Chevron Left
Volver a Everyday Parenting: The ABCs of Child Rearing

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Everyday Parenting: The ABCs of Child Rearing por parte de Universidad de Yale

4.9
estrellas
1,469 calificaciones
551 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Everyday Parenting gives you access to a toolkit of behavior-change techniques that will make your typical day in the home easier as you develop the behaviors you would like to see in your child. The lessons provide step-by-step instructions and demonstrations to improve your course of action with both children and adolescents. Among many techniques, you will learn how even simple modifications to tone of voice and phrasing can lead to more compliance. The course will also shed light on many parenting misconceptions and ineffective strategies that are routinely used. The key to the course is practice. It is not enough to know the strategies; you have to do them to reap the rewards. Using the techniques on a temporary basis will lead to permanent change. Chances are your parenting is perfectly fine and working the way you would like. But if you have any frustrations with your child or would like improve your effectiveness in changing your child’s behavior, these videos will be a very useful guide. Subtitles available in Chinese and Spanish....

Principales revisiones

SB

May 12, 2020

Very straightforward content and easy to follow for beginners. The course gives very simple tools that are applicable for child rearing when addressing problematic behaviour for children or teenagers.

NB

Nov 07, 2019

Such amazing course, it’s useful and joyful to learn all the way through. I love it ! Thank you Coursera make learning easy to learn and share , I see the power of knowledge by E- sharing ! Wonderful!

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 547 revisiones para Everyday Parenting: The ABCs of Child Rearing

por Alexander A

Feb 25, 2019

Simply put, this course radically improved my relationship with my 3 and 4.5 year old children. Most importantly, it understand them and their needs. Raising children is challenging, even with the skills and strategies and learned and put to use in this course, however, creating positive behaviour has become quite manageable. Do not hesitate to take this course. It is well worth your limited time.

por Bianca S

Apr 21, 2020

Thank you so much Professor and Yale University for offering this amazing course. it has definitely changed my parenting and made some very fast changes in my daughters behavior. Thank you immensily!

por Leung Y M

Apr 11, 2019

The course covers concerns and techniques of child rearing. It was very organized, comprehensive and delivered in such a way that makes it easy to understand. Thank you very much, Professor Kazdin!

por Puihan J C

Feb 11, 2019

Excellent Course! I think everyone would benefit from learning these behavioral skills. Not just parents, but all adults, anyone who is interested in effective behavioral changes. They are life skills, indeed!

THANK YOU, Dr. Kazdin, for putting this course on Coursera!

por Nina L B

Nov 07, 2019

Such amazing course, it’s useful and joyful to learn all the way through. I love it ! Thank you Coursera make learning easy to learn and share , I see the power of knowledge by E- sharing ! Wonderful!

por Gregor V

May 18, 2019

Yale Professor is fantastic. ABC system sounds amazing. I am not yet a parent but looking forward to it in the (hopefully) very near future. Thank you all for this amazing opportunity to learn.

por Josephine M

Apr 06, 2020

I really found this course beneficial and have been using the tools and techniques with my 2.5-year old son. Actually, most of the tools can be applied to life in general and it's really made me more aware of my thoughts and what I choose to focus on — focusing on finding positive things to praise or encourage, as opposed to only reacting toward bad things or things that need to be fixed. The latter being ineffective and actually encouraging further bad behavior by giving it attention.

The teacher explains things very clearly and you can tell that he really cares about helping parents learn the most effective ways of shaping child behavior. The stuff he teaches is not just conjecture either, it's based in science and studies that have been done. I particularly like how he covers common misconceptions that parents have as well, as those have allayed some of my own fears.

