Chevron Left
Volver a Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies por parte de Universidad de Londres

4.6
estrellas
268 calificaciones
94 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course is a short taster on the topic of the use of Images, Film, and their use in historical interpretation in the 20th century. It is primarily provided for those who have a general interest in history that draws on photojournalism as primary evidence, and films based on historical events. Once you have completed this course we hope you will be equipped to: Appreciate the significance of photographs as historical evidence in the twentieth century. Understand the limitations of the medium, and how we can attribute meaning to these individual records of 'one moment in time' while taking into account the circumstances in which any particular image was taken. Understand how individuals and institutions have looked to manipulate images to their own ends – through alteration and/or censorship – and what that meant to contemporary interpretation, as well as subsequent historical interpretation. Put individual images into a wider context, and in particular with reference to history written, or portrayed, beyond academia: public history. Do be aware that part of the contents of this course regard images and depiction of war. Real wars and real images....

Principales reseñas

MS

5 de jun. de 2020

This course provides students with the tools they need to analyse and understand visual history along with its deceiving nature that derived from the very character of film properties.

DD

18 de may. de 2021

It is a very informative course for history enthusiasts. It encourages critical thinking and interpretation of history in a unique way. I enjoyed and learned a lot in the 6 weeks.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 94 revisiones para Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies

por Tanya E Q

15 de oct. de 2020

I loved the course. I´m a photography enthusiast and also interested in History, so the course provided me a another point of view related to the importance of using images as a historical source and all the implications. Thank you and congratulations for this wonderful c

por Sue C

20 de sep. de 2021

A very well taught course, with the Lecturer obviously passionate and knowledgeable. Engaging topics, relevant reading material and well thought out quizzes and assessments. Thanks Coursera. I am now looking for other courses using film and image to explain topics.

por Priyam G

5 de dic. de 2020

Emmett Sullivan is a legend. This course was a huge eye-opener and has provided me with a much larger scope for media research. It was a treat to listen to him as well as all the insightful interviews. Thank you for organizing this course, keep up the great work!

por ISABELLE M

2 de oct. de 2020

This was an amazing experience and I have never enjoyed something so much. Kudos to Dr. Emmett Sullivan for making this such a memorable experience. Really loved your perspective and how you gave way for a more clearer understanding of history through the camera.

por Maria F M

10 de nov. de 2020

I enjoyed every bit of the course! It has been awesome to have a more direct look on the possible political usage of photography and other images, and how these forms of disseminating information play a key role in the study and general understanding of History.

por Paul S

4 de may. de 2021

Excellent and enjoyable course. Knowledgeable and enthusastic lecturer. The course material appears to have been created in 2013 so some of the URLs that are included do need updating: some resources are either no longer available or are redirected.

por Pedro J d A M

18 de jul. de 2020

The lessons and the course material are amazing. Dr Emmet's teachings goes beyond expectations with deep, scrutinized lessons. For people who work in the media , or just interested in photography, the course is a must! I definitely recommend it.

por JOHN Q

13 de feb. de 2017

Fantastic course. I loved the examples of iconic photos which I had seen but now better understand their significance. I hadn't seen many of the Stalin photos, however. Its amazing how politicians can manipulate us ala George Orwell........

por Ayla T

14 de sep. de 2020

Thank you so much for this modern history and media relations course. It provided insight into understanding what is happening in the media's backyard and It's very inspired. I think I'll benefit a lot in my next works. Much obliged

por Mardohar B B S

6 de jun. de 2020

This course provides students with the tools they need to analyse and understand visual history along with its deceiving nature that derived from the very character of film properties.

por Felipe d J D H

3 de may. de 2021

A very interesting and engaging program, for a better understanding of the role an image (photography, film, propaganda) plays in the context of historical studies and interpretation.

por Divyanshi

19 de may. de 2021

It is a very informative course for history enthusiasts. It encourages critical thinking and interpretation of history in a unique way. I enjoyed and learned a lot in the 6 weeks.

por Mireya M O B

5 de may. de 2021

En general muy bueno todo, el enfoque desde la perspectiva de material audiovisual genera más atracción al los estudiantes, muy agradecida por haber recibido este curso.

por Nandini G

30 de dic. de 2021

The course, it enabled me to develop a sharper understanding of photographs and films as public history. I really enjoyed the peer graded assignments.

por NEDRET K

30 de dic. de 2020

An amazingly valuable course, creating the deepest insights for the history of world as well as films, images and photography...

Thanks Mr Sullivan

por Ana C d O

4 de may. de 2020

I really enjoyed the course! It gives a good overview of history and, mainly, about the use of photography and image in the historical context.

por Наталья А

9 de jun. de 2021

Excellent, deep course!! Interesting materials, links, practical orientation - these are the main advantages of the course! Thank you!

por VALERIA V M R

12 de jul. de 2021

Interesting, beautiful, and some time overwhelming... makes you think in the power of the images, in the history as the human memory

por Thaniyatul J S

24 de ago. de 2020

It's very informative and educative. I've a lot of new knowledge from this course. Thank you coursera for this platform to learn.

por Ruíz C J

11 de oct. de 2020

Es interesante la manera en la que aborda los temas y una manera diferente de ver la perspectiva de sucesos históricos

por June m

6 de may. de 2020

Excellent very interesting course and a great course leader Dr Emmett Sullivan well worth spending time on this.

por Ricardo J G V

10 de ago. de 2020

Great poin of view, relevant info, very clear classes. I wish there was a Part II to this course. Cheers.

por Christina A

24 de dic. de 2020

It was extremily intesting cource and really made me to care about the history of montern era.

por Abhijit G

17 de jun. de 2017

This course is very informative and structural in learning the relation of films and history.

por louis f d m p s

11 de may. de 2020

Thank you very much: Now I am sure that "the camera lies". I already have a new theme image.