Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Forensic Science

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Forensic Science por parte de Universidad Tecnológica de Nanyang, Singapur

4.8
estrellas
1,871 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

We have all seen forensic scientists in TV shows, but how do they really work? What is the science behind their work? The course aims to explain the scientific principles and techniques behind the work of forensic scientists and will be illustrated with numerous case studies from Singapore and around the world. Some questions which we will attempt to address include: How did forensics come about? What is the role of forensics in police work? Can these methods be used in non-criminal areas? Blood. What is it? How can traces of blood be found and used in evidence? Is DNA chemistry really so powerful? What happens (biologically and chemically) if someone tries to poison me? What happens if I try to poison myself? How can we tell how long someone has been dead? What if they have been dead for a really long time? Can a little piece of a carpet fluff, or a single hair, convict someone? Was Emperor Napoleon murdered by the perfidious British, or killed by his wallpaper? *For Nanyang Technological University (NTU) students, please be noted that this course will no longer be eligible for credit transfer....

Principales reseñas

AP

16 de abr. de 2021

HI, I am student of forensic science and as per my knowledge this is the best course i come across.

you just need to have basic knowledge, the cases given in the course are awesome.

i loved this

DP

21 de ene. de 2022

Its a great course, i have learnt alot about forensic science and i am thinking of pursuing this career. Mr.Roderick Bates is a great Instructor and i wish i can do my Diploma and Degree with him.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 599 revisiones para Introduction to Forensic Science

por Devi D

10 de jun. de 2020

This course is very much useful to the students who are interested in forensic science, I loved this course very much. It is very much informative and well structured. Thanks to NTU for providing us such an amazing course. Finally Roderick Bates Sir, for me He is one of the best teachers I have come across so far.

por Martin R

1 de ene. de 2022

I​ finished the Introduction to Forensic Science. My name is MARTIN A REYES, I paid for my diploma and my email MARTINREYES829@GMAIL.COM. Tel 646-236-8788 new York University States, but I still don't know how to get it or if I have to pay again.

por Папышева А С

3 de ene. de 2022

I'd like to thank Roderick Bates for interesting material and case stusdes. It was such an excitement for me to watch new lectures, make notes and do homework! Thank you very much! I'm getting more and more into forensic science.

por ALPNA S P

17 de abr. de 2021

HI, I am student of forensic science and as per my knowledge this is the best course i come across.

you just need to have basic knowledge, the cases given in the course are awesome.

i loved this

por Sheri B

17 de ene. de 2022

​This course was very informative and interesting. Professor Bates was a wonderful instructor. I enjoyed this class very much.

por Alana G

18 de ene. de 2022

Excellent course! The professor is amazing, very supportive. I loved it!

por M. R F

7 de ene. de 2022

Satisfied, Fun Lecturer! I need book more reading reference tho.

por vinay A

9 de ene. de 2022

very good course and effective in forensic science field

por Diego A V F

3 de ene. de 2022

excelente

por Camila C S

7 de ene. de 2022

Really interesting, perfect for everyone who wants to learn more about crime solving from a scientific perspective.

por Erik L

3 de abr. de 2021

A brilliant entry-level course for those who meet forensic science in the first time or who wish to obtain ground knowledge about possibilities and practices in this area.

It is virtually impossible to communicate hard scientific skills via an online education tool – and this is also the case. However, Dr. Bates manages to do other no less important thing: he provides understanding that, with reasonable effort, may be transmuted into practical interest. Despite restrictions I mentioned, useful packages of chemical, biological, physical attainments are well described within with both video examples and equipment surveys.

Calm and friendly manner of lecturing and illustrative real-life examples summarize this course as a helpful guide on how and where to start. You have my recommendation.

Thanks.

por Shalini H K

5 de abr. de 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Btw it's my first ever online course and Coursera had made it a great experience. Thanks to the lecturer Mr. Roderick for such fun lecturers, simple and well-explained presentations. The case studies were interesting and you will have different perspectives after reviewing your peers' assignments. Thanks to my peers who reviewed my assignments and gave me feedbacks that not only made my day but also made me do better in my upcoming assignments. I'm planning to take more courses on this platform. Biggest thanks to Coursera for providing financial aid to those students who can't afford to pay their fee, it helps us a lot.

por tazeen

24 de jul. de 2021

This course really helped me in learning key concepts and details of forensics science. i learned that how can we analyze the crime scene and what are the trace components that have huge contribution in detection of criminal. i learned about techniques that have been used since long and what are their prons and cons. forensics have huge role in solving cases of dispute parentage and murder cases. i learned that what strategies can be opted for analysis of evidence and how carefully should be handled. Forensics have revolutionized the law and judicial system by providing quick services and proving the guilty.

