Chevron Left
Volver a Fashion as Design

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Fashion as Design por parte de Museo de Arte Moderno

4.8
estrellas
2,650 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

Principales reseñas

SA

27 de may. de 2020

I would highly recommend this course for someone passionate about the industry. It's an Insightful course too deepen inside the fashion world, through history, identity, sustainability, and much more.

MP

15 de may. de 2020

Excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommended it to many. I am a mature student ( 55) and after this, I really feel I want to study a masters in fashion sustainability. Thanks for inspiring me.

Filtrar por:

151 - 175 de 623 revisiones para Fashion as Design

por Narda M

15 de feb. de 2018

I loved this course! It really help me to see fashion in a different way & understand why clothes are made for. If you work in fashion industry, this course will help you alot.

por Daniella B

13 de may. de 2020

Amazing course! I learned so much and opened my eyes about what we buy and why we wear some garments. I recommended to anyone who is really interested in Fashion and history.

por Jose D P

28 de abr. de 2020

What a wonderful course! The material is very approachable for fashion enthusiasts or those simply interested in learning more about fashion. Very happy to took this course.

por Aline F P

15 de jun. de 2020

The course is very dynamic, diverse and complete. I'm glad I could make it and get a closer understanding on the technologies, ideas and cultures behind many of the items.

por Lauren R F

31 de may. de 2020

A great course if you want to learn more about the fashion industry, its history and the cultural significance of fashion for different races, ethnicities and religions.

por Monsi R

20 de jul. de 2021

T​his course bring me a new way to see the garment items and his history. I'm very thankful for the opportunitty you gave me, and for open my mind to a different view.

por richa C

12 de jul. de 2020

I m really glad i did this course "Fashion as design by MoMa" it made me reflect back to fashion history and provided me a lens to look through a sustainable future.

por Sintija Z

4 de jul. de 2020

Thank you opportunity to learn more about Fashion as Design. Course was very interesting, on the point and very easy study (videos, interviews and reading articles).

por amy o

19 de ago. de 2020

This is a really fantastic overview of the role of fashion in global culture. It really covered alot of different eras and styles and was engaging and entertaining.

por Maria C B

1 de jun. de 2020

I really enjoyed the class because it gave me an insight eye on a world that I love. It got deep and analyzed what best describes ‘fashion’ in its thousand facets.

por Jasmine S

2 de jul. de 2018

This is an unbelievably awesome course! I have learned so much about fashion in ways I had never thought about it before. Thank you MOMA for this excellent course!

por Maxwell A

10 de jun. de 2018

Really enjoyable and informative course. It was the first course I ever took "for fun", and I'm glad I took it. I learned a lot and enjoyed myself the entire time.

por Pamela G L

19 de jul. de 2020

I love the course, it was easy to learn something new, it was entertaining and I learn a lot of every garment and accessory. I would like to study another course.

por Federica A

3 de jun. de 2020

Such an amazing way to go deeper in such themes that were presented every week.

Very happy with the results and will definitely sign myself into another course.

por SREE D M

28 de may. de 2020

Coursera is very useful to gain more knowledge about subject . online fashion as design course is more information and used more effective time to spend in this

por Agustina S

3 de may. de 2020

It was a really good course. The amount and variety of content was manageable and carefully selected so that everything read was worthwhile. I really enjoyed it

por Panagiota S

6 de jun. de 2020

I really enjoyed every single moment! It was an opportunity to expand my horizons and feel creative and productive and set new goals for my career development.

por Jamie H

14 de ene. de 2018

I like this course very much. It opened my vision of the development of garments as well as accessories and reminded me to review the manufacturing of clothes.

por Judy W

12 de sep. de 2019

This is a fantastic course and very informative, learned a ton about fashion and worth to revisit many articles and videos in the future. Highly recommend it.

por Mahshid

20 de may. de 2020

Throughout the course, my perspective and understanding of design as fashion has broaden, especially on clothes which to me seemed simple, but in no way are.

por Sára H

4 de may. de 2020

Very well put beginner course on fashion design and the history of fashion with special attention to sustainability and social responsibility as a consumer.

por Diane B

8 de jun. de 2020

Wonderfully stimulating and informative, excellent materials, terrific historical perspective, loved the sustainability aspect, the economics, everything.

por Margareta P

19 de nov. de 2017

This course taught me lots of basic information about Fashion. Pieces of clothes and accessories are presented via Silhouettes, Modesty, Expression, etc.

por Mackenzie F

31 de ago. de 2020

This is a wonderful look into the world of fashion construction, history and design. I just wish there were more courses out there that built on this!