Thank you for offering this course. It was very well done (my only criticism is that a couple words in the video transcriptions were wrong from time to time) and I enjoyed the 4-week format of it.

por Joseph M

Nov 24, 2017

Sound evidence base. Does not stray far from the basics of operant conditioning but applies them in a way that does not undermine the attachment needs. There are similarities with the skills taught within parent-child interaction therapy. I like the way that it is explained in the videos; clear and concise with a bit of humor. If you are wanting to learn a couple of specific skills that can be applied within lots of very different families this is a very good resource. My only concern would be parents of children with significant emotional regulation problems who become genuinely overwhelmed and parents would need to learn how to step away from the behavioral model and to provide emotional connection and help them regulate. This would be especially true for children with significant attachment difficulties or trauma histories. However, that is not to say that these skills would not be useful in that situation, but additional skills would be needed.

por Edna I D A

Jan 25, 2019

Very useful information. As parents we prepared for birth but nobody told us that the best will come in the next years and we need to learn so many things if we want to give a better enviroment for our children in a stresful context. I practice tools every day and in our case they work, the results happier children and better sleep.

por Sara B

May 12, 2020

Very straightforward content and easy to follow for beginners. The course gives very simple tools that are applicable for child rearing when addressing problematic behaviour for children or teenagers.

por Anastasiya P

May 21, 2019

I took a course because my 4 years old nephew have regular tantrums and he is not listening to his parents. Being a new parent I was suddenly overwhelmed about handling such a behaviour. Although my baby is only 7 months old, the thought of her being that difficult was scaring me. After taking the course I felt much more confident looking in the future, I have a tools now and I dont feel helpless anymore. I also started to use some of the tools with my nephew and they work magic. The nephew always been very loud and screaming around my baby which scared her. Now everytime we visit them or they come to our house I prompted the behaviour by asking him nicely with a soft tone not scream around the baby. I was surprised how far the prompt can go. It is not perfect yet but it is much better and I feel confident it can get even better.

por Windsor T

Nov 17, 2017

I highly recommend Dr. Kazdin's Everyday Parenting course to all parents and caregivers regardless of the age of the children they support. This course is the crescent wrench of courses in that it fits every one of the good and sometimes nutty parenting styles out there. The tools, techniques and explanations are presented in simple small doses. Every module has an Ah-ha moment. Someone with expertise is going to sharper their skill set and struggling parents will be able to clear some of the white noise that is frustrating for all. By applying more effective parenting methods they may reduce their own stress and have more substantive engagements across their child's developmental journey. -Windsor, step-dad to two boys, Public Health Advisor, Registered Nurse

por Yvonne C

Jun 15, 2020

I have 4 kids, age from 2 to 20. School doesn't teach us how to educate our kids, or how to deal with relationship. We do it from what we saw from our parents or medias. We don't know what's right or wrong, and are not even aware what we have been doing might be wrong. Now, there is such a comprehensive class to help us and it's free. This course really provides the TOOLs which I can practice easily with my kids and, most importantly, with myself. I see the immediate result with slight change of my attitude towards my kids. If you have kids, please take this course and let's be better parents. ^_^ Reminder, while learning this course, please don't criticize yourself if you feel you have made a lot mistake. You didn't know. Now, You know! Enjoy!!

por Galina Z

Nov 21, 2018

Thank you for the course. It was helpful for me as a parent and a professional teacher. Before starting the course I was an adept of some Russian and European scientific methods that don't allow any punishment at all and just a little praise in general. Dr. Alan E. Kazdin changed my attitude towards the praise and gave me some new concepts for "punishment". My parenting becomes more and more effective with practicing the tools I got from the course of Dr. Alan E. Kazdin. I recommend to read the optional articles, their content complements the videos with more concrete facts, tools and advises. With best regards towards Dr. Kazdin, Yale University and Coursera

por Pratibha B

Nov 27, 2019

I my an owner of a preschool. While I was going through this course, I had started training my teachers what I learnt through it. As teachers started applying 'praise and points/star system' in the class we are able to see noticeable changes in the students. We are still working further.

I can not thank enough for this course. It is truly well structured to learn for any parent or teacher. This course answers almost all the questions considering the various aspects of challenges parents may face.

