Chevron Left
Volver a Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Teach English Now! Foundational Principles por parte de Universidad del Estado de Arizona

4.9
estrellas
5,835 calificaciones
1,938 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Aspectos destacados
Interactive content
(104 revisiones)
Engaging instructors
(331 revisiones)

Principales revisiones

JJ

Aug 18, 2018

This is a very useful course as I begin my studies to prepare to teach English abroad. ASU is a recognized university and the price is very reasonable. I look forward to the next course in the series.

SS

Nov 30, 2019

A great course! It is a well planned and goes light taking into consideration that the learners work as teachers. I have become a great fan of Dr. Dixon and hope to learn more in the modules to come.

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 1,894 revisiones para Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

por Mustafa F

Jan 18, 2017

the course was really informative and helpful, especially some theories and studies are 2007 and i just knew about since i graduated in 1995, I think all teachers should do these courses regularly,

and we hereby thank Coursera and ASU and all those who make it happen and I will go forward with the second course for sure, wish me Luck.

Mustafa.

por Mar S

Jan 11, 2018

As this was my very first "course" with Coursera. i enjoyed it! I found it entertaining and very informative as well. I believe it can help a lot!. I didn't complete al the courses because I have many interests and now I am fallin for the freelance remote work so i got to learn about that and hopefuly with Coursera I get to do that!

por Theresa R M

Dec 06, 2015

If you're interested in learning virtual instruction, then this is the course for you. The instructors encourage students to record a series of videos (1 to 4 minutes long), but those without a Web cam can also submit text files. Making a fool of yourself is allowed. The instructors provide excellent andragogy. Highly recommended.

por Donna N D

Nov 29, 2016

I really did enjoy taking this course. The information that I received helped me to implement new ideas and concepts into my language classroom. It also made me stop to think "Why do I teach?" I think looking at your own personal motivation helps you to remember and develop a better strategy to use inside your language classroom.

por Christine L

Aug 16, 2016

This is an excellent course as an introduction to language teaching. Loved how the entire course was scaffolded and built upon very important language teaching techniques. I highly recommend this course for those interested in becoming a TESOL Instructor or as a review for teachers who are already teaching. I am very satisfied!!

por Bhuvani G

Nov 13, 2019

Consistency is clearly visible in the way the lecture is structured and delivered. Use of Metaphor helped in understanding the terms even better. Peer-graded assignment challenges the learner in bringing out the best in them. Congratulations to the entire team for the effort and wishing them to keep doing in future. Thank you.

por Anna K

Sep 04, 2016

Thank you so much for this course! It was a wonderful path! Hope, I'll finish all the courses for TESOL certificate and will communicate with mentors not only as guides in teaching, but with experienced colleguages! As well as with classmates, it's great that we can create a network of ESL professionals! Thank you, Coursera!

por lei c

Jul 18, 2017

I truly appreciate the comprehensive course . When I discovered this great online course and the convenience of it, I like to learn and teach the English language.I actually had fun taking this course.I especially appreciated the video lectures and written assignments. They helped me prepare for my future teaching endeavors

por Серова М М

Sep 22, 2019

It's a wonderful course for English teachers and people who want to become an English teacher. This course has a logical and understandable structure, interesting tasks. I've got a lot of interesting and useful information. I can apply the acquired knowledge in my work. It's sVery inspiring course. I like it very much.

por Kaye M

Sep 30, 2019

Very enlightening, and easy to follow. I've taught English to non-English speakers, and wish I'd had a course like this beforehand! Learned many helpful principles.

