Chevron Left
Volver a Feminism and Social Justice

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Feminism and Social Justice por parte de Universidad de California en Santa Cruz

4.8
estrellas
2,122 calificaciones
586 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

"Feminism and Social Justice" is an adaptation of Distinguished Professor Bettina Aptheker's long-running course at UC Santa Cruz. In the course, Professor Aptheker presents a broad definition of feminism that serves to frame three significant events in the history of feminism and social justice: the Empire Zinc strike of 1951, the 1971-1972 trial of Angela Davis, and the #metoo Movement....

Principales revisiones

SS

Jun 23, 2020

Everyone should take up this course because this course has a structured curriculum for feminism. The idea of feminism is something we have learnt from media, one will come to know about the meaning.

IS

Feb 12, 2020

This course was very impactful, I now understand the history of rape as a crime, the attitudes that have diminished and undermine women's rights. I am hoping that we will get things right as a people

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 590 revisiones para Feminism and Social Justice

por Jennifer S

Jun 27, 2020

Este curso respondió a una de mis pasiones y prinicipios y su construcción es impecable. La profesora Bettina Aptheker es una contadora de historias excepcional, su conocimiento del tema, su amabilidad y deseo de transmitir sus conocimientos y la consciencia social que implican, fueron importantes para el seguimiento y terminación del curso. Los temas son realmente interesantes y pertinentes. El curso está estructurado para enlazar correctamente el feminismo y la necesidad de que el mismo (o los mismos) sean o respondan a luchas sociales omnicomprensivas. Muchas gracias, lo disfruté y aprendí mucho.

por Veronica N

Feb 02, 2020

I found this course to be incredibly interesting. The lectures were the right links and covered the right amount of detail. The instructor has a great deal of in-depth knowledge about the subject, and even first-hand knowledge. I liked the learning checks during the lecture, the discussion questions, and the quizzes. I especially liked that there was no writing required on my part. I have taken this course to familiarize myself with the subject and had there been a lot of writing involved, I would not have signed up. My life is too busy so this course is perfect as it is designed.

por Ajnabi K P

Jun 08, 2020

Social justice feminism is the practice of recognizing issues of oppression dealing with race, class, sexuality, and citizenship and challenging them through practice rather than theory. This form of feminism allows for a broader audience beyond the white middle aged women who began the movement. It actively fights racism and class privilege by “ensuring that those most affected by policies and practices are at the decision making table.” It advocates for more women of color in leadership roles and allows recognition for global gender justice and women's rights.

por Eunice C

Jun 17, 2020

A very good course especially for someone who wants to learn more about feminism! What made it more interesting to watch is because of Prof. Aptheker; not only did she know what she was talking about, but she has experienced and gone through most of it, too, which made it more personal for her and somehow made me more engaged in the course. This experience was very enjoyable for me and I definitely learned a lot. It has opened my eyes into the various injustices that women face everywhere. I wish the course had been longer!

por Giovana G P

Aug 08, 2020

This course provided a lot of extremely important knowledge to educate me even better about the feminist movement and social justice, Professor Bettina Aptheker's explains in a very clear and intelligent way her ideas, explanations, incredible references in addition to her life stories that undoubtedly make part of the revolution that has been going on over the years. It was an honor to be able to participate, this course should be taught literally everywhere for everyone, thank you very much for this experience.

por Lisa H

Feb 25, 2020

The professor was very knowledgeable and did an excellent job of distilling a lot of complicated concepts into easily understandable parts. She is in command of the related historical concepts. Her presentation was organized and clear. I also found her to be very personable, with a great sense of humor (appropriately so). I also enjoyed the variety of topics covered and the specific examples that she used as the basis for her lectures. I would take another course taught by her without hesitation.

por Francesca N

Mar 28, 2020

Brief but powerful. Intersectionality reveals to be an inevitable tool and method to look into only apparently separate struggles. I also appreciated the frequent references to historical facts, anecdotes, and personal stories, again not at all just personal, but rather loud enough to be inspiring and eye-opening about otherwise hidden patterns.

Would certainly recommend it, especially to those who are willing to challenge a stereotypical interpretation of feminism and feminist studies.

por Navid S

Apr 07, 2019

This course is truly educational and inspirational. It gives the power of knowledge that is a necessary step in making any kind of change in our society. We owe it to ourselves to learn, increase our awareness and knowledge, before we can change and improve our society. The first step towards change is knowledge, which this course offers, the second step is to change our hearts. That part is our own responsibility. Thank you for the course, Dr. Aptheker, and the gift of the first step.

por Emily C

Jul 18, 2020

Weekly course topics were diverse and covered material and historical events that wouldn't necessarily be included in a typical introductory Women's Studies course. Lectures were accessible, but they provoked thought and listener engagement. Professor Aptheker's humor and personal anecdotes made me feel like I was inside the classroom. This was an interesting crash course in feminism and the intersections of gender-based oppressions with race, class, and other systems of power.

por Katharina M

Aug 11, 2019

Ein großartiger Kurs, in dem man wahnsinnig viel durch spannende Vorträge von Bettina Aptheker erfährt und das Wissen durch das dazugehörige Quiz vertiefen kann. Ich habe den Vorträgen von B. Aptheker mit solch einem Interesse gelauscht und da bekommt man auf jeden Fall Lust mehr zu erfahren und in dieser Richtung zu machen. Ein sehr wertvoller Kurs, kompakt, aber detailliert, mit vielen Ausführungen, einfach nur TOP! Vielen Dank / Thank you so much / Спасибо!