I am very happy that I have completed this course. Thank you very much for putting so much thoughts and efforts to prepare this course.

por Brett G

Jul 28, 2019

This is a great course. It starts off and seems kind of home cooked with simple graphics and Professor Kazdin a fine gentleman who reminds me of my father. The ideas at first appear as if nothing new but we soon learn that how we implement the ideas is crucial and we are shown clearly how to do this. There is enough detail to show where we might have gone wrong in the past and explanation about why common default setting toward nagging, punishment, criticism don"t work. As I went through the course I appreciated more and more the depth of the professors knowledge and I also enjoyed reading the supplementary material.

por Liat P

Aug 11, 2020

I highly recommend this course. It provides clear and exact techniques to change the behavior of children. I have being a parent for a long time before I took this course, so I didn't think that I would learn something new about child rearing. However, I must say that I have learned a lot and tried some of the suggested techniques on my children. I think that this course excels in explaining exactly how to apply techniques most of the parents use in every day life. It elaborates how to praise, how to punish effectively and how to reach the child's heart. Thus, I recommend this course to every parent.

por Jeff B

Oct 14, 2019

I was a social worker decades ago, so had quite a lot of training in dealing with children, tweens and teenagers; however, now that I am a parent - struggling at times to develop the needed behavior in our children - so I needed to up my parenting game. This course was well-constructed and presented and covered all the bases I needed.

I HIGHLY recommend this course to all parents and look forward to my spouse completing it as well, cause it's gonna get us onto the same page and help us to help our kiddos to develop the life skills and behavioral patterns that they will surely need to thrive.

por Pamela Z

May 29, 2020

Este curso me pareció genial. La forma en que está estructurado, lo hace muy accesible para quienes no tenemos una formación en sicología. Adicionalmente, el entusiasmo del Dr. Kadzin es genial en cada video, se hace muy fácil el aprender y seguir interesado en la siguiente clase. Lo recomiendo a ojos cerrados, sobre todo a quienes tienen niños, ya que permite tener un acercamiento metodológico a la forma de criar y ojalá, tener niños que se crien en una familia con un buen ambiente, entregando técnicas muy adecuadas para poder moldear algunas conductas que deseamos en los niños.

por Monique E

May 20, 2020

Dear Prof. Kazdin,

As a nursery teacher this course has been fantastic for me, providing very useful tools for my work and also for my private life with our two children. Its a pitty I didn't know these tools years ago, but it's never too late to get better! :)

I look forward to use them after the Corona Lockdown is over, Have often thought about different children, situations and tools I can apply and I'm sure, we'll have a challenging good time.

My deepest respect and thanks for sharing your vast experience with us!

Best greetings and God bless you always!

Monique Escamilla

por Kathleen T

May 22, 2020

Thank-you Dr. Kazdin.

This course was very valuable.

I teach parenting and I will be communicating this information to my students.

Thank you for the guidance.

It would be amazing if you created a course specifically for teachers on behaviour and classroom management. It is the most challenging part of our job and most of us don't have any training in it beyond baptism by fire.

I would have liked a second example at the end perhaps involving teenagers and technology in the classroom.

Fantastic information. Great delivery. I am so pleased I decided to take it.

por Salar S

May 15, 2018

Absolutely phenomenal course. Going well beyond being just a helpful parenting class, this course is a downright public service to society. Kazdin is incredibly engaging, genuinely cares about the topic, and explains things in a clear, concise, and organized way. Best of all, the material is carefully vetted by years of scientific research, yet takes into account the practical considerations of real life parenting. At home, we call his techniques a "magic wand". I highly encourage parents of children of any age to take this course.

por 罗芳

Apr 07, 2018

Very Practical and easy to apply at home, I am going to ask all my family members and colleges to follow the course, and after the completion of the course, it is very handy for me to go back for the unit and review it again and again, especially after using it and find out it really works. Great course and well designed. Highly appreciated for the reading pieces shared after every unit, I have download all of them one by one and it provides a better background to support the learner for the course.

por Jeannette R

Aug 19, 2018

Thanks! this class provided me with a great guidance as to identify the behaviors I should care to change and those I can tolerate while I focus in others that are relevant. Also, the tools and techniques were explained in a very easy practical way. Now, I need to do the hard part, practice! I am confident I will do much better in helping my child to behave in a positive way and handling situations with a different approach which will reduce my stress and increase the potential for success. :-)

por Martin S

May 15, 2020

Professor Kazdin is very engaging, it is fun and motivating to watch his lectures.

The contents is well-structured, and the most important points are repeated from time to time, so they really stuck. Many real-life examples illustrate the techniques. The parenting techniques themselves make a lot of sense, and -- most importantly -- are simple enough to implement at home.

Because my new-born is too young to try the techniques on him, I cannot elaborate on the effectiveness of the techniques.