Chevron Left
Volver a Writing in First Person Point of View

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Writing in First Person Point of View por parte de Universidad Wesleyana

4.7
estrellas
97 calificaciones
50 reseña

Acerca del Curso

If you have always wanted to tell your own story—in a memoir, first-person essay, or any other form of autobiographical non-fiction—but felt you lacked the tools or the framework, this is the class for you. We will learn how successful first-person writing is structured to offer the reader a sense of propulsive motion, and is guided by a narrator who is deliberately crafted. We will explore the ways in which language can be used to create tone, so that the emotional freight of your words is as potent as the storytelling. And crucially, we will consider the writer's responsibility to the reader: the importance of being a guide who includes the reader in the sensory, emotional, and intellectual experience you mean to share through your writing....

Principales reseñas

AR

27 de jul. de 2020

The assignments were very helpful with looking at my story in different ways. I now have an idea of how to elevate my story from a journal into a memoir.

MS

22 de feb. de 2021

Such a dynamic teacher. I cant wait to read her memoir.\n\nShe speaks clearly, its accessible and its dynamic. I loved every lecture and assignment.

Filtrar por:

26 - 49 de 49 revisiones para Writing in First Person Point of View

por Kondilo S

11 de ago. de 2020

Ariel, thoroughly enjoyed your sessions, your approachable style and the sharing of your insights. Thank you.

por AJITSA A

30 de oct. de 2020

Brilliant teaching. This course got me organized enough and out of my head. It's improved my writing 1000%!

por daiwujun

29 de sep. de 2020

The course really helped me to look back and analyze some incidents in my life and make a story out of it.

por Filia G

19 de dic. de 2019

The mini-lectures are gold in mouth guidance, and the weekly assignments are well-thought drills!

por Ronald L W S

20 de may. de 2020

This is a great course. I am going to study for the whole specialization. Highly recommended!

por Michelle L V

25 de nov. de 2020

Loving this course. I am motivated by the professors/writers and have learned so much.

por Caroni L

20 de jun. de 2021

Fantastically helpful. I learned a great deal and my writing shows it. Thank you.

por Amanda S

17 de nov. de 2020

Ariel Levy is an engaging instructor with excellent examples and helpful advice.

por Elisabeth B

23 de jun. de 2020

This was a fantastic course with engaging lectures and challenging assignments.

por Edgar A

14 de dic. de 2020

Entedereas los pros y los contras de lo que haces y como mejorarlo dia a dia.

por Tamara S

20 de jul. de 2020

didnt pay so didnt have complete access.

but what i saw was great.

thankyou

por Ana K E B

28 de may. de 2020

Excellent course to learn how to express your opinion.

por Liliane M

10 de may. de 2019

Ariel Levy's personality and passion is contagious.

por Caroline D

19 de feb. de 2021

Ariel Levy delivers this course excellently!

por Paulo S

4 de jul. de 2020

I learned very good ideas from the lecturer

por Mare

5 de jun. de 2020

Instructor was engaging. Material helpful

por Erica S

22 de may. de 2020

I loved Miss Levy.

por Pamela K

11 de ago. de 2020

I

por Victoria R

23 de sep. de 2020

This was a great course, content-wise, and Ariel Levy definitely gets 5 stars. BUT, the review process is clearly broken. It is difficult to get one's own work to review, and to review others', even when the forums are filled with people pleading for reviewers. And then the links in those forum posts don't work much of the time. And I understand that many people take these courses to improve their English skills, but it seems there might be better ways to do that. It is simply not helpful when the 'peer review' is nothing but one word typed randomly into the rubric box instead of a genuine answer to the question. And it is difficult to know how to 'grade' someone who has not understood the assignment at all. Please develop a way to make this process more transparent and effective, so that the mechanics of the course might do justice to the fantastic instructors like Ms. Levy, Amy Bloom, et al.

por Constance F M

15 de mar. de 2021

I enjoyed Ariel Levy's perspective conveyed by the videos and assignments. I disliked that I had to keep checking back repeatedly to peer review others' assignments and that there were never any to review. Completion of the course was linked to submitting writing assignments and doing peer reviews. But if there are never any assignments to review, how are students supposed to complete the course by deadline?

por Viviana H

10 de oct. de 2020

Me gustó mucho el curso. La profesora fue excelente. No me gustó que algunos de mis pares tomaran el curso y no realizaran las tareas.

por Donna M B

17 de abr. de 2021

When I am writing my submission my cursor is removed from its proper location, and I must replace the cursor to the proper place and restart my writing. This happens constantly each time I pause in my writing, my cursor disappears and if I continue typing there is nothing there. I have to click the mouse to restore the cursor to the proper location in the writing. This did not happen until recently on my last two submissions. It is impossible to continue a train of thought when the cursor disappears, and if this continues I must resign from the course. It is irritating and prevents a smooth writing process.

I've shut down my computer to see if that would resolve the issue, but it does not. Please provide some assistance with this problem.

Thank you. Donna Babb

por Penelope D W

6 de ene. de 2021

... my apologies if I mis-perceive, but, I'm not at all comfortable with this particular approach to writing in the first person ... I find that there is an ambiguity of purpose; which should be identified with clarity, transparency, & engaging the reader as in a kind of honest conversationalism, with a purpose to effect personal positive transformation in both reader & author ...there seems to be an intent to bait the reader, ... from the outset it sounds like shabby fiction is encouraged... I don't want to be trolled through the gutter but allowed to walk the curb safely, cleanly, with non-judgmental intention, compassionate understanding & preserving mental hygiene as I read & my understanding is deepened... gratuitous violence with velvet gloves about sums it up for this Course... a low-order form of violation against the reader ... apologies again, but I must en-enroll ...

por B E

12 de mar. de 2021

The class itself is a five star class as is the instructor. The fact there are not enough students enrolled to get the mandatory reviews done or to get a grade is disgusting. Weeks waiting for enough assignments to review and to get graded my first weeks assignment after all other weeks are done. Ludacris.

This was my first class with Ariel Levy and I truly enjoyed her as an instructor. She is lively and engaging and puts forth excellent break downs of writing processes. The assignments made me stretch and reach a more completeness in my writing. Highly recommend this course.