por Buenaflor J

14 de dic. de 2020

The course covers basic concepts in forensic science, diagnostics, applications and case studies. It is multidisciplinary and enable you to explore the field from different perspectives through distinct but related subjects. The presentation although technical is easy to grasp for new learners. This is my third Coursera course and I highly recommend this for students, faculty and researchers who are interested to learn new things whatever their field of specialization are. Really very challenging and enjoyable. Thank you Dr Bates and NTU MOOC Team.

por Alyssa J

4 de sep. de 2021

This course was great. This course has a little bit of everything pertaining to forensics. The professor really knows what he is talking about so naturally its amazing. There is a lot of interesting cases that are gone over. We did do some peer review assignments which was great to see other peoples reasonings to their assignment but sometimes it did take a couple of days to get feed back from own submissions but there are options to share your link in the discussion area for people can help one another. This was my 1st course and it was great !

por Taniza T

30 de ago. de 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and I'm really glad that i have found this course. The course material was explained in details and covered different aspects of forensic science with the background basics as per requirement. Loved the peer graded assignments which were designed to really assess the learners' level of understanding and the case file discussion on every topic which showing the practical application of the science. Absolutely recommended to the aspiring forensic scientists.

por Jasmine M

30 de ago. de 2021

For anyone who's taking their first step in the professional field of forensic science, or just exploring their interest in crime solving, this is the best course to take. The concepts are explained really well for beginner's level, and real life examples of related cases all over the world are also incorporated in the lesson to make more sense of the practical applications of these concepts. If this has a second part or a higher level course, I'd be more than willing to take it.

por Harris

24 de ene. de 2021

This is definitely one of the most well mannered and structured courses out there on Coursera, especially regarding a subject such as Forensic Science. It is also very engaging for the average person who knows nothing about Forensic science, and it will chop everything to bite-size in order to easily understand how the science works and is applied in real-life situations. Roderick was also a very engaging lecturer and his occasional humour made it all the better.

por Dimitrios P

6 de ene. de 2021

Well prepared and comprehensible teaching material. This course was an opportunity to familiarise with the forensics’ terminology in a foreign language and expand my cognitive understanding. Through this course I managed to enhance skills like attention to detail, reading and writing in a foreign language, understanding new concepts and being able to assess my peers. Furthermore, I developed my inductive and deductive reasoning.

por Veronica

23 de jun. de 2021

I loved the videos and the extensive information provided about the various kinds of technology available for characterizing a substance, etc. My favorite videos are of the lecturer in the lab showing the viewer how to use these tools. My one complaint is that I wish the peer-reviewed graded assessments were more detailed/more accurately tested our understanding of the great information provided in the lectures.

por Sylvia K M K

6 de dic. de 2021

Very informative and interesting course. I learned a lot from it and enjoyed it a lot. Thanks to Prof Roderick Bates for his extremely clear and concise explanations. It was quite an eye-opener to see the various equipment for GC and HPLC etc, and also seeing how various experiments are carried out. A lot of effort has gone into putting this course together... Thanks Prof Bates...

por Ana

6 de may. de 2021

Needless to say, this is a fascinating subject, which may set high expectations when joining the class. However, this course exceeds expectations.

Professor Roderick Bates is a wonderful lecturer. His lectures are very engaging, clear and well structured.

The course was extraordinarily informative. Enjoyed every bit, learned a lot.

Waiting for the Forensic Science Advanced Course!

por Inna S

14 de ago. de 2021

I liked this course very much! The course material is very well-structured, the topics flow logically, and the case study examples are extremely interesting. The lectures are very well-organized and clearly presented. In my opinion, each and every lecture in this course is worth rewatching. I would like to thank Professor Roderick Bates for such a wonderful course!

por Dimitra K

8 de abr. de 2021

An informative and comprehensive course that covers basic subjects regarding Forensic Science. It is easy to follow and the instructor Professor Roderick Bates is very helpful throughout the course as well.

I am really interested in Forensic Science, its applications and its techniques. Therefore, this course was an excellent introduction to this field.

por Danna

22 de mar. de 2021

I really love the course and the instructor. I couldn't ask for a better instructor. From the first week up to the last week, everything is well explained. The instructor explains everything in a precise, elaborative, and part I liked the most humorous way. I recommend this to everyone who has the heart for Forensic or any crime-related stuff.