por serena s

Jul 18, 2020

this was my first experience. it was incredible. i never had the opportunity to attend college. i am 50 years old and a stay at home mom caring for my disabled son. i was looking for a way to take classes. sharpen my mind. i wasn't even sure i could do this because of my schedule and also because it feels like a lifetime since leaving the 10th grade. i feel such a sense of accomplishment. and look forward to taking more courses. i would highly recommend.

por Maria V G R

Apr 03, 2020

It was a great course, I am so glad I took it! The lectures are interesting, especially because they try to highlight the importance of intersectionality in feminism. I think it is an enjoyable course for beginners who want to have a better understanding of feminism, but also for people who have knowledge about it, as it reviews key events and concepts from an interesting perspective. I would love to take more courses with professor Bettina Aptheker.

por Shriya A

May 08, 2020

I loved that this course addressed interesectionality so wholly, because I feel that otherwise, interesectionality is not given as much importance in the teaching of feminism. The professor was extremely lucid in her lectures, and kept me engaged throughout. I also particularly appreciated that she did not shy away from 'subjective' topics, and did not try to give us an 'objective' understanding of events. Would love to see more courses like this!!

por Belinda

Oct 17, 2019

Short but interesting history of feminism in the US. I would have liked more information about other parts of the world (though I understand and accept that Coursera is a US-centric website).

I found the most value in the theme of the intersectionality of feminism - I was aware of it prior but Prof Aptheker's detailed knowledge expanded my understanding, and gave me more ways to understand and articulate my own intersectional feminism.

Thank you.

por Alexandra G

Aug 05, 2020

Phenomenal. I just wish it were longer or covered a range of other topics related to feminism and social justice such as elaborating on more theoretical concepts or general ideas along with the stories and narratives about women. The videos were also engaging and Ms. Aptheker was a fantastic lecturer. I wish the videos were more broken up but the content and learning experience did make up for the length. Thank you for the course.

por Crissie T

Jul 20, 2020

A refreshing course indeed that explained the concepts of not just feminism in general, but how class, race, genders and ideologies are intertwined to become more than just a movement. The course also makes you become more aware of society in general and how a change should began from day one. Interesting course that I would recommend if you required a short course to get some intro to feminism, movements and social justice.

por Sofía G M

Jul 21, 2020

I learned so much about the social justice movements that have brought us as humanity to where we are now, their background origins and the people (women) who started them. It definitely is a course that inspires you to be a better much more active member in society, giving you the tools to not only make a change in the world but in your own way on how you percieve life. Plus, Bettina Aptheker is a helluva woman! Love her!

por Carla K M

May 22, 2020

This course is an excellent introduction into the very complex issues of intersectional feminism. The course is mainly historical, outlining and discussing specific events/movements in US history, rather than focusing on theory. I would highly recommend as Bettina's approach to the course's delivery is very engaging, and her first-hand experience of some of the discussed events make the lectures feel unique and specific.

por Duygu N A

Jul 08, 2020

Professor Aptheker is an amazing speaker and a very insightful professor. This course is very interesting and sheds light on the issues that are not recent at all but coming to light recently. It has given me a new perspective and understanding regarding social justice. It concerns everyone, everywhere. I hope everyone would listen to this and learn about these, and professor Aptheker does an amazing job teaching.

por Emma T C

Jul 04, 2020

Not only is this course timely, it is extremely educational and based on facts and historical events. I learned of several historical events that I had never learned about in school (but I totally should have). I had already considered myself a feminist before I completed this course, but I have a much bigger understanding of feminism and social justice now. I highly recommend this course to anyone and everyone.

por Khadijah S A

May 17, 2020

The course is extremely beneficial for people who are just started to explore intersectional feminism. For people like me, who have studied some of this already, it serves as a brush-up course, and may even give another view to cases we've read about already. Or you might not know of the cases, and it'll add to things you do know. Regardless of your current level of knowledge, a course like this is still good.

por Antonio B

May 09, 2020

Following these lessons form professor Bettina Aptheker has been one of the few pleasures of this sad 2020, I will always bring with me two key concepts: intersection and collective action.

Also, I will continue to work on my understanding of Angela Davis' theories, writings and life. SHe has become one of my philosophical hero, and I am sure she is one of the best person who walk this wicked, beautiful world.

por Utkrishti K

Jun 30, 2020

I liked how the course was a reflection of several movements and analysing and reading about those so personally and objectively at the same time. Professor Bettina Aptheker is very skilled and and her personal experiences in these movements adds to the beauty. She highlights different perspectives for looking at these cases. I am very aware about several things now. I also loved her book recommendations.

por Shristi L

Apr 24, 2020

I feel "Feminism and Social Justice" course made me more aware and conscious about the ongoing as well as the past issues regarding the justice and rights for not only women but men too. The course was interesting from the beginning till the end. Professor Aptheker's thorough explanation about every topic was amazing!!!! To be honest, I thoroughly enjoyed learning every information! Thank you, Professor!