Chevron Left
Volver a Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Teach English Now! Foundational Principles por parte de Universidad del Estado de Arizona

4.9
estrellas
8,013 calificaciones
2,839 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Aspectos destacados
Engaging instructors
(331 reseñas)
Interactive content
(104 reseñas)

Principales reseñas

CR

May 13, 2020

Simply amazing. Loved every single minute of it. I feel myself a much better teacher, I’ve learnt how to see resources to give a better class as well as offer my students better practices of learning.

JJ

Aug 18, 2018

This is a very useful course as I begin my studies to prepare to teach English abroad. ASU is a recognized university and the price is very reasonable. I look forward to the next course in the series.

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 2,802 revisiones para Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

por Flor M

Jan 13, 2020

Great lectures and lecturers!

The reading materials are excellent and directly aimed to improve teaching skills.

Every lesson comes along with tasks which were carefully designed in order to encourage critical thinking as well as professional growth.

It exceeds my expectations!

por Keishmer o C m

Aug 18, 2020

trough my time In this course I learned how to use my teaching abilities to help students improve on the way they learn a new foreign language, therefore I recommend this course to anyone who wants to fulfill goals in the teaching career and enhance their skills when teaching.

por Alisa Z

Nov 14, 2016

Truly amazing course. Expecially Dr. Shane Dixon who is an embodiment of what he is teaching throughout the course. I have learned a lot and also enjoyed a lot. Planning to continue with the specialization. Thank you so much, Coursera and Arizona State University! I'm you fan!

por Bubukan T

Sep 16, 2020

I am so glad to attend your program 'Teach English now! Foundational principles

Thank you for your hard work. You give me the opportunity to improve teaching and you teach me the necessary skills.

With sincere, profound gratitude Bubukan Tashmatova.

por Marina S L

Aug 11, 2020

I highly recommend this course to anyone thinking about or already teaching English as a second/foreign language. I thoroughly enjoyed it! Thank you to ASU for presenting the course in such an interesting fashion and to Coursera for hosting it entirely online for convenience.

por brian v

Jun 24, 2020

I want to thank Coursera and ASU for putting together this wonderful course. The information was so clear and the videos were very engaging. The tasks were challenging and made me analyze my own views on teaching a language. I am looking forward to starting the next course.

por Juan C M P

May 28, 2018

It is an excellent course for all of us who are teachers. It is a simple, punctual, exact and assertive course, with a clear language. I am very satisfied after having completed the first part and I am preparing now to begin the second course of the series. THANKS !!!!!!!

por Partha S

Mar 11, 2017

When I started TESOL course, I didn't quite understand this module. Now, I'm almost at the end of part 2 of this course, and finally, I have a better understanding some this foundational principles. It's a great course for anyone who wants to understand basics of pedagogy.

por Laura C

Apr 03, 2016

This course gave a great baseline for getting started in TESOL. I learned as much from watching the professor model good teaching as I did from the content of the videos. I highly recommend this course if you are considering teaching English to speakers of other languages.

por KHABIBULLIN A

Jan 10, 2017

Thanks ASU for the Certificate and thanks for the tremendous knowledge they share, I am very delighted to learn a lot from you!I have to admit that you have set a great balance between delievering a lot in even very short video lectures! You did a great job! Many thanks..

por saba

Jul 17, 2020

all the materials are great and the videos are perfect in the terms of being short and efficient .also the fact that they build a strong community by nudging you toward upload your assignment and review and give comment to your peers makes this course even more special.

por sean

Jun 29, 2019

Hi, there. I found this "Teach English Now" course on foundation principles to be great in every way. Not only was it enlighting and, full of information but, it also shows how one can become an effective language teacher. Thank you Shane, and, the rest of your team too.

por Mhd G A

Sep 14, 2018

I REALLY love it! Thank you very much! I've never been a part of an online course; this is my first time, and it will never be the last!

I LOVE YOU all! VERY VERY interesting, beneficial, well-prepared ... I love everything you delivered! WOW!

I'm very happy I got 99! WOW!

por Tatiana

Nov 27, 2017

This course is really helpful for teachers and persons who would like to start teaching. From my point of view, the best part of the course is summarizing your new knowledge by writing peer-graded assignments. I really enjoyed the course and hope to do the other parts.

por Tory

Jun 19, 2020

I'm grateful for the financial aid I've received to cover this course. It took me one week to literally wolf all the information down. I love the professors and I love the ideas they share. I can't wait to continue this amazing journey to TESOL certification with ASU!

por Kartini R

May 09, 2020

I like to follow the course in which I learn some methods of language learning that I should apply in my classroom and for me myself. In this course I also learn how to have a sense of control and how to have a fun classroom teaching without being burn out. Thank you.

por Carlos C R

Jan 18, 2017

Great way to introduce us to the joy of Teaching English. It explains many resources to get an idea of how could you do it the right way on Teaching English, tips and advices and the best techniques for learning and acquiring English as a foreign or second language.

por D.M.D.Kumarihamy N

Dec 19, 2016

Excellent!

I enjoyed leaning this course.It helped me to recollect my teaching experiences into the theories taught by my instructors of the Teach English Now; and share experiences of the teachers from the global society of education who participated in the course.

por Ajith C

Feb 01, 2020

This is a fantastic course! This course teaches you the practical things that you need to know to become a successful ESL teacher. This is a well thought out course, has a very scientific approach towards learning and the teachers are very dedicated and passionate.

por Erika F

Jul 07, 2020

I love this course because it is well conceived with lots of didactic strategies. The metaphors are great, but the vivid example of Shane Dixon is enlightening, just as a candle. This course was my anti-depressive pill through a great family problem. Thanks a lot!

por Lucas M

Dec 01, 2016

I really enjoyed course 1, it was easy to understand and follow! I only wish that I could get my papers scored faster so it shows as complete.... still I can work at my own pace (fast) and earn my certificate so I can get to the good stuff... working as a teacher!

por Suyi L

Oct 06, 2020

I have watched all the videos and read all the articles in this course carefully and loved the teachings here. Thanks for providing the excellent online program! I believe that this certificate program can help me become a better language teacher and researcher.

por Ester A

May 24, 2019

I was VERY happy to be a student of this course, because to study for getting TESOL was my long-term dream. I never thought that it will be possible in my life and, especially, in my provincial town. But with coursera this miracle has happen! Thank you so much!

por Malak H

Oct 29, 2018

Most amazing and enjoyable course. I'm very thankful, appreciating the efforts done to perform this course and the information given in a very lovely, motivating and fluently way. Thanks again, deciding to be with you for the next coming courses.

sincerely Malak

por Abdul H K

Jul 20, 2020

Hello, Thank you so much for offering this amazing course. I have learned a lot during this course and I would highly recommend it to all the new language learners and teachers . I am also very much thankful to Dr Shane Dixon and mam Andrea Haraway. Good luck