Chevron Left
Volver a Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part II

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part II por parte de Universidad de Columbia

4.7
estrellas
607 calificaciones
104 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field involving finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part II will be on the use of simple stochastic models to (i) solve portfolio optimization problems (ii) price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities and credit and (iii) consider some advanced applications of financial engineering including algorithmic trading and the pricing of real options. We will also consider the role that financial engineering played during the financial crisis. We hope that students who complete the course and the prerequisite course (FE & RM Part I) will have a good understanding of the "rocket science" behind financial engineering. But perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism....

Principales reseñas

SY

Jun 08, 2019

I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot. The quizzes were challenging but really forced me to think through the problems. The forums were very helpful when I got stuck. Thanks Professors!

TR

Aug 31, 2020

Great course. It is very useful to get into Financial Engineering Topics. The tests are not easy, so every week presents a challenge that forces you to deeply understand what is being taught.

Filtrar por:

76 - 98 de 98 revisiones para Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part II

por Murthy B

Jul 19, 2016

Good content and nice explanations. The assignments might need a bit of clean up and couple places the Algo mentioned does not work as intended.

por Lei H

Jun 22, 2017

I like most part of this course but some questions are quite confusing and not relevant to how much you understand the course material

por Haotian Z

May 28, 2019

perfect course, nice professors, but somewhat very suitable for analytics of pricing not quantitative trading.

por Aniket J

Mar 21, 2020

Explanation could have been a little bit better in some modules. Overall, very good content and exercises

por Zhenghao L

May 11, 2017

Some of the questions ins quizes are a little ambiguous. More instructions/explanations would be nice.

por Edoardo A

Nov 30, 2015

An useful analysis of the principal rules about the calculation of important financial instruments.

por Yang S

Nov 01, 2019

The course is a good one. As an extension from Part I it should be deeper in the math.

por Ivan S

Aug 04, 2016

Good course with practice in Excel

por Yao D Y

Feb 10, 2016

Very useful and practical

por Quy N P

Dec 12, 2016

Quite useful and hard

por Luis E B

Sep 17, 2015

V

por Déodat V

May 28, 2017

Still a good presentation of the efficient frontier, the sharp ratio, CAPM, the greeks, ,delta hedging, and the volatility surface. I would have prefer to stick to this program and to go a bit more in depht on the remaining modules.

por Mauricio S

May 21, 2020

The topic is interesting. The professors provide little explanations beyond the Slides. Questions in Quices are some times confusing.

por J

Sep 19, 2020

I got a perfect score in the course, but despite of the good structure of syllabus (one of the stars), the subject was not explored in a consistent matter. Some weeks lacked references (text books), and in some lectures the instructor went about quick recitals of the mathematical formulas without any insights or intuition. The instructors also seemed knowledgeable (the second star), but appeared to be always in a hurry. Lots of room for improvement.

por Pengchong L

Jan 12, 2018

Poor explanation. Lots of technical details. And it uses Excel.....

por Ved B

May 21, 2020

The concepts delivered in the course need to be simplified. Derivations have been pasted on slides verbatim. The instructors can use their expertise to simplify concepts and explain them along with examples. Such effort on the part of the instructors is totally missing.

por Karen A

Sep 01, 2015

There's no way to get help in this course. I'm stuck on one of the quizzes -- probably just something easy that I've mis-read-- but there's no way to ask questions, so there's no way for me to complete the quiz. This is very frustrating!

por Simone B

Apr 09, 2019

No proof of many formula, some concepts should be introduced in more detail in order to make them fully comprehensible, e. g. LETF

por Hauryliuk R

Apr 30, 2020

Teacher doesn't explain the material, just reads from the slides. Forum doesn't work. Quizes questions are incorrect.

por Eran B H

Sep 28, 2015

Answers to week 2 are wrong, no forum to discuss it, submitted a case over a month ago - still no reply.

por DIVYESH B

Sep 12, 2020

The presenter is only reading the slides. Totally disappointed after taking this course!!!!

por Patricio M B

Sep 13, 2020

this course is a waste of time

por Michael N R

Jun 13, 2016

Not at all what I expeted