Chevron Left
Volver a Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies por parte de Universidad de Londres

4.6
estrellas
255 calificaciones
89 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course is a short taster on the topic of the use of Images, Film, and their use in historical interpretation in the 20th century. It is primarily provided for those who have a general interest in history that draws on photojournalism as primary evidence, and films based on historical events. Once you have completed this course we hope you will be equipped to: Appreciate the significance of photographs as historical evidence in the twentieth century. Understand the limitations of the medium, and how we can attribute meaning to these individual records of 'one moment in time' while taking into account the circumstances in which any particular image was taken. Understand how individuals and institutions have looked to manipulate images to their own ends – through alteration and/or censorship – and what that meant to contemporary interpretation, as well as subsequent historical interpretation. Put individual images into a wider context, and in particular with reference to history written, or portrayed, beyond academia: public history. Do be aware that part of the contents of this course regard images and depiction of war. Real wars and real images....

Principales reseñas

MS
5 de jun. de 2020

This course provides students with the tools they need to analyse and understand visual history along with its deceiving nature that derived from the very character of film properties.

DD
18 de may. de 2021

It is a very informative course for history enthusiasts. It encourages critical thinking and interpretation of history in a unique way. I enjoyed and learned a lot in the 6 weeks.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 89 revisiones para Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies

por Babes L O

19 de oct. de 2020

I really like how Prof. Sullivan teaches not just by the book.

por Mariam K

9 de may. de 2020

Excellent course that makes the student think critically.

por Julieta S H H

28 de mar. de 2021

I liked professor Emerson very much

por Ruslan K

11 de ago. de 2020

Very interesting and useful course!

por Agustina L

30 de mar. de 2021

Crear course! Very interesting!

por Maria E S N

2 de nov. de 2020

Excellent course! I learn a lot

por Joselito S K

25 de ago. de 2020

well organized and presented.

por Onyemgba A O

20 de may. de 2021

Very relevant to my interest

por Sagnik D

21 de mar. de 2021

graphic. vivid. sufficient.

por Giannis V

9 de dic. de 2021

V​ery interesting !!!

por ARUN K N

10 de jun. de 2020

Very useful course

por Emma N O

19 de oct. de 2020

I learned a lot!

por Donjuán R L

24 de ago. de 2020

excelente curso

por Divya G

24 de abr. de 2020

very helpful

por Abdul H

13 de ago. de 2018

Great

por Jhason S M

5 de jul. de 2021

oipl

por Davina M

15 de nov. de 2020

This is a very well structured course, with an emphasis on the interpretation of images and films from wars. The highlight of the course for me personally was the interview with Julio Etchart in the final week. I would have liked to have explored more of his work, and also that of other photographers throughout the 20th Century, covering a wider range of historical events, not just wars.

The tutor, Dr. Emmett Sullivan is extremely knowledgeable, and very engaging. Despite what he says, I never bored of listening to his lectures where he is purely speaking to the camera. There is so much to learn and to take in, and this course doesn't disappoint. I can highly recommend it.

A note to the course producers - several of the links given in the reading modules are no longer valid, and just lead to dead pages.

por Anamika P

8 de jun. de 2020

The Course was extremely insightful, and gave a superb initiation into photojournalism and its connection to public history. The course provided critical ways of viewing an image from history, and explained how a current image could also work as a historical source.

Just a suggestion: some links provided in the reading material seem to be broken or do not open for certain locations, and the lack of availability of the prescribed matter has a negative impact on the overall understanding of the week's content, and sometimes the quiz too. Perhaps this could be verified/ rectified?

por Josep E

26 de ene. de 2021

Overall a great course. I enjoyed it and learned a lot. Tx for the effort and great job. As a recommendation, I would encourage the usage of more cases not necessarily linked to war periods. Although I understand they are among the most intense and where the topic is actually relevant, using different more diverse themes would be very enlightening. Anyway, as said, I sincerely appreciated the seminar. Carry on, please. Warm rgds,

Josep

Barcelona, Spain

por EK K

4 de oct. de 2020

I quite enjoyed the course, such eye-opening things I'd never learned prior to this experience. I was a bit disappointed that we spent so much time on Clint Eastwood's films and Iwo Jima (an important timespan in history) as I'd hoped for more iconic photographs to be broken down and digested. (Lee Harvey Oswald in the garden, the Hindenburg, Stieglitz's "Steerage") but the course does follow the syllabus very well. I'm grateful for the opportunity.

por Ana M V

12 de jun. de 2020

I enjoyed this course thoroughly - it gave me plenty of new insights into the study of visual discourse, which has helped bolster my own academic studies. If I were to have a single complaint (for which I have docked a star), is that a few of the links given for further reading are outdated and inaccessible. However I did not feel that this hindered my overall experience, albeit it being a tad inconvenient.

por Sevilla L A

14 de sep. de 2020

Whay I really liked about this course is that I learned a lot of history and got a better understanding of the context of historical events, and I improved my analalytical skills in ways I didn't know before. It really helped me to be more critical about what media presents to the public, as well as how and why they do it.

por Gian P S

17 de may. de 2020

Es un curso más enfocado en eventos históricos más que en la imagen. Por otra parte, los quiz son muy precisos, datos concretos por sobre una reflexión personal. Sin embargo, es un gran curso, dictado por un excelente profesor.

por luciana a a

21 de ago. de 2020

The course is great. I got tired in the last weeks (4 and 5) because then it goes too much into war, however the overall material is an amazing source to rethink the images that surround us.

por Nelli S

12 de ene. de 2022

This course is informative and important source of historical facts, videos, documents and interviews - I was expressed and inspired to know more about these events and people. Thank you.