informative and helpful. Thank you for your efforts to keep English teachers around the world up to date on current language teaching practices.

por Gökhan Y

Feb 12, 2020

excellent course for English teachers just be careful and follow directions and take your certificate...

appreciate your efforts ASU & COURSERA... THANKS A LOT.

por Abigail L

Oct 27, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. Not only did it give me a good foundation for the TESOL course, but it also made me want to expand my learning outside this site.

por Paula S

Sep 12, 2018

Finished and am excited to continue to get the TESOL certificate. Essential questions, peer reviews and videos were very interesting and motivating. Thank you.

por Alexandre K C

Jul 30, 2017

The professors were great and very didatical. Dr Dixon is really inspiring in the way he teaches and the pace and the structure of the course were really good.

por Mahitab A A H

Jul 05, 2019

A very useful course. They provide amazing material presented by excellent teachers who make everything clear. I find this study really helpful and enjoyable.

por Jamie d P

Jul 05, 2019

I learned a lot from this course and all the lessons are very meaningful. The way the instructors delivered the lessons is very lively. I enjoyed this course!

por Edwin Y R M

Mar 08, 2019

I learned a lot about language acquisition, language metaphores, teaching methodologies, strategies ando mony more. This introductory course is just amaizing.

por Jamie d

Nov 04, 2018

Learned so much! Excited for the completion of this whole course! So thankful for this platform I wouldn't be able to continue if not for coursera. Thank you!

por Sonia F

Sep 24, 2018

Great foundation information on the teaching profession, thanks Doc. Shane for the wonderful way you presented this course. Hope to see you on the next! Sonia

por Linda D

Sep 05, 2017

I learned so much practical information from the videos that the instructors made. This first course of the series noticeably improved my teaching! Thank you.

por Alesya T

Jun 12, 2016

Amazing instructors and a very well designed course. It was easy to follow, understand and apply the principles.

Highly recommend!

Good luck future teachers! :)

por Mohamed M M

Mar 09, 2020

this course was fantastic. I hope that you'll accept my next financial aid demand to complete the 6 courses left.

Thank you Dr. Shane Dixon and all the staff

por Kelly N

Sep 10, 2019

This course was very short, simple, informative, and straight to the point. I learned a lot about how to improve my skills as a teacher as well as a student.

por Wendy A

Nov 19, 2018

Muy útil y aprovechable, disfruté y aprendí mucho de estos expertos. Gracias por la oportunidad brindada, sin duda alguna, lo recomiendo a toda la comunidad.