Chevron Left
Volver a Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies por parte de Universidad de Londres

4.6
estrellas
256 calificaciones
90 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course is a short taster on the topic of the use of Images, Film, and their use in historical interpretation in the 20th century. It is primarily provided for those who have a general interest in history that draws on photojournalism as primary evidence, and films based on historical events. Once you have completed this course we hope you will be equipped to: Appreciate the significance of photographs as historical evidence in the twentieth century. Understand the limitations of the medium, and how we can attribute meaning to these individual records of 'one moment in time' while taking into account the circumstances in which any particular image was taken. Understand how individuals and institutions have looked to manipulate images to their own ends – through alteration and/or censorship – and what that meant to contemporary interpretation, as well as subsequent historical interpretation. Put individual images into a wider context, and in particular with reference to history written, or portrayed, beyond academia: public history. Do be aware that part of the contents of this course regard images and depiction of war. Real wars and real images....

Principales reseñas

MS
5 de jun. de 2020

This course provides students with the tools they need to analyse and understand visual history along with its deceiving nature that derived from the very character of film properties.

DD
18 de may. de 2021

It is a very informative course for history enthusiasts. It encourages critical thinking and interpretation of history in a unique way. I enjoyed and learned a lot in the 6 weeks.

Filtrar por:

76 - 90 de 90 revisiones para Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies

por Nelli S

12 de ene. de 2022

This course is informative and important source of historical facts, videos, documents and interviews - I was expressed and inspired to know more about these events and people. Thank you.

por Julian G

24 de mar. de 2021

An informative course that made me think about the use of images in everything from newspapers to propaganda shorts to history books. Would highly recommend.

por Jeanne L M

19 de oct. de 2020

My only concern is that some reading materials are not accessible, but other than that, everything is great.

por Claudia B

3 de ago. de 2020

Great courses for any one who as an interest in photography

por Jonathan G

2 de mar. de 2018

Fascinating course.

por Daniel M K

6 de ene. de 2022

I took the course wanting to learn more about what I was actually seeing in historical photos and cinema, particularly documentary films of World War II. Much of the lectures and materials were focused on actual history which I was often familiar with, and not on photography per se. So the lectures on Iwo Jima were spot on for me, but those on Stalin and Hitler were more in the nature of history lessons rather than discussions of how these images came to be.

por Sharon M

28 de ene. de 2021

This could have been so much better - if the photos and images had been clearly visible, rather than in books which were lying on the table and not clearly visible. It felt like an introduction to the topic rather than an in-depth study of the subject.

por Alan R

13 de abr. de 2017

The course is really interesting, but it need a content review. Several - roughly 50% - of the links for external contents, especially when they are from newspapers, are broken.

That considered, it was a fascinating journey.

por JAVED N

28 de mar. de 2019

because of less student i wait one month more to have grades and today i just got a grades and receive my certificate thanks again i like this course,because it really help me to know more about history of images .

por Haley T

9 de feb. de 2017

Half of the links to external readings and videos did not work, which is the reason I did not complete the course. It made taking the quizzes fairly impossible unless I wanted to spend my time googling the answers.

por MARY R B M

21 de jun. de 2020

i have learnt alot about history of war and photo altering

por restaurant l

4 de sep. de 2021

zero