Chevron Left
Volver a Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position por parte de Universidad de Illinois en Urbana-Champaign

4.8
estrellas
982 calificaciones
237 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course is designed to provide a basic understanding of financial statements with an emphasis on the balance sheet. However, to understand accounting driven financial statements, it is important to recognize that accounting is less about counting and more about measuring. “What is it that is being measured?” Well, as the course unfolds, you will learn about the three measurement questions and how the balance sheet helps to answer the first two of these questions. By touring a real company and interviewing real business people, the course describes the basic content of financial statements in a simple yet relevant context. The goal of the course is to leave a lasting impression about what balance sheet consists of and what it reveals. The next course in the Fundamentals of Accounting Specialization completes the conversation by addressing the remaining measurement question. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Describe the purpose of a balance sheet. • Define the three components of a balance sheet. • Recognize and understand the meaning of several items typically presented on a balance sheet. • Explain the broader purpose of financial statements and the role of accounting in producing the financial statements. • Read and, to some extent, interpret real-world balance sheets. If you enjoy this business course and are interested in an MBA, consider applying to the iMBA, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price offered by the University of Illinois. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Principales reseñas

CR
2 de dic. de 2020

Having worked with accountants for 11 years but only taking a few accounting classes in college, this taught me many things that help me better understand what the accountants are talking about.

JC
21 de may. de 2020

Really great course and a useful one in terms of clearing the finance terms and how a company creates a balance sheet and how can we evaluate a company's position by looking at one's sheet.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 236 revisiones para Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position

por JAI C

22 de may. de 2020

Really great course and a useful one in terms of clearing the finance terms and how a company creates a balance sheet and how can we evaluate a company's position by looking at one's sheet.

por RICHARD S

22 de jul. de 2020

This Course was very enjoyable partaking. I had an accounting experience but this course took me into deep specifically the practical sessions. Its free and lets all get involved.

por Adwait P S

5 de abr. de 2020

Its a Great Course! You will Enjoy every moment of this course.

I highly recommend this course to anyone who wishes to understand the fundamentals of Accounting

por John K

15 de jul. de 2020

The course was enjoyable with good use of examples. Explained in easy to understand terms. I am looking forward to the next course in this series.

por David Y

11 de jun. de 2019

Simple and thorough.

por DEVANSH C

26 de ago. de 2020

great course

por Crystal A

21 de abr. de 2020

This was such a good course to have taken. I am glad this is readily available and free for those who do not have the finances at the moment. That generosity is very much appreciated. I am also thankful for how much understanding and work was given in presenting the course to the vast diversity of students. When comprehending the course would be helping beginners learn and utilize the material, the course was gentle and caring. Thank you for this course, thank you to the instructor, and thank you to Illinois University.

por Nikolay M

14 de ene. de 2017

Very good course. Gives a view on corporate business finance.

Teacher is also great.

Recommend this course to anyone who want to start finances, business or wants an dive deep into entrepreneurship.

por Stephen N

24 de oct. de 2017

I really enjoyed the professor's clear explanations. This has helped me understand the balance sheet, which will help me understand my current and future companies more clearly. Thanks!

por Katherine B

30 de mar. de 2021

I never thought I would enjoy learning about balance sheets so much! I found this course engaging, educational, and I was motivated to continue to learn and progress during the course.

por Sandalika A

15 de abr. de 2021

Very clearly indicates all the basic fundamentals of the balance sheet and its components. This course gives me an excellent overview. Interesting to complete all the excercises.

por Thorsteinn A

20 de abr. de 2017

The course is well structured and remains focused on the topic on hand. It is easy to follow Kevins thought, but the discussion is quite superficial; no concrete numbers and examples are worked through in the discussion. It would have strengthened the course if the discussion went step-by-step through a balance sheet of one of the companies featured in the course.

por Jeffrey N

8 de jun. de 2018

I've taken a number of accounting classes in the past and have a fairly good understanding of transition basics. This course illustrated in a very simple but informative way financial statements through practical, easy to understand examples. It was clear that a lot of thought, energy and effort went into this courses preparation. It exemplified the idea that you don't need to "make things any more complicated than they need to be" to deliver the information at hand.

por Katherine L C B S

5 de jun. de 2020

I really liked the course and I recommend it to anyone interested in applied social science, accounting. In my opinion, the teacher had the dexterity to capture themes and subjects relevant to this area of study and make them viable through a totally different, interesting and understandable approach. In short, I am grateful for all those involved in making this course possible.

por Samuel C P J

25 de jun. de 2020

My Sincere Gratitude to Associate Prof. Kevin for his clean and simple explanations of accounting . The Introduction to Accounts was exemplary and attention puller. The real world examples used in this course is meticulously planned and placed and paced in the lessons one by one. Wow! superb experience in learning my favorite subject Accounting. Once again thank you Prof. Kevin

por ALEXANDRE J D S

30 de jul. de 2020

I thought the MOOC was very good. Teachers demonstrated great knowledge. The difference was the capacity for critical vision in each class, I was impressed that in addition to the incredible didactics in relation to the method for compliance, they also demonstrated great scientific knowledge, which helped a lot to enrich the article. I really appreciate the opportunity.

por maged n

10 de ene. de 2018

Yes the course is more than amazing but I suggest that the peer graded assignment needs to be a graded quiz instead ..because I have finished the course 2 days ago and now waiting for the certificate and no one unfortunately graded my work yet ! so please guys make it a quiz not assignment .

Thanks

por Kunal L

15 de mar. de 2021

Very important course for understanding Balance Sheet and its accounts from basics and its impact on business. Course is well designed and professor's well verse explanation of topics makes concepts very easy to grasp.

Must have course to understand Financial Statements.

por Cuauhtémoc G C

27 de jul. de 2020

I liked this course very much. I wish Coursera would allow you to mark courses as favorites, so you could have a list of all the courses you would like to take in the future.

Also, I do not understand why this course is not showing in the "Complete" course tab yet.

por Hadi G

21 de feb. de 2021

Amazing course, a sort of dummies101 type of instructional course to really introduce you to accounting notions when you have absolutely no knowledge about it! However, it lacks training with exercise sheets and solutions, as it is very important in accounting!

por Saleh O

31 de oct. de 2020

I have always wanted a beginners course that would satisfy the phrase "for beginners", but I have not found any, except for this one... everything is in layman language here. It is just what you are searching for so don't even hesitate to enroll; enroll now!

por Justin W S

26 de abr. de 2018

Great introduction for those totally unfamiliar with accounting and balance sheets. It sounds so simply, but the professor's basic definition of a balance sheet and a financial statement gave me (a complete novice) a great grasp of accounting and its goal.

por Alexandru L

25 de abr. de 2020

It really introduces you to the basics of accounting using easy to understand ideas and examples. Highly recommend it for people who want to set a pillar for their future economic career or just to better understand a business and its balance sheet.

por Joshua N

19 de ene. de 2021

This is a great course to begin accounting or bookkeeping! The teaching is straightforward and helpful. I found the peer-graded assignment helped me begin to develop crucial skills for understanding how to interpret the balance sheet.

por MADLOZI L M

5 de oct. de 2020

i am glad that i took this course cause i now have bigger idea about the financial statement. this statements provide or they show the stability of the company position. they also give more information on shareholders what to expect.