Chevron Left
Volver a Epigenetic Control of Gene Expression

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Epigenetic Control of Gene Expression por parte de Universidad de Melbourne

4.8
estrellas
734 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

While the human genome sequence has transformed our understanding of human biology, it isn’t just the sequence of your DNA that matters, but also how you use it! How are some genes activated and others are silenced? How is this controlled? The answer is epigenetics. Epigenetics has been a hot topic for research over the past decade as it has become clear that aberrant epigenetic control contributes to disease (particularly to cancer). Epigenetic alterations are heritable through cell division, and in some instances are able to behave similarly to mutations in terms of their stability. Importantly, unlike genetic mutations, epigenetic modifications are reversible and therefore have the potential to be manipulated therapeutically. It has also become clear in recent years that epigenetic modifications are sensitive to the environment (for example diet), which has sparked a large amount of public debate and research. This course will give an introduction to the fundamentals of epigenetic control. We will examine epigenetic phenomena that are manifestations of epigenetic control in several organisms, with a focus on mammals. We will examine the interplay between epigenetic control and the environment and finally the role of aberrant epigenetic control in disease. All necessary information will be covered in the lectures, and recommended and required readings will be provided. There are no additional required texts for this course. For those interested, additional information can be obtained in the following textbook. Epigenetics. Allis, Jenuwein, Reinberg and Caparros. Cold Spring Harbour Laboratory Press. ISBN-13: 978-0879697242 | Edition: 1 The course will re-open in 2022....

Principales reseñas

MM

1 de oct. de 2018

This was an excellent course. All the material was well presented and the explanation of the sometimes complex subject matter was clear and understandable. Thank you for an great learning experience.

NN

1 de ago. de 2021

This is the best course on coursera, 10/10. I wish it was longer and I could take it all over again. you will need background knowledge for this course but it is an amazing course and I will miss it.

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 201 revisiones para Epigenetic Control of Gene Expression

por Lorenzo T I

19 de may. de 2020

A knowledge-packed course highly recommended for those who want to deepen his/her knowledge of the epigenetic machinery in eukaryotic cells.

por Muhammad F N

23 de feb. de 2020

A great course for students of biotechnology and bioinformatics. I wish i could study in such university by the great respectable teachers.

por Luca B

25 de oct. de 2021

G​reat course and great teacher! Highly recommended to whom is interested to understand more about the machanisms behind gene expression!

por Ignacio S

17 de sep. de 2018

If somebody bilieves tis course is gonna be an easy one, is wrong. Very detailed, well organized, clever questions. It makes you think.

por Kasturika S

24 de dic. de 2017

This is an awesome course which provides intriguing yet interesting insights in epigenetics and gene regulation as well as expression!!

por Todor G

7 de ago. de 2017

One of the best course on Coursera on this topic for experts and not so. Thanks a lot and I'll be glad to see follow up on the subject.

por Julia S S d S

22 de may. de 2020

This course is perfect! The teacher makes epigenetics seem easy, the lectures are very clarifying. I would recommend it to everyone!

por Marija R

24 de dic. de 2016

An interesting course delivered in an excellent manner, with a challenging material being explained in a way that is easy to grasp.

por Susana V L

25 de oct. de 2021

High quality course with cutting edge content. Well explained and assessments are the right level of difficulty. Recommended.

por elsa r

26 de nov. de 2020

very well taught course! Dr Marnie definitely masters this subject and passes her knowledge on in such a simple and fun way!

por BCM R

8 de jul. de 2019

This is one of the best courses in terms of science. The depth and breadth of epigenetics are well illustrated and explained.

por Mohamed A S

25 de ago. de 2016

Excellent course and i can say one of the best courses when it comes gene expression and i wanna thank to Dr. Marnie Blewitt

por Cristy T B

15 de may. de 2020

The teaching system used is very complete and all the time keep your interest. You are satisfied with what you have learn.

por VIVEK G

4 de jul. de 2018

One of the best courses I have been through. I have only one suggestion to include retrotransposons in cancer in details.

por Graciela E C A

6 de may. de 2020

The classes were easy to understand and the information was well-provided. I enjoyed this course and learnt a lot.

por Kuanysh S

20 de sep. de 2017

In my opinion, everyone who really wish to understand the most steps of gene regulation should take this course.

por Barbara F

13 de may. de 2020

Excellent course. Interesting topic amazingly explained by Dr. Blewitt! I would definitely recommend it!

por Ritesh K

25 de may. de 2017

Very well explained. Those working on epigenetics or have interest in the subject should do this course.

por Aminta H M

22 de nov. de 2020

I love it. The explanation of the topics is clear and I learned details more precise about the process.

por Bryan E

22 de jun. de 2020

The content is good, but the teacher and its way of teaching are in another level! Totally recommended!

por Erin F

19 de sep. de 2019

Incredibly challenging but equally rewarding. A must for any and all interested in health and biology!

por Narendra v

23 de feb. de 2019

Its really a fascinating course to learn epigenetics, all classes and materials were really helpful

por Inês D R

20 de dic. de 2017

Great course! The contents were extremely interesting and all the lectures were wonderfully taught.

por Peter C

25 de may. de 2020

Very thorough and comprehensive course. Lots of details, complex subject matter clearly explained.

por Коткова М А

23 de nov. de 2020

A well-structured course that provides reasonably deep information. It takes time and commitment.