Was also quite encouraged to learn that (research shows!) that one can learn a new language at any age, provided you use effective acquisition techniques.

por Jessica I

Jan 02, 2019

Great course! The videos were done in such a way that made the information interesting to learn and easy to grasp. I really enjoyed how Dr. Dixon wasn't afraid to make himself look ridiculous to make meaning clear, as he teaches us to to. I also enjoyed the supplemental literature on the theories we were introduced to.

por Sonia R A Á

Jul 29, 2019

This was, hands down, the most motivating course I've ever taken! Its structure was clear, the assumptions made me reflect on many aspects of language teaching and the videos with the metaphors were simply delighting! I’m looking forward to start the second one of the series. I recommend it to all language teachers.

por David S B

Mar 08, 2016

I found the information presented in a very orderly fashion. The presenters communicated their ideas in a clear and fun fashion. It was good learning new techniques as well as being affirmed in what I have done in the way of teaching so far. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who is teaching language.

por Konstantin U

Oct 10, 2018

Great! Thank you for creating this course. It's just what I needed at a time when I needed it. It's nice to see a high quality, engaging, substantial, fun and sincere TESOL/TEFL course, and I have already learned valuable information that I believe has made me a better instructor. Thank you! You guys are awesome!

por N N S R

Aug 07, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. The way Dr. Shane Dixon explained the subject is amazing. I learnt from him just like a child. Secondly, the course content is designed to the needs of English teachers. I would like to thank the course designers and teachers Dr. Shane Dixon, Ms.Jessica Sinco and Dr . Justin Shewell.

por Yulia N

Jun 17, 2017

Basic but extremely useful - this course help you to get the whole understanding of construction, organizational side of whole chain of 8 courses for Specialization and certificate. Also, it helps me to get used to it, distribute resources carefully. I like it very much, and this course motivates me to continue!

por Cindy E R

Feb 19, 2019

Vry happy to have signed up to this course, I found it to be very complete: I updated concepts I was already familiar with, learned new ones, shared input with other students taking the course, and enjoyed the positive, enthusiastic approach of the teachers. Looking forward to taking other coursework from them.

por Idhmed h

May 02, 2019

i have finished the first specialization and certainly will continue for the next one , i send you this to express my profound thanks for the the people in charge of this amazing website , as well as to our professor Mr DIXON , a special thanks also to my colleagues for their reviews and precious advices.

por Rachel W

Apr 29, 2019

I have taken a TEFL course previously and can confidently say that this course has taught me so much more in just the foundational principles. The teachers are engaging and have created thoughtful material. I have enjoyed all the lessons learned so far and look forward to the second part of the course.

por Kenyc M

Jul 13, 2016

This course is everything that I needed to start my journey as a teacher!

Dr. Nixon is easy to understand, funny, and his sincerity reads through in each video :-)

Thank you for offering this course!

I feel more confident and prepared to continue studying and taking my TEFL now having taking this class.

por Abigail C

May 29, 2019

It was a good introduction to foundational principles of English teaching. Definitely the other courses in the certification need to be taken in order to get the full benefit of the information given. It really is meant to be a jumping off point to learn and implement other more teaching techniques.

por Jeremy M

Oct 10, 2016

Just the beginning now but a really great one !

Love the content, the teachers videos are really well made and explanatory.

I found the Coursera platform really well fabricated and intuitive.

Everything is set to give us the best chances to thoroughly learn and earn that awesome life changing license !

por Srinidhi

Jul 08, 2018

A perfect guide for beginners. Gives a brief outline on the various aspects of teaching a language and explains how to begin and guides us in developing our own teaching philosophy. The assignments encourages critical thinking and helps us understand the principles and crux of teaching English.

por Seema D

Feb 22, 2019

As an English teacher, I would recommend this course to each person who is interested in making impact in the lives of your ESL students by going deeper pedagogy of ESL teaching. I learnt the practical aspects of many pedagogical concepts. Our instructor, Dr. Shane Dixon is an amazing teacher.

por Natalya K

Sep 03, 2018

That's amazing! When I was about to leave my current teaching position, get TESOL certificate and go abroad looking for a better job - I had no idea how motivating this course could be! Now I will estimate not the salary I can receive in the future, but the skills I should acquire before that.